We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent staff!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort & Spa to your Saves list
The Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Mammee Bay | PO Box 858, Ocho Rios, Jamaica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
EXTRA 10% OFF
Ranked #7 of 41 Hotels in Ocho Rios
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Kawartha Lakes, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent staff!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

We stayed at the Jewel Dunns River Jan 26th to Feb 2nd 2013 and had a great time! The staff at this resort were phenomenal! They went above and beyond! They were always friendly and courteous. We got to know a few bartenders very well and were treated better than any other resort we've been to.
The rooms were a good size and the king size bed was amazing. The only downfall was the size of the bathroom. The shower and tub seemed to be shoved together into a small closet. There was also only a single sink which made getting ready a bit of a hassle.
Other than the size of the bathroom, the resort was great. Food was good, drinks were great and the weather was nice. There was one day of rain and it seemed as though everyone at the resort wandered around like they were lost. As soon as the rain cleared up, everything was great again.
The last night we were at the resort, there was a dinner on the pier. This was BEAUTIFUL! The resort obviously is dedicated to customer satisfaction.

Thanks again for a great vacation!

Room Tip: Bathrooms are a bit small
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daine G, Guest Relations Manager at The Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Dear Guest

We thank you for staying with us and it was our pleasuret o have hosted you and thanks for taking the time, for recognizing the staff as they madeyour experience a memorable one. Thanks again and see you soon in the future.

Regards

Daine Golaube
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,606 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,253
    965
    267
    89
    32
See reviews for
200
2,600
48
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,419)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

This is my third time visiting the Jewel

Staff are the highlight of the hotel ..... on every occassion they want to help.

In terms of food - the lunch time grill is perfect, outside pizza in the bric oven are very tasty breakfast brunch has loads of variety and the Japanese is not only a great show but also superb food.

Free internet in the lobby cant be argued with.

In terms of entertainment - you wil not be bored with so many things to do - even laser at their sister hotel

The best part of the resort is the beech ... beautiful sand etc we all loved it.

Overall, when I am coming for vacation, I look for a nice beech, good place, helpful staff and a feeling of relaxation after the vacation - it achieved all of this.

Overall it achieved all I wanted / expected - no issues recommending

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daine G, Guest Relations Manager at The Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Dear Laura

Thank you for staying with us and as always it was our pleasure to welcome you home to family. See you again soon.

Regards

Daine Golaube
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, MN
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

We just returned last night from sunny Jamaica. We went to the Jewel with another couple for 4 nights. It took a good 1.5 hours by bus to get there, exposing you to the poverty of Jamaica. That was hard to see especially knowing that we were headed to a nice resort. The resort offered great service. The beach was perfect for basking in the sun, but if you want to take a long walk or run on the beach, this won't work for you (it is very short). We stayed in an Emerald Lanai room on the second floor. The rooms were very dark and small with a large King bed. The bathroom as others commented, was very small. It did the trick but I would prefer a nice shower that is larger than your standard tub. There was not a mini-bar in the room, but the resort had enough alcohol at all their bars! The drinks were good and strong. The bartenders were so friendly. One of our friends celebrated her b-day there and the staff went out of their way to go above and beyond making her feel special. The food was nothing special except for the pizza. The fire-grilled pizza was very tasty. We did enjoy a trip set up through the hotel to the falls. It was great - I would suggest you avoid cruise ship days. We went on a quiet day and felt like we were really attended to. The resort also offered a chip and put. Nothing fancy, but fun to get out and swing a club in the middle of the winter. The gym was small - only three treadmills, two bikes and one elliptical with weight machines.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daine G, Guest Relations Manager at The Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear Guest

Thanks for your review and for taking the time to gives us your feedback, and appreciate you doing so. I am happy that your friend felt special on her birthday and that the staff was very service oriented. Thanks again and hope to host you again soon.

Regards

Daine Golaube
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

My husband and I just returned from the Jewel and we are so happy that we decided to stay with them. All of the staff were so amazing and, unlike other resorts, seemed genuinely happy to be working there. We were greeted everywhere by beautiful Jamaican smiles. The staff couldn't do enough to keep us happy. We would like to thank the Mayor, Happy Feet, Carl, "the Dwayne's...including Dwaine", Kat, Carlton, Sheldon, Sassy, Peggy, Cornell, and the others that I'm sorry to not mention for making our holiday something to remember. We will be back again because we miss you already!

Food was great, service was fantastic, the rooms were nice and well stocked. Room service came promptly. We did the beach rendezvous which is well worth the extra money, if you're romantically inclined--a cabana on the beach with breakfast served on the beach and butler service all day. The end of the day was topped off with a beautiful candlelit dinner in the gazebo above the falls with our own specialized menus and wonderful flower decorations done just for us by the gardener. YOU.MUST.GO.

Room Tip: If you have a diamond concierge room, make sure to ask for the side of the building you want. You c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daine G, Guest Relations Manager at The Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review and delighted that you had a great time, and enjoyed all that the resort had to offer. The staff, swervice, food and the resort itself. We thank you once again and looking forward to hosting you once more.

Regards

Daine Golaube
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carleton Place, Ontario, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

We had a group of 6 go to the Jewel for a week. The resort was an adult only place with I believe had under 300 rooms. We had great weather and the temperature 28 -30 everyday. The resort did not seem overcrowded, had lots of lounge chairs on the beach. It had 2 pools and hot tubs beside the pools and of course swimup bars at each. We played volleyball twice everyday on the beach. The beach was clean and the staff were always cleaning and making the place look good. The rooms were very nicely decorated and of course cleaned everyday. The staff were very pleasant and more than happy to help you out with anything you may have needed. The restaurants food was great , however the service was a little slow but you are there to relax and just go with the flow. There are all kinds of activities during the day for you to participate in or you just do your own thing and evening shows and a disco that will go all night. We had a great time and looking to go again next year and stay for 2 weeks.

Room Tip: If you like a great view, book oceanview room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daine G, Guest Relations Manager at The Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear Sandy M

Thank you for your review and happy that you had a great time, and enjoyed our resort. It was our pleasure and looking forward to hosting you again soon.

Regards

Daine Golaube
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

My sister and I stayed here in January to celebrate my birthday. The staff is wonderful and really went above and beyond to make our trip enjoyable. From the entertainment staff, to the lifeguards, the bartenders, the waiters in the restaurants and around the pools, and the piano bar player (Dennis!)...everyone was great, and knew our names!! From the moment we got off the shuttle at the hotel, we were pampered. The room was very nice and clean also. We can't wait to go back to Jamaica and if we go back to Ochos Rios, we will definitely stay at the Jewel again! Thank you so much for a great first trip to Jamaica!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daine G, Guest Relations Manager at The Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear Stephanie

Thank you for your review and delighted that you had a great time, and that you enjoyed all that we had to offer, it was our pleasure and can't wait to host you again.

Regards

Daine Golaube
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eureka, ill
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We just got back last night. In a word GO. We spent a week at the resort and had a very nice time. The resort is not a large one so if you want mobs of people do not go. We did not run into any vacationers that were rude every one was having a fun time. The staff was very helpful contunually asking no problem mon? The comments have been made about the spa staff continually asking ie. bugging the guests. They were around but they were never pushy to us we just politly ignorned them.
The restuarants on the property were open from 7:30am till 7:00 am the next morning. If you want bars they are open simular hours. The food was very good, 5star maybe not, but every bit as good or better than the average person cooks at home. We ate at all of them and never had a bad meal while there. On one night they have a BBQ on the beach great selection of food and what an atmosphere, on the beach?
The entertainment crew- wow do they have energy. There were activities going on all day long. They start early i think it was 6:30 till one night we heard them still going at 12:00 am. But for those of us who are more laid back we did not get into any of the activities but that was not a problem. There was always some where quiet to go.
The grounds were unbelievabley well maintained. We heard the grounds crew going before we got up and they were cleaning most of the day. The beach is short for those who like to walk guessing 500-1000 feet long, but the grounds have many walking paths thru the gardens. The pools were cool as well as the ocean water this time of the year. They were very well maintained. The lifegaurds and staff continually walked around straightening up cleaning up helping us anyway needed. No problem mon. The fruit cabobs in the afternoon were great. There are two pools on with the entertainment crew working and a quiet pool a little farther back. Both have plenty of chairs and umbrellas for all to use.
From what we can tell there are a big variet of rooms available to meet your needs. From multi floor motel type rooms to the two floor garden type rooms. We had a ground floor Emerald Lani this room was in the gardens and walked right out to the center of the resort. The building we were in we could walk right to the restaurants, the pool, the spa, the workout area. There were many times at the pool we could be in our room and back to the pool before most could be inside the resort. These rooms are off to the side of the resort so everone is not walking past the front of the rooms. There have been many comments made about the size of the bathrooms in the Emerald Lani. So I measured ours it was one room two sinks, shower with a jaqusi tub and stool. The open floor was 8' by 10' plus the tub area. We by no means thought it was small.
This an adults only resort so there are only mature individuals there. So would highly recommened this resort. If there is a down side the ride from the airport is alittle long. Going to the resort it took about 2 hours going back about 1.5 hours, depends on how many stops along the way. The transfers are by a JTL tour group. The roads are in good condition the driver told us the queen of England paid to have part of them upgraded. The entire road to Ochos Rio has been updated in the last 10 years so it really is in good condition.

Room Tip: We wanted a ground floor room in the Emerald Lani for convienence getting in and out of the room. So...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daine G, Guest Relations Manager at The Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank for you staying with us and it was our pleasure to have hosted you. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and all that we had to offer, from the time you arrive, through out and on departure. I am happy the food, service and staff was the main factor in making your vacation a memorable one.

Thanks again and hope to you soon.

Regards

Daine Golaube
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort & Spa

Address: Mammee Bay | PO Box 858, Ocho Rios, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Ocho Rios
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Ocho Rios
#4 Business Hotel in Ocho Rios
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Ocho Rios
#5 Romantic Hotel in Ocho Rios
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Ocho Rios
#6 Spa Hotel in Ocho Rios
#6 Luxury Hotel in Ocho Rios
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Introducing The Jewel Dunn’s River, a new Jamaican beach resort located mere moments from one of Jamaica’s top attractions – spectacular Dunn’s River Falls. The Caribbean’s most romantic, adults-only Jamaican resort is the perfect spot for couples, honeymooners and idyllic weddings. Plus, our all-inclusive resort features the unique ‘Jewel Only’ exclusives you can only discover here. Imagine watching a movie from the comfort of a pool raft and dining by candlelight on a pristine beach – that’s just the beginning. Now visualize your first breath in the morning being filled with fresh ocean air from your room’s private balcony. Picture yourself sipping handmade rum punch served by a pool concierge. Anything is possible at The Jewel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Booking.com, BookIt.com, Priceline, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your The Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Jewel Dunn`s River Beach Resort And Spa
The Jewel Dunn`s River Beach Hotel Ocho Rios
The Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort & Spa Jamaica/Ocho Rios

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.