I've been wanting to go to the Jewel ever since I heard about it's Jewel exclusives, adults-only resort, amazing staff, and luxurious vacation for an affordable price so I finally booked a trip with my bf when I found a good deal. I like to be prepare for my vacation so I always do research on the resort so I know what to expect and get the most out of my vacation - Jewel resort was relaxing and not too crowded where it can be annoying when you're just trying to relax and the staff was nice overall. Here are the details for what I enjoyed and what I found could have been better:
It was nice to have airport transfer included in the package since the resort was so far away so we didn't have to pay extra but the bus ride there was not pleasant at all. Checking in with Jamaica Tours at the airport was easy, we had to wait 20 minutes before the bus departed because the bus was still empty which I can understand but what annoyed me was that the bus made so many hotel stops before the Jewel that it ended up taking over 2.5 hours to get to the resort. We were told that it would take 1.5 hours but instead we were on the bus for close to 3 hours which wasted half of my day already. We ended up spending 15 minutes at each hotel instead of a quick 5 minutes drop off - I think the bus driver should stick to a schedule so one passenger doesn't delay the rest of the bus. Not to mention that our departure pick up time was at 9:20am when our flight wasn't until 2:17pm in the afternoon, I thought I would still have the morning to relax at the beach but I couldn't do anything on the last day because the pick up was so early - all because they had to pick up other passengers at other hotels. I think Jewel should offer airport transfers that are exclusive to Jewel guests - its such a waste of time that my 5 day vacation was really only 3 days.
We booked the basic premier guest room but we ended up with a room in the Emerald Lanai buildings which was nice. The lanai rooms are definitely more convenient since you dont need to take an elevator and is close to most of the facilities. Everything in the room was comfortable except for the super tiny bathroom. I already knew it was going to be small based on reading other reviews but I didn't think it was THAT small where the you can't even close the door after walking in. That was not comfortable at all, they either expand the bathrooms or change it to a sliding door so it takes up less space. Another issue was with the bed comforter, there was obvious stains on it but housekeeping never changed it for us, they just re-fold it to hide the stains.
Food and Drinks:
We were only able to enjoy breakfast at Coral Cafe because Platinum was always closed for breakfast. A little disappointed in that because we wanted to try everything possible. Buffet breakfast and lunch at Coral Cafe was good but nothing too special.The jerk chicken/pork wraps at Aquamarina were really tasty and nicely portioned so that it can be a mid-day snack. The pizzas were very fresh and good for snack as well. For dinner - Moonstone was average, pasta dishes were very dry and my seafood dish only came with 3 tiny mussels and 3 super tiny clams but the outdoor seating was nice and the waitress was friendly. Jade Samurai was ok - it was a fun experience with the chef giving us riddles to solve and i remember the beef and shrimp being really good but the rest was alright. They use same sauce in everything and did not really taste like Japanese food, but overall it was fun interacting with the chef and other guests at the table. Dinner under the stars at the pier was very good - it was a set 6-course meal for everyone but there was a violinist who played very good music and it was nice interacting with other guests. For the last night, I had planned to have dinner at the Platinum and I even called front desk to make sure they were going to be open on Saturday, but when we received the itinerary for Saturday and found out they were going to be closed, I was super disappointed. It ruined my plan to try every restaurant and was upsetting to find out that their staff gave me wrong information - we spoke to concierge and they offered us a deal where they will let us order from the Platinum menu but we would have to eat the food at Coral Cafe or in our room. it was better than nothing but not the same since I coudn't enjoy the Plantinum atmosphere. Nevertheless, the food was delicious and I'm glad I got to try it. Lastly, the drinks were always soooo strong, theyre definitely not cheap with alcohol but to be honest most of their drinks taste the same since they use the same alcohol in everything. I was disappointed that they couldn't make me any mango flavored drink - you would go to Jamaica thinking they are known for fruits but they didn't have any mango or other fruit flavors.. A few drinks that were recommended by staff/guests were Bob Marley, Hurricane #5 and 7-11 which were all very strong and not too tasty lol.
Staff and Service:
Most of the staff were friendly and nice (shout out to Garnet who was really nice to talk to), they would greet you and smile when they see you with the exception of a few who were kind of rude. The omelet guy at Coral Cafe was not friendly at all, when we ask if this is where we order omelets he gaves us a rude stare and just noded and when I asked him to name the toppings he didn't answer us. Another unfriendly staff was the bartender at sunken treasure swim up bar - he never smiles or greets us, when we ask for recommendations he doesn't give us any and when we ordered 2 drinks, he only made us 1. One of the staff members decided to give me and my bf nicknames for the duration of our vacation which we didnt really mind at first but then found a it a little offensive when I kept hearing that multiple times throughout the day. He called me Chun Li and my bf Blackie Chan, hes not even Chinese to start with so for him to assume that he's related to Jackie Chan because he looks Asian was sort of rude. We I confronted him saying hes not even Chinese and I look nothing like Chun Li, he says youre on vacation, whatever name I give you you stick with it, the way he responded was pretty rude too. Yeah Im on vacation and if I dont like being called names I dont like then you dont call it. My bf really like the security staff on the beach who makes sure outside vendors and random people cannot bother their guests, he would follow them whereever they go to make sure they do not interfere with the relaxing atmosphere of the beach. One big disappoint was that the resort did not fulfill all the Jewel Exclusives that they advertised to offer - there was no pool concierge and no departure gift. Why would you advertise that on your website and make that a selling point to attract guests when you don't even offer those services - that's false advertising.
We booked excursions through the Excursion desk at the resort - we did the Dunn's River Falls and the Chukka Zipline/Horseback Ride and Swim combo tour. Booking was simple and the staff was helpful. Both tours were very fun and exciting!
I think the Jewel gives you a home feeling since it is small and you get to see the same staffs and guests everyday and interact with them which was nice. The guests are mostly couples and i have to say that most of them are older couples, we were like the only young couple in our low-mid 20s. It is definitely not luxurious or 5 stars though so if you're looking for a luxury resort this is not it.
If you prefer to be close to everything and being able to go back to your room easily to grab someth...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Report response as inappropriate
Thank you for your review, and must apologise for the issues raised in the review. I have sent you a PM, and would love to speak with you more in details about your review. There are areas of concerns that I would love to clarify. These areas are the Platinum for breakfast that you mention was closed, however there is a sign that mention that the menu is offered at the Coral Cafe, the pool concierge you stated was non- existent, they are on the pool deck and beach from 9am - 5pm daily serving drinks, fruits kebabs and cold towels, the farewell gift, which is the rock candy is given on your final night at turn down. Awaiting your response.
Guest Services Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.