We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is now called Color Stone Cafe” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Snapper Grill

Snapper Grill
Main Street | Behind Burger King, Ocho Rios WI, Jamaica
876-974-4192
Improve this listing
Ranked #53 of 77 Restaurants in Ocho Rios
Price range: $5 - $16
Cuisines: Caribbean, Italian, Jamaican, Vegetarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Description: We specialize in fresh seafood and other island dishes. WE serve lunch and dinner and group catering. Our hours are Monday through Saturday 9 - 9 and we are located in the Island Plaza behind Burger King.
Nipawin, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“This is now called Color Stone Cafe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Authentic Jamaican food. The owner/Manager was very helpful, let me try the curried goat. It was very good but I didn't order it there. Because it was authentic, he told me they leave the bones in everything. This was true of the whole snapper I had on the first visit & the fish soup I had on the second. The food was very flavorful & tasty. I didn't like all the bones, especially in the soup. We would have eaten there again though. Air conditioning was a fan.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7 reviews from our community

71% Recommend
    4
    1
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

stop by this little restaurant for lunch once and had a escovietch fish not all that exciting but still yet a fair meal. the price was reasonable for a local dining.

since i was the only person in the dining at the time the ac was turned off ( i guess to save cash) but it was a bit of discomfort for me.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Food For A Great Price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2012

We found this little gem of a restaurant while out shopping and ended up eating there on 2 occassions during our week in Ocho Rios. The food was great both times. Our first visit was at lunch time. There were several choices for the noon special and it was a good sized meal for only 250 J. A couple days later we checked it out during the day while planning where to eat supper. When the owner, Chris saw us checking the special for the evening meal he came over to talk to us and offerred to get us some wine to go with supper. He asked us what kind we would prefer and when we arrived for supper there it was! The food was really good, very reasonably priced and Chris is a super host.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smithsburg, Maryland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent food at a reasonable price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

We had a wonderful fish dinner prepared in a local style. It was delicious and we would recommend this restaurant to others. It is located in a shopping center behind the burger king. It is clean and we were very happy that the air conditioning was working.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Delicious local fare and cool air too.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2011 via mobile

Jamaican food prepared the way the locals like it is the forte of this establishment. They serve lunch and dinner and have a small bar. Fish is their speciality and I had a wonderful red snapper dish. The chicken and vegetarian dishes were also popular with our group. The service was very prompt and we enjoyed the air conditioning on a very hot afternoon. We will absolutely return.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Snapper Grill also viewed

Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
 
Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
 

Been to Snapper Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Snapper Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.