We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thank you Couples for a magical experience!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Couples Sans Souci

Save Saved
You added Couples Sans Souci to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Couples Sans Souci
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Route A3, St-Mary | PO Box 103, Ocho Rios, Jamaica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 39 hotels in Ocho Rios
Toronto
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Thank you Couples for a magical experience!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

As first time visitors to Jamaica, we wanted to be sure we saw a popular highlight and picked Ocho Rios to be close to Dunns River Falls. We chose the Couples resort based on the great TripAdvisor reviews and were prepared to accept the criticisms/concerns with caution. We’re so happy that we selected Couples San Souci, it was truly an amazing vacation for us.
Here are my highlights and suggestions:

Great Features:
• Truly all inclusive: Dunns river tour is included, scuba intro, glass bottom boat, snorkeling, great room service all day long and an excellent offering in restaurants and fine dining

• Small boutique hotel and not crowded. Though we were not always able to find shade, we always had a chair and staff were happy to move chairs for you to shaded areas

• Staff was always helpful and willing to go beyond regular service. At the pasta bar, the chef didn’t have any scotch bonnet pepper and he went out of his way to get some to make our meal and the bartenders were open to creating a new drink when you asked them for a particular ingredient

• The beach party and special 7-year anniversary on January 18th (all other Friday’s they host a Starlight Gala) were phenomenal. The food and entertainment were exceptional! We were told that the Special anniversary party is like what they do on New Years AND is one of the best parties I have been to. As an event planner and party-goer, I’ve been to big bashes but Couples exceeded my expectations!!

Suggestions:
• As all the prior reviews have said, I would not recommend this resort for people who have any injuries or disabilities that would prevent them from comfortably walking up/down flights of stairs. For any able-bodied visitors, this shouldn’t be a deterrent since the resort is smaller and there are many beautiful resting spots, hammocks and private areas (hot tub, mini-falls etc) to enjoy along the walkways

• The room we stayed in is a little dated but large since all rooms are suites. Bring your own pillow if you don’t enjoy fluffy large king pillows and try to enjoy a room service meal on the balcony (we had a beachfront B-block room so we watched the ocean as we ate)

• This resort has a mature and romantic vibe. Don’t expect nightly disco/club parties or boozed up patrons, however the resort does offer a visit to Margaritaville on Mondays as part of the package which runs from 11:00-1:00am. Though it’s not a younger crowd, the staff and guests we met were young at heart and made our vacation so enjoyable

Thank you Couples San Souci, we will be back again!!

Room Tip: Rooms are arranged from A-H blocks. The A & B blocks are closest to the pool, beach and the mai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,381 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,686
    472
    132
    55
    36
See reviews for
24
2054
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (755)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

i visited sans souciJan 2013 I really dont compain about the small things,however i dont understand how this hotel can be rated a 5star hotel.
okay so the ride from the montego bay airport was almost 2hours n dont forget to tip the person carrying your luggage or taking u to the hotel bc they wait for it..not to mention there's a sign in the van saying no to forget to tip the driver.. that's so unprofessional.okay so we arrive at the hotel about 1:30 pm and our room isn't ready..no big deal we were greeted with warm smiles and cold champagne and a cold washcloth(nice touch) we were told we could have lunch n we were not impressed..i wish there were more choices with more authentic Jamaican style dishes(i mean we were in jamacia right!)the staff was attentive at the restaurants always wanting to refill water or coffee however if u wanted anything else u had to get up and get it yourself..the beach was very small and rocky at first until u got deeper( no big deal)..and if you waited for staff to ask if u needed anything to eat or drink while relaxing u could forget it bc it didnt happen..you have to get up and walk to the grill n bar.this was a big deal to me..everyday the spa workers made there way asking if we wanted an over priced massage but no one asked if we needed anything to eat or drink..the room was not bad at all n was kept clean with everything intact. i just thought it was silly that they only gave 2 beers per room and if u wanted more you'd have to call which was about 20 min come on guys when someones on vacation they shouldn't have to keep calling for a beer bc you r only distributing 2 at a time(i didn't like that)if u didn't call u didn't get restocked with anything water,soda, or beer.the food service was good and didn't take long.some of the young adults that worked there weren't always professional,at times i felt they were gawking i mean at a couples resort esp these guys should discipline themselves.if u looking for a place to have lots of fun this isn't it, this is a more laid back resort where most of the guest just want to relax on the beach and read all day.ok so we tried margaritaville this club isn't really a couples place the majority of the crowd are locals very young and single however we enjoyed the DJ..there isn't much for you to do outside the resort on your own nor do i think its safe...A special thanks to guest entertainer lieghonette for being such a sweetheart and trying to make our experience more enjoyable.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brimfield, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We traveled to CSS on 1/4/13 for our wedding. Our trip started by meeting my bestfriend and her husband in the Couples lounge at MBJ. Where we were greeted warmly and had several red stripes before our 2hr. journey. The ride is long with one 10min. stop half way there to use the restroom & grab a drink if you like. It is beautiful & senic, just enjoy it. Once we arrived at CSS we were warmly met by the bellman. And given a cool cloth & drink right away. The ONLY person who was not warm or welcoming to us was the girl who checked us in. Enough so my friend and I commented to each other about it. Oh well maybe she was just having an off day. I had booked a beachfront room for us Bblock , my friends an oceanfront Gblock and just to far away from us. She requested to upgrade and they promptly did for only $6/day. Beyond worth it as the amount of stairs is great.

We loved our room and as other reviews have said they are in need of cosmetic upgrades. However, we did not care. We are in Jamaica after all & not there for new bedcovers, just clean ones. The room was very clean & stayed that way the entire time. Our first night there was the gala on the main lawn right in front of our room. The food was execent but we turned in early because of a long travel day as the entertainment was starting. You can hear the show in the rooms in block a & b as if you are front row. No problem for us, but beware.

The grounds are amazing. And as you explore them you always feel like the only ones there because there are so few rooms. The main beach is smallish , there is also an A/N beach that was very rocky. And with 4 pools the beach never seemed busy. Plenty of chairs. We loved the flag sevice on the beach. Trainee Peter is the best beach boy ever! We loved the dirty banana drinks. And when the bar ran out of bananas young Peter went and found more. His laugh and dance was even more fantastic than his service.

We ate every resturant while we were there & ordered room service several times. Always great. The food at Beach Party night was our favorite. So many food stations! Loved everything and have no idea what other reviewers are talking about the few times i have read the food is just okay.

Our wedding took place on our 4th day there. It was beatiful and perfect. Karla the onsite coordinator took care of everything after only a 10min. meeting in her office the day after our arrival.

My review of this resort is 5star. However our friends that joined us may have rated it just slightly lower. While we had zero problems. Their safe never worked.They shared ours instead. After several calls over 2 days to the desk with the promise of maintenance was on their way up. They never showed. Even after her husband waited an hour on one occasion while we layed by the pool. The air conditioner leaked in their room on the stuffed chair that sat under it. Not a huge deal, but a dress was on that chair. Also in contrast to how clean our room was kept, theirs was not touched even after being there 24hrs. That is until she called the desk to have it cleaned. I did feel awful they had so many issues. We had none. And I felt everything was taken care of promptly when we needed anything at all. So I guess if I had not witnessed these issues first hand I wouldn't have believed it.

Despite the issues our friends experienced, we had the time of our lives. I miss it so much already. And I can not wait to return home to Couples.

Room Tip: A & B block are most convenint to the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topeka, Kansas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

After staying at a few of their competitors, we decided to try a Couples resort. Based on our experience, we are sorry that we waited so long! The resort is not as close to the airport as some of their competitors, but the resort more than makes up for the time it takes to get there. The ride to the resort is an "adventure", but the setting is beautiful. There are several secluded areas so it is easy to find a private area to relax and enjoy your surroundings. Our room was much nicer than any of the rooms we have stayed in at Sandals, and all of the rooms have room service. The food and the staff are also excellent. I dove every day, and the scuba trips were all quite enjoyable. While we thought the setting was beautiful, it can be a little challenging for people with mobility issues to get to some of the facilities. However, the staff is very willing to give anyone a ride in one of their vans.

Room Tip: We stayed in a one bedroom beachfront suite, and I would highly recommend it. It was large, comfort...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billericay, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Just returned from 11 night break over New Year . Very difficult to criticise any aspect . Beach lovely , suite in block A really spacious , food excellent , water sports brilliant , but most of all the staff were all superb . We have travelled extensively longhaul , and this hotel is right up there with the best value for money.
The golf on offer was also good but the hotel needs to pick up more frequently than just the once. More than once we had to make our own way back to hotel rather than wait over 1 hour .
Spa disappointed , expensive for the experience.
Steep climb between reception area and beach but hotel bus shuffle on hand .People with walking difficulties may prefer to avoid this hotel.

Room Tip: We found Block A best for beach , main pool and breakfast/ lunch areas , and quiet too. Block B n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LONDON
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Just returned from 7 perfect days at couples sans souci. Our 1 bed suite overlooking the ocean was perfect. Air conditioning worked perfectly, very clean, albeit a but shabby, beautiful view. Nice sized balcony with a large double relaxer and table and chairs.
Food was excellent and plentiful, full range of branded and non branded alcohol available at the restaurants, beach bar and in our room fridge. All inclusive, really meant all inclusive. Great range of water sports available, if you can get up from the beach beds. We spent our mornings by the mineral pool with its fruit bar and jacuzzi and the afternoons on the beach by the bar. Staff were all amazing, friendly, and very amenable.
The only criticism I can find is that it is a bit shabby, but it is very clean, the staff are forever sweeping and doing what they can.
I had read the reports before I booked and after and cannot understand some of the negative reports given.

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms are slightly bigger but you do have to climb 108 steps up from the beach, this is g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, Rhode Island
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

From the time we arrived at the Couples lounge at the airport, we were greeted with impeccable service and a great drink! On the long two hour drive to the resort, our driver filled us in on all sorts of fun facts about Jamaica. Check in was a quick breeze and we were welcomed with a cold wash cloth and a glass of champagne. Our bell hop showed us to our room and made sure everything was to our satisfaction. The grounds are spectacular and I loved that it was OUR beach...it made me feel safe. I ate at every restaurant and at every planned event and I loved ALL of the food...even in room dining. Some of the foods were outside of my comfort zone, but even those were great! There were plenty of water sports and activities to do and the entertainment staff was the best we've ever had! We participated in all of the activities and had a blast the entire week we were there. The bar tenders and wait staff were also great. All in all...I've never said this before....but we WILL be staying at Couples again! Best vacation yet!

Room Tip: If you have a physical disability, you should choose your room carefully as there are SO many stairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Couples Sans Souci? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Couples Sans Souci

Address: Route A3, St-Mary | PO Box 103, Ocho Rios, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Ocho Rios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Ocho Rios
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ocho Rios
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Ocho Rios
#4 Business Hotel in Ocho Rios
#4 Luxury Hotel in Ocho Rios
#4 Spa Hotel in Ocho Rios
#7 Family Hotel in Ocho Rios
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Couples Sans Souci 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the cliffs of Jamaica’s emerald coast above a dazzling stretch of Caribbean, Couples Sans Souci beckons you to surrender mind, body and soul. The resort's 'no worries' mantra comes to life as every day unfolds. Lose yourself exploring secluded stone pathways. Melt away stress in the healing natural mineral springs. Feel a rush of exhilaration scaling Dunn's River waterfalls. Or simply drift asleep in a hammock by the sea. Located in vibrant Ocho Rios, the resort's design pays tribute to an understated colonial elegance—intricate latticework, white woven furnishings and feathered palms set a refined stage for your island escape. Dining options abound—from authentic Jamaican fare to five-star international cuisine. Private cabanas at cliff's edge provide the ideal setting for our signature spa treatments, while the choice of resort activities knows no limits. Learn the art of living well while living in the moment at Couples Sans Souci. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Couples Sans Souci reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Couples Sans Souci Hotel Ocho Rios
Couples San Souci
Couples Sans Souci Ocho Rios
Couples Sans Souci Jamaica/Ocho Rios

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Couples Sans Souci, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.