We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is now called Color Stone Cafe” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Snapper Grill

Snapper Grill
Main Street | Behind Burger King, Ocho Rios WI, Jamaica
876-974-4192
Improve this listing
Ranked #55 of 93 Restaurants in Ocho Rios
Price range: $5 - $16
Cuisines: Italian, Caribbean, Vegetarian, Jamaican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Description: We specialize in fresh seafood and other island dishes. WE serve lunch and dinner and group catering. Our hours are Monday through Saturday 9 - 9 and we are located in the Island Plaza behind Burger King.
Nipawin, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“This is now called Color Stone Cafe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Authentic Jamaican food. The owner/Manager was very helpful, let me try the curried goat. It was very good but I didn't order it there. Because it was authentic, he told me they leave the bones in everything. This was true of the whole snapper I had on the first visit & the fish soup I had on the second. The food was very flavorful & tasty. I didn't like all the bones, especially in the soup. We would have eaten there again though. Air conditioning was a fan.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Gerry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

stop by this little restaurant for lunch once and had a escovietch fish not all that exciting but still yet a fair meal. the price was reasonable for a local dining.

since i was the only person in the dining at the time the ac was turned off ( i guess to save cash) but it was a bit of discomfort for me.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jerwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Food For A Great Price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2012

We found this little gem of a restaurant while out shopping and ended up eating there on 2 occassions during our week in Ocho Rios. The food was great both times. Our first visit was at lunch time. There were several choices for the noon special and it was a good sized meal for only 250 J. A couple days later we checked it out during the day while planning where to eat supper. When the owner, Chris saw us checking the special for the evening meal he came over to talk to us and offerred to get us some wine to go with supper. He asked us what kind we would prefer and when we arrived for supper there it was! The food was really good, very reasonably priced and Chris is a super host.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank batinthecave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smithsburg, Maryland
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent food at a reasonable price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

We had a wonderful fish dinner prepared in a local style. It was delicious and we would recommend this restaurant to others. It is located in a shopping center behind the burger king. It is clean and we were very happy that the air conditioning was working.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Denise G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Delicious local fare and cool air too.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2011

Jamaican food prepared the way the locals like it is the forte of this establishment. They serve lunch and dinner and have a small bar. Fish is their speciality and I had a wonderful red snapper dish. The chicken and vegetarian dishes were also popular with our group. The service was very prompt and we enjoyed the air conditioning on a very hot afternoon. We will absolutely return.

    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Bambino13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Snapper Grill also viewed

Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
 
Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
 

Been to Snapper Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing