We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't Stay Away” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Silver Seas Resort Hotel

Save Saved
You added Silver Seas Resort Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Silver Seas Resort Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   66 James Street | St. Ann, Ocho Rios, Jamaica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 39 hotels in Ocho Rios
Wells, Maine
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Can't Stay Away”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

I have stayed at Silver Seas numerous times and always return. I am not visiting Jamaica for a luxury, all inclusive, never leave the hotel kind of stay. I often wonder why anyone would want to stay on the umteenth floor at the Jamaican Grande, maybe they never leave their room! I love my huge room and veranda at Silver Seas on the second floor. This visit I experienced new changes, new faces and all the previous members of the staff that accomodate me 24/7. Love to welcome Donna and Patrick. Donna has spruced up the bar, added some new red wine selections and has plans to bring some exciting local entertainment and promotions to the hotel. All the best Donna! Patrick is always fixing something and replacing old to new! Big up! My gals at the front desk, Carol and Paulette always squeeze me in as my travel plan changes daily! LOL! I swear Mr. Davis at the door has eyes on the back of his head. He always knows when I'm coming or going and always feel safe. Barry is always running something for me to and from the kitchen! My dear Lavina, tea and breakfast in the morning. Great server! For those of you not staying at the Seas, I believe the dining area is open to the public and the food is reasonably priced and delicious. Local and American cuisine. Want to give "Schutz" Mr. Clark a big up for saving the day! His patch job on the old cable T.V. spot. He knows what I mean! Hee Hee! If your looking for clean, quiet and on the water, affordable! Silver Seas is your place! See you soon, B

Room Tip: They are all water front....I prefer the second floor....The verandas are enclosed from room to room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    42
    67
    47
    15
    39
See reviews for
36
70
22
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

After reading the reviews I was apprehensive. But silver seas offers value for money for visitors ona budget. If your expecting 5* all inc hotel with all the frills this hotel isnt for you. If your looking for reasonable accommodation in ocho rios in central sea front location then book your stay. Firstly it is 2* so what it lacks in areas it makes up elsewhere. Negatives, needs a revamp but has potential : no fridge, no phone in rooms,shabby towels some times but towels were generally clean and changed daily, no tv remote but has very good tv channel selection,no toiletries, some areas of hotel a little rough, eg bath taps, no plug but who wants a bath in jamaica, mattresses ..not fantastic but bearable. customer service ...IS TYPICALLY JAMAICAN (laid back). But staff are polite when they engage. Rooms can be dark with only table lamps available in rooms. Furniture typically new england style. Positives: air conditioning, hot water with good pressure, clean even though hotel not greatly maintained, huge double double bedrooms, (2 double beds) ♥ Rooms are approx 30ft lots of storage furniture seperate dressing area and bathroom, huge balcony with light chairs and table. Amazing and under priced sea views. Walking distance of main strip 2 mins and main hotels 5mins to the jamaica grande. Free wifi in lobby, clean good size pool, bar and food service. It may not appear that way but hotel is fairly secure. Well lit areas to rooms doors to rooms a little old with key access but additional internal bolt. Central but secluded location. Be local and try local cuisine its great stuff , affordable and fresh.

Room Tip: Sea view room is best and 1st floor for best rooms. For group or family trips request adjoining room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

It was a disaster... Things got stolen from our room while we were sleeping... That was v scarry...Management didnt do anything to help. Absolutely stay away from the place. While the location and view was good from the room, the hotel rooms were spacious but there no amenities provided in the rooms like basic soap, shampoo etc. For most part of our stay there was no hot water.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

This property is ideally located in the center of Ocho Rios just off Main Street. Just a few blocks from newer and more expensive hotels eg. Jamaica Grande and Rooms. At the height of season I paid $85 when Rooms was charging $144. My boyfrirnd described the surrounding area as rough, However it was good because you could walk to several grocery stores and get cheap rum
And beer . Also cheap food and low cost taxis are pleantiful. We had no issues but your taking a chance getting into a unknown taxi. The property has several positives. The location is great, the rooms are huge and appear clean. The view is amazing. I had a first floor unit and it was almost like I could reach out and touch the water. The AC was ice cold and the water was hot. The customer service was mostly good. The front desk people were knowledgable and helpful. The property has a rustic feel, but the rooms are fairly basic. The negatives can be easily fixed. The beds were not comfortable and the pillows were flat. There is wi fi only in the lobby. I would happily pay for wi fi to have it in my room. There are no phones in the room. Which means every time you want to ask a question you have to walk out to the lobby. If you want to call a cab or make restaurant reservation ect. you can buy a phone card and you can use the lobby phone. Makes no sense and is inconvenient. If your going to be in Jamaica for more than a few days i would buy a cell phone or bring a "jail break" Phone with You. I saw phones at DigiCell which is across the street for $25 US dollars. They could also rent phones like they do in Negril. There is no remote for the TV. Which is just annoying. There is no ice machine. Also annoying. The comforter smells musty. When the housekeepers where doing laundry I only saw the flat and fitted cream sheets in the laundry bag. I honestly don't think they wash the comforter between guests. There is a musty odor when you open the drawers. At night there is one unarmed security in front a closed glass door. There is no refrigerator, microwave or coffee maker. Basic stuff that you would see at most 2 star motels. The beach is ok, I saw some of the more well known hotels snorkeling in front of this hotel. If there were no better available options I would go back. Otherwise I would try somewhere else.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

That being said, she is over the hill. I first came to this hotel in 1965 with my parents and their friends. I have loved it ever since. I have stayed here many times, later with my husband, and still later with friends.

We were here two weeks ago for our friend' 25th wedding anniversary. We stayed here the first time when we got them married up at Shaw Park Garden.

It is so sad, the hotel is not a shadow of its' former self. The bar was even closed. We did manage to get a very good Jamaican breakfast the second day by asking the cook the night before, as it is not on the menu.

No hot water on Saturday night, so could not wash hair for going out. Pretty worn rooms and furnishings. The staff is wonderful. They will try to help where ever they can. I went down to the "beach" one morning and swam. I was the only person I saw the entire time in the ocean.

In the "day" the sand was raked every morning, there was bar service on the beach and even a water sports kiosk! You would never guess that now.

I restore old buildings-this could still be salvaged, but it will cost a fortune and require a dedicated knowledgeable person with incredible stamina!!

I am glad to see that someone is responding to review postings. That is a step in the right direction for management.

As I said, I love this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

If you want to spend some nights in ochio rios, this place is the one! Right in the middle of the town, close to shops and restaurant. Staff friendly, large rooms, ac, hot shower, swimming pool and a breathtaking view of the ocean. Price are not expensive, breakfast is not included but there are several small place around where you can have breakfast! I really recommend it, i'm against all those new resorts that make you feel like in any other place of the world...at the silver seas you feel jamaica and that's is the most important thing to me!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This is a quaint place to visit. It grows on you. It has a great view and was the place to be back in the day. It needs a bit of care, ground maintenance and some updating in the rooms. New beds and bedding. Food is not readily available on site. Its a short walk to everything you could possibly need. Staff is great, friendly and have been there for years. Its my second stay there and Its never crowded. All in all not bad for the money.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Silver Seas Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Seas Resort Hotel

Address: 66 James Street | St. Ann, Ocho Rios, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Ocho Rios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in Ocho Rios
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Silver Seas Resort Hotel 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanfront Resort Hotel surrounded by private tropical gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, HotelsClick, Otel, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Silver Seas Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Seas Hotel Ocho Rios
Silver Seas Ocho Rios
Silver Seas Resort Hotel Jamaica/Ocho Rios

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Silver Seas Resort Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.