We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The way to go in Jamaica.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marks Tours

Marks Tours
Tower Isle, Ocho Rios, Jamaica
(876) 432-1177
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 79 Activities in Ocho Rios
Attraction details
New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“The way to go in Jamaica.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Marks tours is definitely the way to see Ocho Rios. This was our third cruise ship visit to Ocho Rios and our first truly wonderful experience in this port. Mark and his wonderful wife provide an exceptionally professional, knowledgeable, and tour of the area. We were a party of 8 ranging in age from 22 to 80 and all experienced the best shore excursion of our cruise. We took their tour to Dunns river falls climb and the White river tubing. They graciously customized our trip to visit local attractions including Marks fathers pottery shop "Lloyd's Studios." If you are looking for real one of a kind handmade island gifts (as well as incredibly priced) this is a must see. The took us to "Scotchies" for real local food which was excellent and very reasonably priced. If you go to Dunns River falls definitely have money in your pocket to tip a guide to have the best experience. The White River tubing experience is truly relaxing and our guides were exceptional. They sang and guided us all the way giving exceptionally extra personal attention to those in our party who needed it. This is a must do! Mark drops you off at the upstream starting point and is awaiting your return at the down stream location. Marks van is roomy, exceptionally clean and has excellent AC. All of your personal belongings are safe and attended to at all times in the van. Lastly, clean and comfortable restroom facilities were available at every stop along our trip. If you go to Ocho Rios - DEFINITELY - go with Marks Tours! You will not be disappointed.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    158
    4
    0
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
“Excellent tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

We scheduled a private local tour of ocho rios in the middle of May 2013. He was very knowledgeable about the history of Jamaica. He was very accommodating to all of our requests. He took us to the rural areas of ocho rios where we tried all the local fruits. After that, we went to Scotchies for lunch. Overall, it was an amazing experience and would highly rcommend Marks Tours for anyone going to Jamaica :)

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oley, PA
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Fantastic tour of Jamaica with Mark Morris!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

We scheduled a private tour in Mid April with Mark for our family of 5. We were in port one day off Freedom of the Seas. Mark was prompt and his air conditioned van was very comfortable. Mark is an exceptional tour guide! His English is excellent and he is very knowledgeable about Jamiaca's history and many other countries as well. We went to Dunns River Falls first, we put our water shoes on (Mark recommended to pack) and felt secure in leaving our belongings in the locked van with Mark. We chose to do the unescorted climb and skipped the lines, it was awesome! My 8 year old wanted to "go again"! After the falls, we went to White River tubing. We were the only ones on the very scenic river and our guide was fantastic! He had the whole family singing down river. We took a break were you had the opportunity to jump off a high platform into the river and photos of the family tubing were available for purchase. We had taken our own waterproof camera, so no need. Locals also sell their wares if you want to purchase. When we were done, Mark was waiting and had picked Jamaica's national fruit, ackee and had cut up a fresh mango for us to enjoy! Yum! Next we were off to Scotchies for lunch! Mark got us samples of the meats and we placed our order. The five of us ate an amazing lunch for about $30. We stopped at several sights along the way and discussed Jamaica's history and how the locals live in present day. Mark did a great job including the kids and making all of us feel like family. Overall, this tour was outstanding and we couldn't ask for a better guide. Mark went above and beyond and really seemed to enjoy himself as well. I won't hesitate to recommend his services ever. We hope to get back to Jamiaca soon and will definitely use Mark again!! Thanks Mark!!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Mark Morris Tours...No Better Tours in Jamaica!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

PLEASE STOP AND READ....If you are looking to have an amazing time in Jamaica and are looking for a company to take you on that great adventure, you need not look any further than Mark Morris Tours. I have used him twice over the past twelve months. He promptly met us at the port. He provided comfortable transportation in a VERY CLEAN, air conditioned van, was very knowledgeable about the Jamaican culture and even gave us a sample of some of the local fruits.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“exceed our expectation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

We had a private tour with Marks tour on April for Dunn's fall and tubing.
We had a wonderful time. We asked a lot of questions and got to know a lot about the lives of the local people. We passed a lot of people who linked hands to go up the fall. Scenery is beautiful and the experience is unique.
Tubing is fun and relaxing too, Away from the crowd. Again we were the only one in the river. Mark's wife took us to do shopping and had a jerk chicken lunch at a local place. It is different and good. About $7 for 1/2 chicken. We were dropped off at the small beach next to the ship terminal.
The beach is breathtaking with the ship as a back drop. $3 entrance fee.
Really enjoy it. Beautiful blue/turquoise water. Highlight of the trip!
Thank you Marks tour! I have not opened my Blue Mountain Coffee yet.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marks Tours also viewed

Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
 
Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
 

Been to Marks Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marks Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.