We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very clean and nice beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dunn's River Falls and Park

Dunn's River Falls and Park
Ocho Rios, Jamaica
876-974-2857
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 49 things to do in Ocho Rios
Activities: Swimming
Attraction details
South Florida, Florida
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Very clean and nice beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Our family loves Dunn's river Beach, not sure why it is separated in reviews from Dunns River Falls on tripadvisor since its the same location.
Rent lockers to put your belongings away to keep them safe, the price isn't worth it but better safe than sorry. The best time to visit is a Friday because it is not a cruise ship day so the beach isn't crowded and loud. My 15 month old loved it, built sandcastles and played in waves.
There are at your own risk jetski rides at a cost, they get annoying at times but are regulated by security on beach. Climb the falls if you like or just sit in rock pools.
They ask you to rent or buy water shoes but this is not mandatory. We had our own but didn't use them. Lots of steps down to beach

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,398 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,081
    2,272
    741
    198
    106
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Top Contributor
193 reviews 193 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 126 cities Reviews in 126 cities
190 helpful votes 190 helpful votes
“Worth a look...but also check out Little Dunns River”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

$20 entry. Different and much bigger to Reach Falls at Port Antonio. Very commercial with the guided groups daisy chaining and chanting their way up from the beach at the bottom. Hate to see it on a cruise ship day. Nice enough beach at the bottom for a swim. Unless you really want to climb this it really isn't necessary. Just as easy to track the falls along the easy wooden walkway that runs parallel with the option of having a dip in the various pools along the way. Not deep and barefoot is fine plus you can keep an easy eye on your belongings while you do as well as take photos. Vendors weren't overly aggressive and a snack bar restaurant also on site. While you are there walk back down to Little Dunns River (opposite Mystic Mountain) which is a brilliant little place for a swim and also surrounded by several waterfalls of a reasonable size. Entry is free but you can leave a "landscaping" donation.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Prepared to Get Wet, and in a good way”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Amazing experience, falls are beautiful, got super soaked on the falls and made it to the top without falling or breaking my ankle. Our tour guides were all cool, we had Maurice was his name I think....awesome dude, carried my tablet all the way up and took pics of us on it, he made sure it didn't drop or get wet and thats not an easy task.

Beware of some vendors on the path back to your boat, some can be aggressive, tell em you don't have any cast on you or that you lost it in the falls.

The videographers are cool also, they sell personalized videos of your tour for around $40 USD but seems pricy for a dvd of your experience, when you can take pics and video on a phone or tablet for free.

Also if you have a good time, please be sure to let you tour guides know and leave them a little token.

I can't wiat to go back.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elmira, Ontario, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Falls Excitement”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Our guide climbing the falls was awesome! Knew exactly where to step and where not to. It was a fun experience. The water coming down the falls is very cold. If you don't like getting your head and body wet, this adventure is not for you! :)

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Channahon, Illinois
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Worth trying despite the 'tourist' factor”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

We did the group tour with our resort (Couples) and it was a positive experience. The tour leaders were fun and helpful, and it was paced well so we could experience the falls but not linger too long. The best advice I've seen is to have virtual blinders on when leaving through the craft fair area. It is definitely the most aggressive selling area we've come across in Jamaica.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dunn's River Falls and Park also viewed

Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
 
Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
 

Been to Dunn's River Falls and Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dunn's River Falls and Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.