We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, terrible service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bamboo Blu

Bamboo Blu
Mammee Bay Estate, Mammee Bay | Next to Riu Hotel, Ocho Rios, Jamaica
+1 876-974-9983
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 84 Restaurants in Ocho Rios
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $15 - $40
Cuisines: Caribbean, Jamaican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Description: FREE Wi-Fi Available. Be Brave - drink a BIG BAMBOO in your very own to keep Bamboo Chalice. Be a Star - Howl at the Moon around our nightly bonfire. Be Liz Taylor. Be Martin Luther King. Be Frank Sinatra - they created this historic jetsetters hideaway! Be Mellow - pre Reggae tunes of Mento & Ska air when local Rastafarian guitarist Jah Happystone takes a snooze. Be Hungry - eat new original for 2015 - Jerky's Popcorn Pork Festival Bites. Be Happy. .......... Also, please note Bamboo Blu is not a public beach, reservations are required at our restaurant to access beach facilities.
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good location, terrible service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

This was a nice area, the beach was very nice. The fun show during lunch time (Jungle Man) was a nice touch. The live music was good. However the service and food were below average. Took about an hour and a half to get our food and didn't feel it was worth the high price. The atmosphere was good which is why it was still worth a visit.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bamboo B, Manager at Bamboo Blu, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Hi there, I'm glad to hear you liked the atmosphere at Bamboo Blu but terribly sorry to hear of your long wait. We have been getting quite a rush on ship days and have implemented a new system so wait time is not that long.

The next time you're in the area, do let us know so we can make everything right again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

531 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    413
    77
    26
    6
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great beach, great food, great staff & service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

We chose bamboo blu for our christmas lunch. We had juicy lobsters, conch soup and coconut rum. The quality of the food is remarkable and so is the service. Denzel kept checking on us and made sure we were always alright. At night a bonfire is lit up. One love.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bamboo B, General Manager at Bamboo Blu, responded to this review, December 28, 2013
We hope you had a MERRY CHRISTMAS!

Thank you for choosing Bamboo Blu & for leaving us your feedback :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Runaway Bay, Jamaica
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Conch Soup”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

Went here today.Restaurant full of happy people, the beach is amazing and the staff are very sweet.Great conch soup and plantain chips with a great dip.Watched The Rocket Man take off from the sea, very James Bond.A really great fun place.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bamboo B, General Manager at Bamboo Blu, responded to this review, December 28, 2013
Hi there!

We're so happy that you had a lovely time at Bamboo Blu!

Do come again and try the Rocket Man! You'll have an unforgettable experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
“Amazing beach day with knowjamaica.com”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

The Bamboo Blu Beach and Restaurant (Mammee Bay, luxury residential subdivision) is about 5 to 10 min drive from Ocho Rios, going west. This beach is beautiful and great for swimming and snorkeling. If you want a different day at the beach not far from your hotel, while staying in Ocho Rios, this is a great option. This beach has super modern facilites, free wi-fi, very clean and modern looking shower/change room, nice suvenier store etc. This beach is right next to the Riu Ocho Rios hotel. We decided to rent a very comfortable cabana bed for $20 and felt like million bucks : -). You can also get a regular chair for $5/day. Bamboo Blu restaurant has a professional team providing great services and excellent food. Our private tour guide, Javia, introduced us to Nikki, very friendly lady who works at Bamboo Blue and she was really fantastic. We received the best service we had in Jamaica, hope Nikki is there again when we go back. Scenic view while sipping your afternoon drink on a beautiful day....paradise!

Javia Shaw from knowjamaica.com took us there around 11 o’clock and picked us up around 4 to go back to the hotel. See my other reviewes about our one week of exploring with Javia Shaw from knowjamaica.com, you should give him a call if you want the unique, traditional experience 1-876-350-9770. Him and his mom Marva Shaw are the best private tour guides you will find on the island: experienced, honest, polite, patient, knowledgeable. Marva worked in the travel industry for 25+ years and now runs her own family business. Marva and Javia will take care of you like you are their own family.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bamboo B, General Manager at Bamboo Blu, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Hey there!

Thank you for making Bamboo Blu one of your stops during your short visit! We hope to serve you again.

Thank you for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ebbw Vale, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic food, great location, excellent staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

Situated next to Riu ocho rios a little treasure of a resteraunt, perfect setting for dining on this wonderful island! A candle lit table right by the sea, fresh lobster caught before your eyes and great live music with a calming relaxing Jamaican atmosphere! Irie!! the perfect holiday highlight!! returning again tonight - amazing!!!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bamboo B, General Manager at Bamboo Blu, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Thank you for your Fantastic review!

We're so glad to hear of your lovely visit and we hope to serve you soon again :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bamboo Blu also viewed

Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
 
Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
 

Been to Bamboo Blu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bamboo Blu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.