We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smaller, intimate resort” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added The Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
The Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Mammee Bay | PO Box 858, Ocho Rios, Jamaica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book by April 28 Save 40%
Ranked #6 of 39 hotels in Ocho Rios
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Smaller, intimate resort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

My husband & I thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. We had a room facing the mountains and spent many an evening hanging out in our balcony admiring the views.The movie nights by the pool were a nice touch, the hot tub was amazing (great way to unwind at the end of the day), my husband loved the "outdoor" gym (had no walls) and the lobby was a nice place to catch a break from the sun - very comfortable couches & a gentle breeze wafting through it in the afternoons. The beach is a very small stretch compared to some of the other places we've been to but it suited us just fine. The only downfall was the travel time to the resort which was over 2 hours from the airport - we ended up spending the whole day travelling as we left our home in Canada at 7am & got to the resort at 7 pm. Very friendly and helpful staff and a thumbs up for the food & drinks.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the mountains - good view and very peaceful
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daine G, Guest Relations Manager at The Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Dear Benita

Thank you for your review and delighted that you had a great time and although the drive was a distance away, you still enjoyed your stay at our resort. I am that you the scenery from your room was relaxing and that your stay wasa well spent one. Hope to host you again soon.

Regards

Daine Golaube
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,789 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,805
    705
    190
    68
    21
See reviews for
150
2055
33
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,080)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Thankyou for a good stay at The Jewels..the food in the coral restaurant was very good as were all the staff who were warm and very friendly ....as were the majority of the staff on the resort ...just feel that people on the front desk especially CLAYON need some training on politeness...

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daine G, Guest Relations Manager at The Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review, and my apologies for the staff at the front desk, not being friendly as the other staff. I happy that despite that, you still had a great time.

Regards

Daine Golaube
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Great experience overall. Found the service and people to be phenomenal - super friendly. The resort is somewhat small, we were there 4 days and anything longer than that would probably require excursions.

Jamaican people are great - I would encourage folks to get off the resort. We went and ate at 2 roadside shacks and were warmly welcomed.

Food is good - didn't have 1 item that was subpar. Good value for money, and nice private beach. Entertainers are fun, evening entertainment is kind of soft though. Typically a guest driven event like family feud, then live music. I'm 30 - music typically was more for the older crowds.


I would say this is a 3.5 star resort but the service pushes it to 4 star. Grounds are well kept. Shout out to The Mayor and Johnny, the catamaran guy!

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daine G, Guest Relations Manager at The Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for the feedback and it was our pleasure and hoping to host you again soon.

Regards

Daine Golaube
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Ridge, Tennessee
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Made first visit to Jewel Dunns River May 9-14. Have been to Jamaica many times and lately had been staying in Runaway Bay but the resort had changed hands and was now ready for a new experience and all adult is the only way for me to go. Love doing travel research and thought the Jewel was a good option and it fit the budget to booked and arranged for a private transfer from the airport with Turner Taxis and Tours and got wonderful service and Red Stripe Light to enjoy on the drive. The entrance to the resort is very beautiful and altho the resort is older the buildings did not appear worn and everything was clean. We were given the Emerald lanai building and the commode and shower were a tight fit but in no way destroyed my visit, the room was clean and more than adequate for my needs. The resort is compact so walking from place to place is no problem but he grounds are large enough so I could do my daily walk and work off the food and drinks. The grounds are so lovely and did a nature walk with the gardener who talked about all the plants and it was most interesting and this is done a few times each week. The beach is fine and closed at each end but was nice and all the chairs at the pool and beach have cushions on them which is a very nice extra. No wristbands and no towel cards to take care of and drink service around the pool and beach is a real nice service and they really do a good job of keeping your drink filled. Ate at the Italian restaurant and breakfast at the Platinum and the buffet. The buffet has a lot of Jamaican eats each day but also other items if you are not inclined to try the local food. One day at lunch the buffet had boneless chicken with a spicy Jamaican rum cream sauce and that sauce is OUT OF THIS WORLD. Please try it. Also ate at the pizza place and the lunch grill altho it is open until 7:00 AM so you can get something to eat late at night or very early in the morning. We rented a cabana on the beach for one day as they were doing a special and had the cabana from 8:30 to 5:30 and cooler of drinks, served lunch, and a concierge at our call. Took a hobie cat ride with Vidal which was a fun activity. Coffee in the room with small refrig with cokes, water, and fruit juice. Coffee is also available in the Emerald tree lounge early in the morning before the buffet opens. Evening entertainment is enjoyable and the highlight was the Silver Birds steel drum band. WOW, what a show and was the most amazing show I have ever seen, so much energy and I love steel drum music and I would come back to the Jewel just to hear this group, imho this is not to be missed. Saw a few weddings and honeymoon couples and was surprised that there were so many young adults, thought their kids would still be in school, but people my age group (60's). Housekeeping did a wonderful job and turned down the bed and got fresh towels every evening.
I received good value for my money and enjoyed my visit and do plan on a return visit and am impressed with the way the Jewel runs their resort.

Room Tip: Emerald lanai rooms do not have great views but are handy to all areas of the resort and suited my n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daine G, Guest Relations Manager at The Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you and it was our pleasure and delighted that your frst visit to us, was an enjoyable and well spent one. Hope to see you again soon.

Regards

Daine Golaube
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

We recently spent a long weekend at this resort after getting a killer deal out of Charlotte. Cheap Caribbean was the company offering the deal and I have to admit, they did a great job. I was expecting some part of the package to “cheap” but the room we got was mid-level in the sapphire tower. In general the room was fine, there were some parts that were rough around the edges, paint could’ve used a fresh coat, water pressure a little inconsistent, one of the bedposts barely nailed in (love to know what happened there), but all in all, a clean room where everything functioned adequately. The food was good to very good. There are three “restaurants” on site. An italian place called Moonstone. Your standard italian fare with a nice antipasti bar. Platinum serves caribbean cuisine and had a varied menu with several good option. Jade is a Benihana knockoff that is pretty entertaining. The Coral Café is the standard buffet you find at these resorts. I thought this food was actually above average, with a good omelet station for breakfast and a panini station at lunch. All of the restaurants have additional cost wines available if you don’t like the “house” choices. There are several bars and they all serve the same lineup of local beer, frozen daiquiris, and any kind of mixed drink you can think up. Interestingly, top shelf liquor is also free, though the selection is limited. There was one main pool in the middle of the complex and a smaller pool off to one side. Both pools have swim-up bars if that’s your thing. Plenty of lounge chairs, fewer umbrellas (bring good sunscreen, you will burn here), and pool floats. It seemed like the resort wasn’t very full while we were there. I imagine it could be a little more crowded in high season. The beach was clean with plenty of chairs available. There are a couple of canopies on the beach but those get taken fairly quickly. You can also rent a private cabana for a day if you’re so inclined. You get your own “butler” to take care of mostly any need you might have during the day. Non-motorized water sports are free (hobie cats, kayaks) but they won’t let you take out the sailboats unless they think you know what you’re doing. There are several day tours available. One favorite is the Dunn’s River Falls tour, where you get to walk up the falls. Pretty cool and worth the price.
All in all, I would definitely go back. This resort is a good size, not to big/small. There are no children. The food/alcohol is all adequate and, above all, the staff is all friendly and willing to make your stay a better one.

Room Tip: There are 3 "levels" of room. The Lanai Rooms (Emerald) looked just fine, they just don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daine G, Guest Relations Manager at The Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Dear Curtis

Thank you for your review and for taking the time, to share your experience, we appreciate it and will use it to continue to improve our product. Thanks again.

Regards

Daine Golaube
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon, Illinois
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

My husband and I spent an early 25th wedding anniversary at the Jewel. We had never been to Jamaica before and could not have been happier with our decision!! We had a Sapphire Diamond room, ocean view!! Try to get top floor. Rooms ready at 3pm, so we spent an hour looking around and eating! Food: Awesome!! Never went hungry. The pizza is to die for!! Activities: You must get Stephen to take you out on the catamaran. Go and listen to the afternoon trivia games. Watch the steel drum band. Do the beach party. You have to look at the daily activities and see what there is. Or.....you can solely be a bum and relax and no one will say a word!! Do go on a party boat to Dunns River. I think our room was cleaned and checked at least 3 times a day - so clean!! Always drinks in the frig. The layout of the resort is awesome - plenty of breeze. The entertainment crew - very impressive. Can't say enough about their energy and how they get to know their guests. Always knew our names!!!! No worries here. Such a relaxed atmosphere. We will be back, hopefully soon!!!

Room Tip: Go ocean view, Sapphire!!!!!! Higher floor to have good view over tree tops!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daine G, Guest Relations Manager at The Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review and delighted that you had a fantastic time and throughly enjoyed your vaction, it was our pleasure, and hoping to host you again soon.

Regards

Daine Golaube
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Great resort, fab sandy beach, great pool areas, mature lush gardens, comfortable rooms (although could do with an ipod docking staion), great food and very friendly staff. We stayed four nights and wish we had stayed longer - hated leaving.

We have stayed in quite a few hotels in Jamaica and would say that this one makes you feel welcome and makes you feel that you are in Jamaica. Great location as you can go to Dunn's River falls (a must) and bobsled ride down Mystic Mountain (another must do).

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daine G, Guest Relations Manager at The Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you and it was our pleasure, and happy that you felt that warmth of our hospitatlity and Jamaican feeling. Hoping to host you again soon.

Regards

Daine Golaube
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort & Spa

Also Known As:
The Jewel Dunn`s River Beach Hotel Ocho Rios
The Jewel Dunn`s River Beach Hotel
The Jewel Dunn`s River Beach Resort And Spa
The Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort & Spa Jamaica/Ocho Rios
Address: Mammee Bay | PO Box 858, Ocho Rios, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Ocho Rios
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Ocho Rios
#3 Business Hotel in Ocho Rios
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Ocho Rios
#6 Luxury Hotel in Ocho Rios
#6 Romantic Hotel in Ocho Rios
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Ocho Rios
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Introducing The Jewel Dunn’s River, a new Jamaican beach resort located mere moments from one of Jamaica’s top attractions – spectacular Dunn’s River Falls. The Caribbean’s most romantic, adults-only Jamaican resort is the perfect spot for couples, honeymooners and idyllic weddings. Plus, our all-inclusive resort features the unique ‘Jewel Only’ exclusives you can only discover here. Imagine watching a movie from the comfort of a pool raft and dining by candlelight on a pristine beach – that’s just the beginning. Now visualize your first breath in the morning being filled with fresh ocean air from your room’s private balcony. Picture yourself sipping handmade rum punch served by a pool concierge. Anything is possible at The Jewel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Amex, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Orbitz, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Venere, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Otel and Agoda so you can book your The Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.