We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cold, cold water.....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dunn's River Falls and Park

Dunn's River Falls and Park
Ocho Rios, Jamaica
876-974-2857
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 23 Attractions in Ocho Rios
Type: Waterfalls, Outdoors
Activities: Swimming
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Attraction details
Useful Information: Activities for older children
usa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“cold, cold water.....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We have climbed it twice. We are to old to do it again, but would do it again if younger. Have seen some grown men, football player size, act like little kids when they hit the water at the ocean start. "Goose Bumps" the size of acorns........

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,076 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,356
    1,850
    616
    165
    89
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, IN
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Now we can say "Been there, done that"”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I'm glad we went to climb the falls but I don't think we'll consider doing it again. We arrived at the beach via catamaran as part of another tour. The falls didn't seem to be very busy since there were no cruise ships at port that day. I can't imagine what this is like on a busy day. Our guide was a little all over the place and didn't provide much direction. We spent most of the time unsure of where to go next or which slippery rocks to avoid. I know a lot of people don't like being led up the falls hand-in-hand but it seems like we weren't given any guidance on which route to take. Thankfully we avoided the vendor stalls by heading directly back down the stairs to the beach.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherbrooke
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Dunns River”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Excellent excursion, LOVED walking up the falls even if it is not very long. Will screw you for video at the end but negociate on the price. Not really worth it though (VIDEO). Beware of the crafts vendors they will offer FREE WOOD TURTLES but as you must know they are NOT REALLY FREE and will hastle you, had to get mad to get rid of them unfortunately. BUT the Dunns Rivers Experience is a must. Use Local Bus rather than Taxi or Sunwing excurions, too costly, saved about $350.00 using local bus rather Sunwing

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hatley, Wisconsin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A must do!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Dunn's falls was great. It was included in staying at Couples San Souci so I'm not sure on the price but it's definitely an excursion we would be willing to pay for if needed. The guides were a blast although we couldn't find ours for awhile. You go up the falls in a chain. We had some elderly people leading the chain which got a little concerning but the guide assisted them quite often to ensure they could complete the excursion. Remember to buy water shoes prior to going to Jamaica. If not, you will need to either rent a pair (yuck!) or buy a pair for a lot more than you'd spend in the States. The craft market on the way out of the falls was also nice- a bit pushy but not as bad as the market downtown.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allegan, Michigan, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great to do ONCE, watch the tour guides”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

This is a very beautiful place, although you don't focus as much on it as you might think while doing the climb due to the focus you need on where to step next. It was worth doing once to say that we did it, but probably wouldn't need to climb it again. The tour guides are deifinitely the way to go, as those that "winged it" were in the way a lot and frequently being warned by guides that they were in dangerous areas. They do video you doing this and try to sell you a DVD of your experience for $40 at the end, but besides the souvenir sales people, the tour guides are the aggressive ones at the end. The person at our resort recommended $3-$5 each for the two guides as a tip, but when I pulled out the soaking wet cash and peeled off a $20, the first guide grabbed it and said thanks. He had said he was taking up a collection for the team, but the second guide then came up right behind him and said he needed something for "his team". More like a New York mugging than giving a tip, but they were worth having on the climb.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dunn's River Falls and Park also viewed

 
Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
 

Been to Dunn's River Falls and Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dunn's River Falls and Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.