We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hard work up the falls but worth it” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dunn's River Falls and Park

Dunn's River Falls and Park
Ocho Rios, Jamaica
876-974-2857
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 48 things to do in Ocho Rios
Activities: Swimming
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Attraction details
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Ashford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Hard work up the falls but worth it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We went with our friends husband to be who is native Jamaican so we avoided the tour guide experience. I took my 5 and 6 year old boys up with help of friends. You definitely need one adult per child as a but hairy in place climbing the falls. Well worthy it though and took about an hour. Get some water shoes before you go if you intend to do do this or they will make you hire or buy some there.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,090 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,917
    2,183
    700
    187
    103
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Columbia MD
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Awesome day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

My husband and sons said it was an awesome hike and experience - yes, the hawkers afterward tried to sell them stuff but...

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

This is a must do trip. Guides are great. Be aware that they are straight on to you at the end for you 'TIP!!' dont even give you a minute to compose yourself as you get out of the river.
Avoid the shopping area here as they just hound you and corner you in there shops. You need to be firm and push yourself out of the shop/tent.
Recommend adding an trip on the afternoon with this as you only spend 2.5hrs here

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Good fun and not as difficult as anticipated. We arranged our own trip entrance 20US dollars which we thought was quite expensive for what it offered. Did not go with a tour group arranged our own taxi which worked out cheaper for a large group (probably not if only 2 people), You do not need to use a guide to climb up the falls, if you are struggling plenty of people will offer help. There are lockers to store belongings, food stalls and tourist stalls. Beach at bottom of the falls which wasn't anything to rave about and was very busy. Allow a couple of hours for the visit, longer if you wish to use the beach.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Not so clear water”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

The water at the beach was murky and sandy. Not the clear blue water that you will find at the resorts. No one was laying out and the hike to get down to the beach was a pain, not to mention going back up.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dunn's River Falls and Park also viewed

 
Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
 

Been to Dunn's River Falls and Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dunn's River Falls and Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.