We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best way to see Ocho Rios!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Traversejamaica Tours

Traversejamaica Tours
Ocho Rios, Jamaica
876-404-5548
Website
Improve this listing
Attraction details
Waterville, Ohio
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Best way to see Ocho Rios!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

We booked a private tour with TraverseJamaica for our cruise excursion in Ocho Rios. We were greeted at entrance to the port by Pamela, who instantly made us feel welcome! She took the time to find out exactly how we wanted to spend the day and what we would like to see. Our day included a stop at a waterfall for photos (not Dunns River, but another beautiful spot overlooking the port), a drive through beautiful green Ferngully, tubing on the White River, lunch at a jerk chicken restaurant (where Pamela helped us choose what to order and we were not disappointed!). We had a hands-on lesson on the local spices (allspice and nutmeg) as well as cocoa beans and lemongrass. By the time our tour ended, we all felt like we had made a new friend in Pamela, and she taught us a lot about Jamaica in a short time. We will definitely book another day with TraverseJamaica when we return, and we will ask for Pamela!

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    1
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toledo, Ohio
1 review
“Great visit to Jamaica!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

On a recent cruise, our group of 5 spent the day touring Ocho Rios with Pamela B. from Traverse Jamaica. We couldn't have asked for a more educated, trust-worthy, and hospitable guide! Pamela greeted us at the pier with warm, friendly smiles and hugs - she asked us how she could make our day in Jamaica enjoyable. We explained our preferences to her, and she customized everything from there. We toured the countryside, up the mountains into the Fern Gully, stopping for pictures and to sample the local spices and fruits of the island. We then went on a river tubing adventure, which was a blast. Pamela was with us every step of the way, and we never felt insecure. When approached by street vendors, Pamela placed herself between us and the vendor, turning them away unless we wanted to purchase souvenirs. Her knowledge and sense of humor made our day even more enjoyable. Towards the end of our tour, she took us to the Ocho Rios Jerk Centre for an authentic Jamaican jerk meal. She joined us for lunch, explaining more about the island and its food. Bottom line, from start to finish, this tour was outstanding. This was our first visit to Jamaica, and we were a bit apprehensive about this port of call due to travelers' reviews we'd read online, but thanks to Pamela at Traverse Jamaica, our experience was absolutely wonderful. Hopefully we will return in the future, and if so, we will certainly contact Traverse Jamaica for our transportation needs.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhode Island
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Traversejamaica Tours Great service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

Arranged to have my family picked up at Montego Bay airport and taken to RIU in Ocho's Rios. They were there waiting for us upon our arrival and at our hotel at 6:30am a week later to take us back to the airport. $100 each way was money well spent! Would definitely refer them to anyone interested in this service.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
1 review
“A very informative, scenic trip to Bob Marley's home and burial place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

We had a terrific time with Lascells as our guide on the way to and from Bob Marley's birth and rest place. When we got into the Ocho Rios port, TraverseJamaica was waiting for us and ready to pick us up. Lascells, our tour guide, gave us a very informative trip up and down the mountain as he pointed out many fruit-bearing trees and showed us spice plants as well. The scenery was gorgeous in this jungle/rainforest area up the mountain. Lascells took very good care of us as he drove carefully on the winding road. He was very protective of us and very kind throughout the entire journey. He brought us to Scotchie's for jerked chicken, where we ate next to giant habiscus flowers in a uniquely beautiful setting. We were able to see a lot of Jamaica on this tour as we drove near Fern Gully, did some shopping, went on the Bob Marley tour, learned about some fruits of Jamaica, stopped at a waterfall, and ate at Scotchie's. We made it back in plenty of time to get back on the ship after the tour, and throughout the tour were relaxed knowing that Lascells would get us there in time. My 2 companions and I thought our stop in Jamaica was one of the best days on our cruise. We told other people about our day when we got back to the cruise ship, and they wished they had gone on a smaller more intimate tour like we had done. We had a great experience with Traversejamaica! If I go to Jamaica again on a cruise ship or for a week's stay, I will definitely book a tour with them again.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greer, South Carolina
1 review
“Great experience!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2011

Overall I can say that me and my friends had a great time. We enjoy the personalized service and the great attitude from Traverse Jamaica Staff. We set a tour to go to Bob Marleys and Dunns falls, including lunch and beverages, and that was exactly what we got when we arrived there. Thanks for everything and if I comeback to Jamaica I'm sure I'll be looking for you guys again.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Traversejamaica Tours also viewed

Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
 
Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
 

Been to Traversejamaica Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Traversejamaica Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.