We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was amazing and we will definitely be back!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort & Spa to your Saves list
The Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Mammee Bay | PO Box 858, Ocho Rios, Jamaica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
EXTRA 10% OFF
Ranked #6 of 40 Hotels in Ocho Rios
Green Bay, Wisconsin
1 review
“It was amazing and we will definitely be back!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011

We stayed at The Jewel for our honeymoon. It was the most amazing trip I've EVER taken! The resort was beautiful, the sights were great and the people we met were wonderful! This trip by far exceeded any expectations we had! Thank you all for an amazing adventure and for all the great memories!

Room Tip: Our ocean front room was amazing!! Beautifu view every morning and wonderful sunsets!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JOHN M, Hotel Manager at The Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Good day,

Due to glitches in our computer system your comments were not seen or responded to previously. The team at The Jewel Dunn’s River wish to apologize for this and want to express our appreciation for your feedback.

Please be assured that we have now corrected the computer glitch and thank you for your comments. We certainly appreciate that you took the time to give us you your feedback as we continue to ensure our service delivery and product exceed your expectations.

We look forward to the opportunity to host you again at our resort.

John M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,306 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,097
    863
    232
    84
    30
See reviews for
176
2,407
39
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,311)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011

we stayed in the diamond building and it was wonderful we especially like the bar in room,the rooms were very spacious and clean...the housekeeping was above expectations..the restaurants were so great the food was fresh and well presented ..the waiters and waitresses were beyond accomidating ..the service at the beach was great the waiters even brought your drinks in the beach for you ..no glass was left empty without another one waiting for you ..it was certainly their mission to make our vacation a great one and to us their mission was met..the entertainment every night was better than the night before .....we cannot wait for our next visit to the jewell ...when they say no problem mon ....they mean it.......

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol B, Manager at The Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Good day, due to glitches in our computer system your comments were not seen or responded to previously. The team at The Jewel Dunn’s River wish to apologize for this and want to express our appreciation for your feedback. Please be assured that we have now corrected the computer glitch and thank you for your comments. We certainly appreciate that you took the time to give us you your feedback as we continue to ensure our service delivery and product exceed your expectations. We look forward to the opportunity to host you again at our resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011

We have just returned from a 7 day vacation forever to remember. To start out, we hired a private driver for our to and from airport -resort transportation. Got the name from Trip
Advisor( Thank-you). His name is Andrew Moodie ( known as "Moodie"). Very punctual, professional, friendly and great sense of humor.Oh, did I mentioned his spotless minivan?Could have used the shuttle that was included in our package, but everybody commented on how long it took to get to the resort.
Arrived at the hotel late in the afternoon, hot and sweaty ( 86% humidity). For the back East folks, maybe not a big deal, but for westerners like us big deal. Check in process, smooth, and fast.We were seated,received our"gem of the day" greeting drinks and the most wonderful wet,cold wash cloth-a true god's sent.Everyone very friendly, smiling and trully happy to meet you.Also very polite and respectful. We asked for a ocean view room and we received it. A+ for Concierge ( Monique was so adorable). The room was gorgeous,clean and nicely decorated, situated on the 4th floor in the Saphire Bldg. Very spacious, nice layout, balcony, walk in closet, working safe, refrigerator fully supplied with an array of non-alcoholic soft drinks( replenished daily).It was heaven to come into a cooled room, an have a cold drink waiting for you, after a day out in the sun.
Room was kept immaculate, sheets and towels changed daily, turn down every night ( very nice feeling). We were so pampered, almost felt guilty. A+ for Housekeeping as well.
The service was flawless and personalized. The waiters and waitresses knew us, knew what we liked, knew our routine,were very attentive to us. Our favorites: Shawn, Tamar,Shelly Ann, Andrea ( the hostess at Coral Cafe), Delon. At the beach bar, Garnet, Linette. Kudos to Kelso,Sheldon who were working that beach tirelesly making sure we had everything we needed. Big A+ for the Food and Service Dept also. Many thanks to the Lifeguard team ( Romeo and the Boys). They were always there, ready and willing to do their job and interact with the guests. They also covered the towel stand. By the way, never a shortage of fresh towels, and no set limit per person. I decided that their Laundry Service must be going full speed and nonstop 24/7. The Security personel was always alert, wether on the beach, on the resort grounds, at the entrance gate, or elsewere on the property. We never felt safer in our entire life. They do not make you feel like you are watched or guarded. Very polite. As with the restaurant ( food personel), the security officers are being rotated through different areas almost every shift.
We were very impressed with the 2 divers that ran the Dive Shop. It is a must do. You can do scuba diving and snorkeling through them. It is so worth it. Make sure you do it at least 12 hrs before you fly back home. It takes quite a while for your body to readjust. The Hobbie Cat sailing, is another "do not miss"'. You get to explore the waters and the coast line over a few miles. It is a great experience. The ocean water is warm,and calm. There are never high waves reaching the shore courtesy of a nicely placed natural wall of coral a few hundred feet from the beach which helps to break the waves.( Thank-you Mother Nature).! The pool water is also warm. As far as activities, I don't know where to start.Let's just say, that it is as busy as you want it to be ( if your energy holds up), or is as relaxing/lazy as you want it to be. You can choose to lounge on the beach, in the sun or shade, or the second beach( the quiet one), read a book, listen to music or do whatever you want to do in quiet. Or, you can hang out by the "busy pool" where there are activities all day long non stop, Morning starts with aquatic aerobics, continues with tons of games, competitions, music, dance lessons. Twice a week you can float in the pool or relax by the side while watching a movie on a big screen, while enjoying popcorn or hot dogs provided right there next to you. At night, there is plenty to do: nice dinner at any one of the restaurants, or at the grill ( which BTW, is open 24 hrs),or order your own personal pizza made the way you want it, at the Jester oven pizza place and eat it there outside. Then, go to the "Bling'-the disco/club where every night there is plenty to do and plenty to see.( talent shows, kariokee nights, fashion show, not to mention actual shows with local bands( fenomenal artists).Some of them known all over the world. Those experiences are going to stay with you. One little detail: We are not exactly youngsters. We are approaching 60's ( there I said it), and we couldn't wait every night to see what else is going on at the "Bling',and we were never dissappointed. All the day activities and night entertainement are being put together and brilliantly presented by Ricardo Foremen and his crew of artists. You have to meet cute Sasha,the adorable Danysia, The boneless rubberband athletic Floyd, The always on top of things,born leader Shawna, The always "ON" , Perpetuo MobileS.J ( short Jason), The funny, melow teddy bear T.J( tall Jason). Most nights the M.C, is Duran ( Minnie Me), hillarious little thing ( shortest one in the cast). This cast's energy and dedication is infectious. They go and go and go just like the Energizer Bunny. They will have breakfast with you in the morning, entertain you by the pool, eat lunch with you, back for more fun in the afternoon and then turn glamorous later at the 'Bling". Very polite and respectful young people.They work very hard but never complain.They are always happy, smiling and humming some song as they go about their work. You will see them help the waiters set up the tables and chairs for the beach party ( yeah, every Tuesday night-followed by a great show on the beach). They are also the ones that will stay late to help clear the beach and get it ready for next day. They are also involved in the setting up for the "dinner under the stars on the pier"( every Fri night). You don't have to look too hard to find them ( because they are everywhere) at the bonfire on the beach night ,where they roast marshmellows and make smores right along with you, and later follow you on the dance floor ( I mean the "sand floor").
Now, about a topic that it is very dear to me.:the people of Jamaica. Before we left for our vacation( first time in Jamaica), after reading almost 300 reviews on T.A, we were a little apprehensive about Jamaica ( mostly safety). But we went anyway. Nothing prepared us for what we were going to find and experience.Story short: We fell in love with the Jamaican people. Very friendly, very sincere,extremely honest ( on our first day, we lost our wallet with little cash on the beach,After we asked around, everybody started to look for it in the sand, under chairs, everywhere. It was very clear that they felt quite uneasy about it and felt bad for us. We gave up before they did-it was a small amt, anyway. A couple of hrs later, someone in the laundry area found it with the wet towels and brought it up to our room. The following day we went to tha waterfalls. on the way back trying to make sure we gathered our wet towels off the seats, we left our digital camera on another seat. By the time we realized that we didn't have the camera, the driver ( Gordon) was already on his way back in to drop it at the front desk.)Jamaicans work very hard and have a superb work ethic. Most of the workers from yhe resort live quite a distance away. Sometimes it takes them even 3 hrs at night to get home. Morning comes, they have to leave very early to be at work on time. Most of us wouldn't do it. But they do,and they do it without complaining. They are very proud people. Proud of their culture, their heritage and very proud of being who they are: Jamaicans, even if that means that most of them have to be poor. They all have the same options: work hard and make an honest living, or choose the wrong way-drugs way. Most of them choose the right way. They must be the most resillient people we have ever met. Although they strruggle and are hardship ridden their philosophy is:"IT IS WHAT IT IS, YEAH MON" This is what you will hear from any Jamaican you'll talk to. Originally we are from Europe, we know and everybody else knows that some nations( Germany, France just to name a few) are very cold,unaccepting of other nationalities), well Jamaicans are very eager to receive you with open arms and they are more than willing to share someting that is so sacred to them: their citizenship and their herritage. They invest you with the new title: JAMERICAN. I'm still yet to hear GERMAMERICANS or FRANCAMERICANS. l will leave you with this thought and let you decide for yourself.
When we left, you bet there were tears, and promises. We felt like we left family behind, and so did they.
Please show them the respect that they deserve and you will have the experience of a life time. It will stay with you for a lifetime, and that alone is priceless.
One last but very important aspect: What makes this perfectly oiled machine work so smoothly and precisely?
The name is Scott Robins, the JEWEL DUNN'S RIVER RESORT'S manager. A few things that I found out about this gentlemen that I believe sets him appart from most others in the corporate world. Many could learn.He has an impressive portfolio and degrees. So do many others. It is his unique way of implementing his 20 yrs experience and tremendous knowledge. He is a very "hands on" manager. He is everywhere on that property,all day, everyday ( I don't know if he has another life outside of the resort-I question that). He is real, he talks to everyone, and better yet he is highly "visible" and "active" on all media communication channels: Facebook, Twitter, e-mail, Trip Advisor( if you don't believe, check any of those out). He reads every posting, even answers, but best of all, he holds staff meetings and brings all the comments to his staff and challenges them to find ways to make things better and were there is already better aim for excellent. Who does that? Oh yeah ,the TV show "Undercover Boss". As real as it seems, it is still a show ( with scripts and edits), and besides where else does that happen? At JEWEL Scott Robins makes it happen every day. That's the answer my friends.
If you decide to visit Jamaica by all means go and live it up. This is what happened at the JEWEL.
ELLA & ACHIM IOTCOVICI- Salt Lake City Utah

Room Tip: Saphire Bldg has great views. The higher the floor ( 4+) the greater the view. No noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JOHN M, Hotel Manager at The Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Good day,

Due to glitches in our computer system your comments were not seen or responded to previously. The team at The Jewel Dunn’s River wish to apologize for this and want to express our appreciation for your feedback.

Please be assured that we have now corrected the computer glitch and thank you for your comments. We certainly appreciate that you took the time to give us you your feedback as we continue to ensure our service delivery and product exceed your expectations.

We look forward to the opportunity to host you again at our resort.

John M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flushing, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011

What a wonderful vacation, fantastic staff, great food and beautiful setting. I want to thank conrad (bar tender) and monique(front desk) i will recommend people to stay with you guys best serive ever. thanks again !!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol B, Manager at The Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Good day, due to glitches in our computer system your comments were not seen or responded to previously. The team at The Jewel Dunn’s River wish to apologize for this and want to express our appreciation for your feedback. Please be assured that we have now corrected the computer glitch and thank you for your comments. We certainly appreciate that you took the time to give us you your feedback as we continue to ensure our service delivery and product exceed your expectations. We look forward to the opportunity to host you again at our resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Port Richey, Florida
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011

The resort is nice however it reminded us of being on a Cruise on Land - it had all the same amenities of a cruise except that it was on land. Although it wasn't the type of trip we were looking for, that is not the fault of the resort itself. It did seem as if this resort caters more to a younger couple who enjoy Aquasize in the pool, Midday Madness games poolside, and group dining experiences. For those wanting an intimate and relaxing environment, this may not be the place for you.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor if you want a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JOHN M, Hotel Manager at The Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Good day, due to glitches in our computer system your comments were not seen or responded to previously.

The team at The Jewel Dunn’s River Beach Resort & Spa wish to apologize for this and want to express our appreciation for your feedback. Please be assured that we have now corrected the problem and have perused every detail and take your comments seriously and will use your feedback to work on perfecting our service delivery.

We thank you for your feedback and look forward to the opportunity to host you again at our resort

John M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011

We stayed at the Jewel Dunn's River Resort for 6 nights. As a General Manager in the hotel industry, I read every review prior to booking my reservation and arriving at the resort. I must say that I was pleasantly surprised with how truly wonderful the staff and resort are. The first impression of how wonderful the Jewel is begins at check-in. After having driven an hour and a half and seen 5 or 6 other resorts, I can say that not one other person was greeted by a smiling face (Harlan) and a Gem of the Day. Truly a good first impression.

The room was beautiful. Overlooking the ocean as well as the pool. Truly a stunning view from the 4th floor Saphire Building. Our room was clean and very comfortable to stay in. I do have to say that the daily housekeeping lacked in several areas as we did not receive service until very late in the day and often found that our towels had not been replaced and our frig was not restocked. This was a little disappointing, but being in the business I can understand the issues experienced with housekeeping staff.

The food was phenomenal. My only wish is that the menu would have been changed at least once during our stay. It would be great if you had a menu that was presented everyday of every week - for instance a menu for Mondays, Tuesdays, etc. I know that if I had stayed any longer than I did the menu would have gotten to be a little to repetious for me.

Regarding service - the staff were all very polite and professional. I have to say that Conrad was a blast and my husband and I followed him to whatever bar he was working at. The nightlife and entertainment was very disappointing. I had hoped that there would be nights filled with dancing and singing and staying up to all hours, but instead found that my husband and I and maybe a handfull of other guests would sit around the bar chatting with Conrad and each other and all would retire prior to midnight. The nightclub was empty every night. I read a lot of reviews raving about Chadwick and although I saw him chatting and serving other guests, he repeatedly walked by my husband and I whether we were by the pool or on the beach. Other beach staff were excellent and very courteous each time they went by us.

The beach was perfect. A great swimming area. A wonderful catamaran ride with Johnny and plenty of chairs and shade. I loved it. I was surprised by a local snorkeler who asked if I wanted to buy weed while I was swimming in the ocean, but it is par for the course in Jamaica and not limited to this resort.

Scott - although I did not meet you in person, I can say that I am very impressed with the Jewel. Every resort and hotel has areas that need improvement and I know that you read these reviews and work diligently at the areas identified by your valued guests. I certainly hope to meet you the next time I am in Jamaica.

Room Tip: Reserve your room directly with the hotel or on their website.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rasbrat, Manager at The Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 26, 2011
Dear Guest,
Thank you for staying with us and for your feedback. We are looking into several of your suggestions. I am sorry I did not get to meet you as well, I walk the property several times a day however at times it is almost impossible to meet every guest. With that said Chadwick as well is quite busy through out the day and please do not take it personally that he did not stop and chat. I too look forward to meeting you on your next vist.
Thanks again
Scott Robbins
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrenceville, Georgia
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

Upon getting to the airport at Montego Bay, we found that we'd misplaced our confirmation for the bus ride to the resort. Though the woman at the desk was in her first day at that job, we got it figured out and got on the bus in time. The driver described to us the sights as we took the 65 mile/90 minute trip, but his mouth must have been too close to the microphone because we couldn't understand anything he said. Also, he stopped after 20 minutes at a roadside bar...I assume he had some kind of deal with the owner, because apparently other folks' buses didn't make stops.

Upon getting to the resort, we were offered cold towels, fresh drinks, and a place to sit while our check-ins were processed. Though we had reserved a room in the Diamond building ("Diamond Premier Guest Room" with "limited views"), we were given a room in the Sapphire building, presumably an upgrade but it wasn't mentioned. The room had a decent view of the water (but with a lot of roof view as well--the roof of the nightclub and such), so we didn't bring it up.

The windows in the room were small and up high, so you really had to go out on the balcony to appreciate the view. Even on the fourth floor, there was a good breeze coming up off the beach; even in the humidity, our swimsuits could dry by hanging on the towel rack outside overnight. The sink was separate from the shower/tub (the trade-off from our original room choice, which was supposed to have a whirlpool tub) and toilet, which was good, but the water pressure in the bathroom was so low that the toilet could only be flushed once every 30 minutes. The bed was comfortable, though we only had the four pillows that were on it; there were no extras in the closet. (I suppose I could have asked the front desk for more.)

The food was, for the most part, excellent. The pizza was good, though there was a limited choice of toppings. I had a burger at Aquamarina which was so-so but not bad. The breakfast buffet at Coral Cafe was good--be sure to get a blueberry muffin, they're perfect! Avoid breakfast at Platinum: it's the exact same food as the cafe, but with a short menu. (They told us that as we came in, but we didn't want to be rude and leave at that point.)

Dinner at Platinum, though, was fantastic. I had a jerk chicken spring roll appetizer, pumpkin soup (awesome!), salad (you won't miss much if you skip it), the catch of the day (snapper served with mashed potatoes and veggies--this was fantastic!), and a scotch bonnet chocolate mousse for dessert (spicy, but not out of control). Brad had the surf & turf and breadfruit soup, both of which were also quite good. I'm young and always feel a bit out of place at formal restaurants, but I thought it was very nice to get dressed up, eat a five-course meal of excellent quality, and then not have to worry about the bill. :)

We also ate at the Jade Samurai one evening, where the focus is more on the fun & entertainment than it is on the food. The chefs all have funny psuedonyms--Tigger, Wesley Snipes, and Blackie Chan, to name a few. We had Tigger, and he relied more on his humor than on his hibachi hijinks...he appeared to just about slice himself while throwing the knife around a few times, after which he didn't do much showy stuff. I will say, though, that he's the only hibachi chef I've ever had who's that good at flinging shrimp into people's mouths...everyone at the table but for one person managed to catch a shrimp! The meal was good, but heavy because of all the protein. You get a choice for soup, salad, and appetizer; then the chef comes and cooks the rice and all of the protein, and you just tell the chef if you want some as each one becomes ready.

The drinks were good, but perhaps not very strong. I ordered several Jamaica Smiles--which is strawberry daiquiri mix, pina colada mix, rum cream, and rum--and none of them were stirred before being handed to me. It's difficult to stir a frozen drink with a flimsy straw! I had to basically let it melt a bit before I could do much with it. A little stirring would go a long way.

There are events going on several nights a week. Shortly after our arrival on Tuesday was the evening beach party, where there was a snake charmer, fire dancer, bamboo dancers, and limbo beneath flaming limbo poles--they kept us entertained! When it started raining one afternoon, the staff promptly brought out some board games and a karaoke machine in the Emerald Tree Lounge. They attempted a bonfire on Thursday, but they were using damp wood and not the proper techniques. Solution? Pour a few buckets of kerosene on it...good thing there weren't any kids around! "This is how we do bonfires in Jamaica," they told us.

They have random events at the pool and will pull up anyone who's around without telling you what you're doing beforehand. Brad and I unwittingly ended up in a chugging contest--the men were chugging Red Stripe, and the ladies were chugging Coke. (The other women seemed grossed out by this, but I'm from Atlanta so I drink Coke a-plenty!)

Thursday night, we were woken up at about 3:30am by a loud party on a nearby balcony. We could even hear the voice of one of the staff--he was leading the dancing on Tuesday night and had a very distinct voice--loudly partying in someone's room! Luckily another neighbor fussed at them before I got the chance. I didn't want to go out there and cause a conflict.

Friday night was the "Manager's Cocktail Party" followed by dinner on the pier. A manager asked us how our stay had been so far, and she seemed really interested in what we had to say. We suggested that orientation should happen an hour or two after check-in time--not the next morning, by which point you've mostly figured it out on your own--but she told us no one ever showed up when it was in the evenings.

I had seen the pictures people posted of the dessert left in the room on the last night of your stay, so I was disappointed that we just got a bag of rock candy. I guess since we weren't celebrating a special occasion, we didn't get a special treat...but isn't Jamaica occasion enough?

Anyhow, we really enjoyed our stay here, especially at the price we paid for it. I tend to nitpick in reviews like this--I'm very detail-oriented, and I figure people like to know about everything--but the overall experience was excellent. I think what matters more than anything is the attitude of the staff, and everyone we encountered at the Jewel was enthusiastic and fantastic. They appeared to sincerely care about us and the quality of our experience at the Jewel and in Jamaica. We will certainly be back next year!

Room Tip: Regardless of which
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rasbrat, Manager at The Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 26, 2011
Dear Guest,
Thank you for staying with us at the Jewel. I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed the property and will be returning. Let me address some of your concerns that you called Nitpicking. We know that we could only improve with feedback. So thank you for that.
You booked a Diamond Premier that does have a Jacuzzi tub, but with limited to no view. You were given a multiple category upgrade to a sapphire Ocean view and by passed the Mountain view. Although it did not have the Jacuzzi tub it has a larger balcony with a full view of the ocean. Please note that most views if you look down you will see things underneath your window the beauty is looking out.
I am sorry that the four pillows were not enough, had you called the operator we would have certainly sent up as many as you wanted.
We have 12 pizza's on the menu however if you had asked for something that you did not see we would have done our best to accomodate you.
You should be pleased to know that next week we will start to served a different menu for the Platinum breakfast.
The desserts that you had mentioned are sent to persons celebrating their anniversary or Honeymoon and get them if they check the box on check in. The rock candy that looks like jewels is a gift that we give to everyone on their last night.
Once again thank you for your feedback and we do look forward to seeing you when you return.
Scott Robbins
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort & Spa

Address: Mammee Bay | PO Box 858, Ocho Rios, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Ocho Rios
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Ocho Rios
#2 Family Hotel in Ocho Rios
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Ocho Rios
#5 Romantic Hotel in Ocho Rios
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Ocho Rios
#6 Luxury Hotel in Ocho Rios
#6 Spa Hotel in Ocho Rios
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Introducing The Jewel Dunn’s River, a new Jamaican beach resort located mere moments from one of Jamaica’s top attractions – spectacular Dunn’s River Falls. The Caribbean’s most romantic, adults-only Jamaican resort is the perfect spot for couples, honeymooners and idyllic weddings. Plus, our all-inclusive resort features the unique ‘Jewel Only’ exclusives you can only discover here. Imagine watching a movie from the comfort of a pool raft and dining by candlelight on a pristine beach – that’s just the beginning. Now visualize your first breath in the morning being filled with fresh ocean air from your room’s private balcony. Picture yourself sipping handmade rum punch served by a pool concierge. Anything is possible at The Jewel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., BookIt.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Jewel Dunn`s River Beach Resort And Spa
The Jewel Dunn`s River Beach Hotel Ocho Rios
The Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort & Spa Jamaica/Ocho Rios

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.