We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place is amazing!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort & Spa to your Saves list
The Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Mammee Bay | PO Box 858, Ocho Rios, Jamaica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
EXTRA 10% OFF
Ranked #7 of 41 Hotels in Ocho Rios
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“This place is amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

The Jewel Dunn's River was awesome. Staff was friendly, helpful & always at your service. Located just outside of "town", but close to most excursions. The beach was clean, and steps from the pools. Food & drinks are amazing too! Overall perfect time can't wait to return

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daine G, Guest Relations Manager at The Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are happy to know you had a good time with us. Thank you for your feedback and we hope you come back soon.

Regards,
Tara Wilson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,610 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,255
    967
    267
    89
    32
See reviews for
200
2,604
48
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,422)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sicklerville, New Jersey, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

The only thing that keeps this review from being flawless is the bed and the bathroom in the room. Everything else was beyond our expectations. I've never experienced this level of catering and pampering in my life. However, the handmade bed frame creaked and moved during use and we thought it was going to break. The mattress was average as well. With so much opulence around me, I expected a much better quality of mattress.
As far as the bathroom was concerned, it was very small with the toilet right up against the toilet paper holders on one side and less than a foot of space before the tub on the other. You could tell by the movement of the toilet that the bolts that anchor the toilet down were either loosened or had snapped. That makes sense considering the way you had to turn to get to the toilet paper and to wipe. The constant torque on the bowel from people turning probably wore the bolts out.
Nonetheless, everything else was so over the top that the above mentioned things were negligeable. We enjoyed a once in a lifetime expereince in an amazing and truly all inclusive resort.

Room Tip: If you can get a room close to the lobby, you can catch the free wifi signal from the lobby while in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daine G, Guest Relations Manager at The Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Chester,

Thank you for your review. We're happy that the small things didn't hamper your vacation too much and that you still enjoyed your experience at our property.

We hope we get the chance to host you again.

Regards,
Tara Wilson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We went Sept 17th- 21st. Our 29th birthday was AMAZING!!!! The rooms was wonderful and the staff was GREAT!!! Morris the bartender makes the BEST drinks. Gregory was a wonderful pool side staff. Rudy was so helpful, pleasant, and AMAZING.. Kevin the photographer was GREAT! Kurt the omelet man was FREAKING AWESOME! LOL.. the food was great. The Mayor and Happy Feet are my favorites!! They kept us laughing all day long.!! Peggy at the Coral Cafe was always had our table ready!! I could name so many people that made our experience AWESOME! The rooms were wonderful!! We could walk right out the front door and the beach was right there... We will be back!!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daine G, Guest Relations Manager at The Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for such a positive review. We are happy to know that you enjoyed your time with us that much and that you know you are coming back.

Regards,
Tara Wilson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

The resort staff are outstanding, welcoming, and attentive. They went out of there way to make out stay pleasant and very comfortable. We are going back soon. Making travel arrangements now... This is going to be great

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daine G, Guest Relations Manager at The Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

Well that was quick! We are happy you enjoyed it so much that you are already planning the next trip. And yes, it's going to be great! (Again)

Regards,
Tara Wilson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I just returned from a week stay at jewel. We were on our honeymoon and it was a great experience. We actually stayed next door at RIU for a day before coming to Jewell. The difference was incredible. The Jewell wasn't overcrowded and doesn't allow kids. The food was amazing! We ate at the brick oven pizza joint and outdoor grill after a night of partying. Both are open late night. The restaurants are great. I particularly recommend Moonstone (Italian) and Jade (hibachi grill). We went on a number of excursions and the bus drivers were fun, friendly and prompt. We had such a great time we are already planning our next trip!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daine G, Guest Relations Manager at The Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about all you enjoyed while here with us. We can't wait to have you both back. The food, staff and views are waiting for you!

Regards,
Tara Wilson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaver, Pa.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Had a great couples vacation in September 2013...The BEST food I have ever had at an all-inclusive resort. But the people who work there made all the difference...they were great!
The Mayor...Sanya..Rudy..Basil on the beach..Garnet, the Best bartender...Damitri..Rachelle..I know I missed some people but EVERYONE was so nice...Thanks

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daine G, Guest Relations Manager at The Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and we hope you'll be back to the best in the near future.

Regards,
Tara Wilson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Acworth, Georgia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

We had a great trip to the Jewel Dunn's River in September. The serving staff, entertainers,
spa staff were all so friendly. Happy Feet and Floyd made every day more fun with their outgoing personalities. Celia, at the spa gave a wonderful massage. Capt Hook gave great fishing advice. We thought the resort was beautifully well kept, and the food and drinks were very good. If you are going to visit, watch for the Silver Birds Steel Drum band, some of the most talented musicians and dancers we have ever seen. We would go back in a minute.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daine G, Guest Relations Manager at The Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

Our staff is truly the cornerstone to the experience we provide. Thank you for mentioning those who made your stay extra special. They will certainly be commended for their service.

Regards,
Tara Wilson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort & Spa

Address: Mammee Bay | PO Box 858, Ocho Rios, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Ocho Rios
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Ocho Rios
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Ocho Rios
#4 Business Hotel in Ocho Rios
#5 Romantic Hotel in Ocho Rios
#6 Luxury Hotel in Ocho Rios
#6 Spa Hotel in Ocho Rios
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Ocho Rios
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Introducing The Jewel Dunn’s River, a new Jamaican beach resort located mere moments from one of Jamaica’s top attractions – spectacular Dunn’s River Falls. The Caribbean’s most romantic, adults-only Jamaican resort is the perfect spot for couples, honeymooners and idyllic weddings. Plus, our all-inclusive resort features the unique ‘Jewel Only’ exclusives you can only discover here. Imagine watching a movie from the comfort of a pool raft and dining by candlelight on a pristine beach – that’s just the beginning. Now visualize your first breath in the morning being filled with fresh ocean air from your room’s private balcony. Picture yourself sipping handmade rum punch served by a pool concierge. Anything is possible at The Jewel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Booking.com, BookIt.com, Priceline, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your The Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Jewel Dunn`s River Beach Resort And Spa
The Jewel Dunn`s River Beach Hotel Ocho Rios
The Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort & Spa Jamaica/Ocho Rios

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.