We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Tour Guide” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marks Tours

Marks Tours
Tower Isle, Ocho Rios, Jamaica
(876) 432-1177
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Amazing Tour Guide”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

This is my first ever review on Trip Advisor and I just had to because Mark Morris is AMAZING. He is one of the most passionate and knowledgeable person I ever met. He loves his country and he taught us so much about Jamaica. He was on time (if not even earlier) waiting for us and brought us to Dunn's Fall and White River to River Tube. After that, he even drove us around Ocho Rios showing us different parts of town and educating us on different things. He definitely went above and beyond our expectations. To top it all of, he even had the best rates beating out other places we had looked at. Thank you Mark for making this excursion as the highlight of our trip :)

PS: For those looking to climb the Dunn's Fall, you don't need to go on those guided tours. Mark brought us right to where you begin climbing and left us alone. I am by no means active at all so I was really scared just climbing with my fiance but it worked out great. All the guided tours I saw, the people were really rushed and they ddin't really get to experience and enjoy the falls. We took our time to just explore the waterfalls

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    182
    6
    0
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Indian Shores
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“If you go to Ocho Rios, make sure it is with Mark Morris”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

I booked Mark through the internet for 4 of us and was kind of skeptical about the tour, boy was I ever wrong. Mark met us on time and proceeded to make us feel welcome and at ease. He took us on the Ocho Rios Highlight tour which included Dunn's Fall, Fern Gully and shopping. One of us was required a wheel chair and he had no problem accommodating us. Mark's knowledge about his country was excellent, We probably gave him a rough time by all the questions we had and he was happy to answer them. We all enjoyed the tour and I would highly recommend him to anyone that plans on visiting Jamaica. Mark, I would like to thank you again for the wonderful time you showed us on your island.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake City, Florida, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Mark Morris Tours”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We were referred to Mark Morris from another guide who was unavailable during our stop in Falmouth, Jamaica in October, 2012. We had e- mailed back and forth with possible things to do and see as well as prices. You never know what kind of vehicle you will be in but his was clean with plenty of room, air and looked fairly new. His knowledge of Jamaica and its history was excellent as he was born in Jamaica. His English was perfect to the point that I asked him where he was educated with him advising Jamaica. The tour he provided was ecellent and reasonable. At the end of the tour, abourt 6 hours, I asked how much we owed and his response was exactly what we agreed upon. Even though he did not ask or hint for a tip, we gave him one for his exceptional service. Highly recommend.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moncton, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“An entertaining, informative and rewarding tour.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

We were on a 1-day cruise stop in Falmouth, Jamaica, and therefore had limited time to get through the major stops. I'd stumbled across Mark Morrison's Tours in my research for another vacation (Ochos Rios) several years ago, and we had liked the experience enough that we used him again in 2012. He was priced competitively against the Cruise's tours.

The website clearly listed the tour packages available. Mark personally answered my email questions and was responsive within a business day. He had followed up with both a text message and voicemail leading up to arrival to enthusiastically greet us at the Jamaica Tourism Bus-stop.

The Falmouth tour took us to a few viewpoints, then Dunn's River falls and the White River. As with many bus tours, we didn't get a lot of opportunities to step out of the air conditioned shuttle and take pictures on the viewpoints. Slight negative.

Dunn's, however, was excellent. Mark lead us through the entrance, dropped us off right at the start of the falls, and gave us smart tips to avoid the aggressive artisan market. We could store our gear securely in his shuttle bus.

Next stop was the White River, which he again dropped us off with the people that ran the inner tube tours. It was cold-water (cloudy day), but we all felt safe and were guided quite handily through the river, red-stripe beers in hand.

The tour finished with a stop at Scotchies for some real smoked chicken/pork. We had requested this via email ("Show us some great jamaican food, please"), but it was already on his itinerary. He got them to give us samples of the spicy pork, and advised what to order based on how many people were in our party. Try the Chicken, and perhaps the pork sausages too.

Mark himself is clearly the reason why we take the tour -- As a guide, he has excellent knowledge of Jamaica, can articulate it well, and speaks PERFECT English (you can ask him to whip out the Jamaican on demand), and sings on the bus. You got the sense he was a real humanitarian and champion for Jamaica as a growing nation that punches above it's weight on the international stage. His descriptions of the country mixed it's highlights (strong sports program, superb weather) with the various political and 'ground-level' issues that affected the population and it's future growth. We all came away saying that if he ran for Prime Minister, we'd vote for him. This being our second-time taking his tours, it felt like we were visiting an old friend.

Overall, a great experience, recommended to others.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Erie, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Mark's Tours is the Best way to see Jamaica”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

We have used Mark's Tours a few times and every time we have loved the tour. Mark is one of the best tour guides. He is very knowledgeable and imformative. His tours offer the best of all worlds with some sightseeing and some fun activities. If you are looking for a great way to spend the day and see Jamaica, Mark's Tours is the way to go.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marks Tours also viewed

Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
 
Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
 

Been to Marks Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marks Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.