We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Hole

Blue Hole
Ocho Rios, Jamaica
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$137*
and up
Frenchman's Cove, Blue Lagoon and Rio Grande Day...
Ranked #2 of 30 Attractions in Ocho Rios
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Type: Waterfalls, Nature & Parks
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Attraction details
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Pittsburgh, Pa
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“WOW!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

The place is GORGEOUS, although getting up there was a bit frightening as some of the roads are iffy at best! I was honestly unsure what we would be doing at the Blue Hole, but we sure did it ALL! I am sorry to say I do not remember the names of the 2 guys who guided us through the falls, and I, personallly, owe them BIG for all the help they gave me! They were incredibly strong and pleasant and we were all very grateful! It is am amazing experience and I HIGHLY suggest it, but know it can get pretty scary and requires a bit of physical agility and strength. You CAN do it though with their help!!! Absolutely BEAUTIFUL and fun!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,349 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,152
    146
    41
    4
    6
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A hidden gem, an oasis, and the most beautiful place on earth.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We arranged a private driver to take us to the blue hole as this is not your typical tourist attraction. Our driver set us up with a local named Kevin who our guide. Kevin was great, he took care of my Mom helping her along the way through a series of fresh water falls and caves, we jumped from the falls and cliffs into crystal clear blue water, surrounded by jungle. Kevin only asked for $10 US pp, but we tipped well. He took some of our best pictures during our trip, had water shoes for rent $5 US pp but I would recommend you bring your own. We enjoyed the tour so much we visited twice.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Off the Beaten Path”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

I loved that this "attraction" was off the beaten path, not innundated with people and leisurely. Definitely get your water shoes and waterproof cameras for a great time.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Wow!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

What a beautiful spot! We were amazed by our guides, Omar and Jerome, at the Blue Hole. They were so patient with us and led us through a series of different spots/experiences at the Blue Hole. They also held onto our waterproof camera and took tons of pictures of us. I would definitely suggest water shoes for this excursion! And, a waterproof camera! The pictures they took were amazing. Our daughters, ages 17 & 20, loved everything about the Blue Hole. My husband and I were a little more "timid" in some of the activities, but enjoyed most of the "challenges" and definitely the scenery!! This should not be missed!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Union, Kentucky
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Stunning water, great guide and very uncrowded!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We stayed at the Sunset Jamaica Grande and hired a private cabbie named Arnold (he was terrififc, we used him several times...his phone # is 876-896-3823, email sunshinetours1@yahoo.com) to drive us to the blue hole. It was about a 30 minute drive from the hotel. Arnold stayed with us and took pictures with our camera, which was awesome! A local guide then took us to the blue hole, where we swam, used rope swings, explored great underwater limestone caves and hiked up the falls. We saw an iguana, banana trees, sugar cane and The water glows a very distinct color of blue due to the limestone.This was the highlight of our Jamaican trip. It was secluded, peaceful and beautiful!!!!! We paid our driver $80 for the round trip experience and we gave our guide $40 for his expert help on the tour (for 2 people).
I would definitely do this again!!!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Hole also viewed

 
Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
 

Been to Blue Hole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Hole, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.