We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Unique Dinning Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lobster Shack

Lobster Shack
Reggae Beach Beach, Ocho Rios, Jamaica
+1 876-975-5106
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 84 Restaurants in Ocho Rios
Price range: $0 - $22
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Lunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch
Carman, Illinois, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A Unique Dinning Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2015

Located on Fisherman's Beach in Ocho Rios. The food is amazing and the atmosphere is beyond unique. A never before dining experience! We were seated at a table next to the sea. The local people are helpful and the service was great. We will go back and take our friends with us. This is a smoking establishment.

Visited February 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    2
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Henderson, Nevada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good food with a local flare”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2015

On first sight you might feel nervouse about eating here but everyone was accomodating and pleasant.

Visited January 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Food was good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2015

There was no menu and there were no prices and they don't take credit cards. It was a stressful meal for my husband - since we don't usually carry lots of cash when we travel... The lobster was tasty, but the restaurant is in a scary location that required an escort.

Visited January 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Feltham, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Thumbs up.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2015

We went to this restaurant at the end of the holiday, but it was worth the wait. It was about 8/9pm and we was seated right on the coast so the atmosphere was nice with the sounds of the waves crashing against the rocks & moonlight reflecting in the sea. I ordered the curried shrimp which was soooooo good & the steamed fish was also top notch!! If you ask for directions its better to call it "fishermans beach" as thats what its better known by the locals

  • Visited January 2015
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Cucamonga, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Suprizing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2014

looks are very deceiving. This place looks nothing like the food taste. I ate there twice in one day. The vibe can be a bit confusing,no menu posted.If you are kind of a paranoid individual,then you may want to go with a local,like your driver or tour guide. You in a real local hang out,and they can be a bit aggressive with wanting you to support then .There are about 4 or 5 little shops that sell beer. and they all want you to buy from them,for this is how they survive. I bought a beer for every single one,and view it like a block party..lol

Visited November 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lobster Shack also viewed

 
Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
 

Been to Lobster Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lobster Shack, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.