We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel but...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Couples Sans Souci

Save Saved
You added Couples Sans Souci to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Couples Sans Souci
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Route A3, St-Mary | PO Box 103, Ocho Rios, Jamaica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 39 Hotels in Ocho Rios
provence
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
169 helpful votes 169 helpful votes
“Great hotel but...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2012

This was our second visit to this Couples hotel.

Nothing new to add to the good points made in other posts (fantastic staff, excellent food, lovely grounds, etc.) all these things made us go back.

Unfortunately as another reviewer has already pointed out sun bed blocking has really arrived at this hotel. On our previous visit very few beds were taken and it was always possible to find a lounger with some shade.

We are early risers and would usually be on the beach by 7.30 am. We certainly found that even by that time the majority of the loungers (on SSB) with shade had been taken - we even watched a staff member placing towels on one group of beds on behalf of guests.

It happens all over the world but it is a shame it is now happening here.

On our last visit (peak season over Christmas) SSB was a haven of tranquility. This time the pool at SSB was dominated by one (very loud) group who treated the pool area as their own private party place. We all like to have a good time on holiday but the hotel management did nothing to monitor this on behalf of other paying guests.

We would like to return to this hotel but we cancelled a repeat booking for later this year because of the above. It may be an isolated incident or it may be a trend but ...

Room Tip: Do not bother with a penthouse suite as they are not worth the extra money. Avoid E block if you wan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,407 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,707
    478
    131
    55
    36
See reviews for
25
2,076
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (767)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

My husband and I visited CSS December 2 - 9, 2011.

Pros of CSS: Food was delicious and abundant. We loved breakfast at Palazzina, and actually preferred dinner at Palazzina as opposed to dinner at Cassanova (which is supposed to be the "fancy" restaurant.) Drinks were also abundant - any type of mixed drink you can think of, they will make it for you. However, beer choices were limited. But if you like Red Stripe, you're in luck! The beach and grounds were beautiful and clean - there was always someone raking, sweeping, cleaning. There were also plenty of chairs on the beach each day. The watersports offered on the beach were great as well. We only did snorkeling one day, but if we went back, we would definitely do it more than once.

Cons of CSS: The rooms/decor are dated, BUT our room was clean. We did the shopping excursion to Ocho Rios one afternoon and would definitely not recommend wasting your time with it. It was a huge tourist trap and the vendors/shop owners do not seem to understand the phrase "No, I don't want to buy that." You just have to walk away. If you want to buy souvenirs, buy them from the gift shops on the resort or from the craft vendors that set up on the lawn each day.

Overall, we thoroughly enjoyed our trip to Jamaica and CSS and would definitely try one of the other Couples Resort if our travels take us back to Jamaica.

Room Tip: Request Block A or B for direct oceanview
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2012

My husband and I are currently staying at CSI now through Mar 8th. Just wanted to take sometime to share what we've experience thus far. My husband and I are in our late 20's we seem to be the youngest, but that is ok as we love hanging with fun couples no matter what age. As long as they like having a good time and when your on vacation everyone is having a good time. The property itself is absolutely breath taking. The staff manage to up keep the grounds all day every day. The property is a lot bigger than we anticipated but don't mind as we love to venture and find neat things about CSI. We love how there are secrets spots nestled throughout the property. The staff. AMAZING! These are the most hardest working people you will run across when vacationing. They will catered to your ever want and or need. At this moment my husband is playing pool with one of the staff lol. The food is great. Always a variety and theme when you go to eat and room service menu has some decent items. The BAR. The bartenders are great. Even when there's ton of people. The bartenders manage to take your order and deliver your drinks in a timely manner. We're staying in B Block the beachfront rooms. The rooms are of nice size and absolutely amazing views. Out of the entire resort I believe its the best location because its the closet to the beach and all natural beach, couple of pools, grill and one of the restaurants. Reason I feel this way, because majority of the resort is built into the cliff and there's a ton of stairs to go up and down, but the beachfront rooms is aside of that and you don't have to deal with that as long as you don't head back up to main lobby of the other restaurant. But, we enjoy walking around the resort, but glad its not necessary for us to do all that walking if you know what I mean lol....Your at the prime location of the resort. Look up the resort map and you'll see what I mean. Only thing this resort needs a bit of work it updating the rooms. I'm not to crazy about the decor, but overall it's a nice size room. We would definitely come back to this resort, but after checking out a couple of the other properties Couples have to offer. Hope my review was helpful. Should you have any specific questions, please reach out and I'll be happy to let you know. Will post pics in the near future.

Warmest Regards,
LNW

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2012

We stayed at Couples San Souci Feb 24-28 2012 and had a nice time. It is a very quiet resort. My husband and I are 38 years old and were definitely one of the youngest people there. When we arrived we were given a complimentary upgrade to the top floor Oceanfront Suite in G Block. The room was in need of updating although it was extremely clean. Room Service staff accommodated special requests that were not on the menu (cheese plate and wine). Pool by lobby had no lounge chairs and was in desperate need of being refreshed - waterfall was also never on unless an evening event was taking place. The outside of building and grounds again were in need of refurbishment but the cleanliness was evident - there was always someone sweeping or raking up the many leaves and flowers that would shed throughout the day - very impressive. The beach was maintained as well - always raking any seaweed that washed to shore (although not much except after a storm). Bar Staff were extremely efficient - never had to wait long for a drink and the beach attendant was always going around making sure we had drinks. Food was excellent at the resort - we were able to eat each night wherever we chose. Staff was friendly for the most part but food service seemed slow - we would sit at the beach front restaurant and it would take 10 minutes for a waiter to come by for our order. Never had a problem getting a lounge chair on the beach but they were hard to come by at the pools. More should be added to the Main Pool area - lots of open space. I would rate this more of a 3 1/2 - 4 star - not a 5 star property. We did have a nice relaxing time but unsure as to whether or not we stay at another Couples in the future.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2012

This is a beautiful location with some real plusses but some minuses compared to the hotel market.
PROS:1) Friendly staff
2)Perfect beach
3)Good water sports
4)Attentive bar staff and good drinks selection
5)Well presented gala night- food and entertainment
6)Good tennis courts and quality equipment available free
7)Mini bar selection is whatever you request-no restrictions
8)Mineral pool is quiet and easy to flnd an available lounger
9)Casanovo restaurant has good gourmet menu
10) Guest services desk is superbly efficient

CONS: 1)The old problem of "bed bagging" has reached here. Get to the beach BEFORE
8am or you will have no shade all day.
2)The main pool has 36 beds and only 6 umbrellas
3)Although the public areas are well maintained the room was a different story
4)Maintenance seems to be poorly supervised which makes the dated rooms seem
more tired than they could be.
5)Buffet staff seem to have no effective supervision and some wander aimlessly when
buffet service should be easy to operate
6)The beautiful pool near reception has no beds at all.

TIPS: 1) There is only one smart dress restaurant so book ahead- as many days as you like
2)Ask for a deal in the shops
3)Link up with other people and negotiate-the first price is laughable
4)When shopping don't make eye contact if you are not intereste
5) You dont need Jamaican currency-everything is priced in $US

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut, United States
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

We chose Couples San Souci for our romantic wedding! We stayed from February 11th till the 18th.We were greated daily with warm smiles and friendly patrons.Every day we spent was far better than the day before. We were treated as if we were born there not as a tourist. the services were five star for sure.The food was fantastic.The services for our wedding were exicuted perfectly. The decorations,cake,photographer,and music were all perfect. 150 photos of perfection couldn't ask for anything more. We will reccomend Couples San Souci. to every one we know . We are already planning our trip back for next year same time same place!

Room Tip: all rooms were perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking, United Kingdom
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

This was our first trip to Jamaica and to a Couples Resort. When we arrived at Montego Bay, we were taken to Couples own lounge where we enjoyed free internet and free drinks while we waited for our coach transfer. When we reached Couples Sans Souci we were again greeted with a glass of champagne and a very warm welcome.

Our room exceeded our expectations being a big spacious room which a huge veranda and all the amenities like a fully stocked Minibar and fridge etc. The Hotel grounds are stunning, they have wonderful secluded walkways and beaches, lovely lush gardens with wonderful exotic plants and palm trees. If you want to hide away there’s always a little spot to do so.

The Food and Restaurants were excellent, our particular favourite is called “Palazzina” where you find a Pasta Bar. In between courses, I highly recommend you visit the pasta bar where the resident chef will cook in front of you pasta and ingredients of your choice, wonderful .Our favourite waitress at Palazzina was Reinilla Johnson she’s brilliant.

The Staff were very welcoming, accommodating and friendly, they were very helpful and if you didn’t want to be disturbed they were discreet.

We had booked for our anniversary a private beach dinner which was excellent. A wonderful experience to sit right at the beach just the 2 of us and had a delicious meal served at the candle lit table.

They also offer little “craft classes” like hat making, shell painting, wood carving, pottery painting and cooking classes which is a wonderful Idea if you are a craft type person like me and especially if your husband or partner goes SCUBA diving every day (which is also free by the way). It’s things like this that really makes Couples Sans Souci stand out from other hotels.

We have only been back for one week and already booked for a 3 week holiday for next February.

Once you have been to Couples Sans Souci you will definitely want to go back again and they have little incentives for “returnees”.

Room Tip: Go for the Deluxe Ocean Veranda suite in "Gardenia" area, the view is stunning
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Couples Sans Souci? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Couples Sans Souci

Address: Route A3, St-Mary | PO Box 103, Ocho Rios, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Ocho Rios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Ocho Rios
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ocho Rios
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Ocho Rios
#4 Spa Hotel in Ocho Rios
#4 Luxury Hotel in Ocho Rios
#5 Family Hotel in Ocho Rios
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Couples Sans Souci 4.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the cliffs of Jamaica’s emerald coast above a dazzling stretch of Caribbean, Couples Sans Souci beckons you to surrender mind, body and soul. The resort's 'no worries' mantra comes to life as every day unfolds. Lose yourself exploring secluded stone pathways. Melt away stress in the healing natural mineral springs. Feel a rush of exhilaration scaling Dunn's River waterfalls. Or simply drift asleep in a hammock by the sea. Located in vibrant Ocho Rios, the resort's design pays tribute to an understated colonial elegance—intricate latticework, white woven furnishings and feathered palms set a refined stage for your island escape. Dining options abound—from authentic Jamaican fare to five-star international cuisine. Private cabanas at cliff's edge provide the ideal setting for our signature spa treatments, while the choice of resort activities knows no limits. Learn the art of living well while living in the moment at Couples Sans Souci. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Couples Sans Souci reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Couples Sans Souci Hotel Ocho Rios
Couples San Souci
Couples Sans Souci Ocho Rios
Couples Sans Souci Jamaica/Ocho Rios

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Couples Sans Souci, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.