We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mystic Ridge Resort

Save Saved
You added Mystic Ridge Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mystic Ridge Resort
3.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   17 DaCosta Dr, Ocho Rios, Jamaica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 16 Ocho Rios B&B and Inns
Jamaica
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

I am happy to say that this hotel is absolutely amazing the front desk staff Julisa Reid was there and she made sure we were well looked after. The complimentary sky explorer package was a bonus. Thumbs up all the way for Mystic Ridge and Mystic Mountain. My husband and i totally enjoyed.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    39
    17
    4
    9
See reviews for
24
38
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, North Carolina, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

I stayed in the two-bedroom, two-bathroom suite with my husband and 3 kids ages 20, 16, and 16. The room had 2 stories and was large and comfortable. The master suite on the top floor was amazing! You do have to go up a narrow, winding staircase to get to it, so this room would be inaccessible to people with mobility issues. The other bedroom had two double beds (these are smaller than full-time beds and two adults would have had a difficult time sleeping in them). There was also a daybed in the living room, and a pullout sofa in the Master Suite. As stated, it could very comfortably sleep 6 adults. It has a kitchen, which included a stovetop and a microwave (no regular oven). Dishes and pots are there. My only complaint about the room was that the shower water alternated between freezing and scalding with no warning. No long relaxing showers at this hotel! Our room was immaculately cleaned, but they took the dirty towels and only left 1 clean towel for a family of 5. We had to go to the front desk and get them ourselves at the end of a tiring day of activities: this is an example of the lack of attention to detail that would make this a great resort. The staff seem lax, as though they just don't care. Also, bring your own shampoo and such - there are no cute freebies in the bathrooms.

The restaurant at the hotel had good food with a nice open atmosphere, but the staff are not very attentive. The first night we were there, the waiter went to great lengths to describe menu offerings, and then would tell us that they were out of the item when we tried to order. It was bizarre and annoying. Breakfast is traditional Jamaican food - this is something to consider if you have children who do not want to eat callalou, saltfish, boiled yam and boiled dumpling. They say that it is a buffet, but actually if you have to stand and have it served to you. You can order an omelet, but the chef makes them one at a time, so it is quite a long wait. They are quite stingy with the juice, and will tell you that you are only allowed one glass. The staff overall, do not seem to look for ways to make your stay great, but will do what you ask them to do.

There is a tennis court and a pool, but nothing else to do on the property. This property is up a steep hill, so it is not necessarily an easy walk to anything. They do have a shuttle to Mystic Park, which is about 5 minutes away. There is also a beach shuttle, which we didn't use. One or two cab drivers hang around the parking lot and will introduce themselves to you; they are very reliable and will take you to and from attractions such as Dunn River Falls.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leonardtown, Maryland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

We had a terrible start to our vacation last week in Ocho Rios, spending the first night at a place that was mis-represented and simply unacceptable. With my 90 year old mother and 77 year old aunt with us, we needed to find a place with air conditioning (that worked!), clean & comfortable, and with nice surroundings. After desperately searching the Trip Advisor website we found it all at Mystic Ridge, and luckily they had 1 suite available for the remainder of the week, with breakfast included in the price. Mystic Ridge is a short way up a steep drive off the main highway in Ocho Rios (fit guests can easily walk into town for groceries, etc.), but it transports you to another world, up and out of the heat, noise and dust of the town, with lovely breezes and a splendid view of Ocho Rios town and bay. The large pool area is at the heart of a hilly campus of charming yellow and white 3-story buildings on well-manicured and landscaped grounds. A rushing waterfall is on the property just next door. We found out a few days later that quite a few of the units are privately owned, which explained why a few of them seemed to be not as well-maintained as our building. We were in Unit I-7, a 2-bedroom suite on the 3rd floor (no elevator, but my hearty 90 year old mother did fine on the stairs), with a full kitchen, and a large, covered balcony furnished with dining table & 4 chairs. Take your sleep masks along--our bedroom was very bright in the morning, and only some of the windows had curtains. A real surprise was that our bed linens were crisp and luxurious! I loved looking out at the birds in the tops of the breadfruit trees. The pleasant open-air restaurant (The June Plum) on the grounds overlooks the pool area. The breakfast is a buffet serving Jamaican cuisine: fish, sausages, kidneys, beans, steamed vegetable (cabbage and/or callaloo), sweet potato, dumplings, plantain, fried cornmeal dumplings, fruit, plus eggs and toast. We ate lunch there only once, but the offerings seemed to be pretty much the same as breakfast. The service was usually rather slow, but friendly. With our unit having a full-size refrigerator & kitchen, we often chose to eat-in either lunch or dinner, or go out to other restaurants (hands down, the very best was Toscanini's). A very charming and friendly driver connected with the property named Mr. Green was our driver of choice 90% of the time. We did have to ask the front desk for more clothes hangers, and for a few items/utensils that the kitchen was lacking. They came slowly, after a couple of asks, but did eventually arrive, always with a smile. Aside from tiny ants invading the kitchen on a regular basis, and what looked like rat poop appearing one day on the shelves in the upper bedroom's spacious walk-in closet, this persnickety traveler was happy. To sum it up, at Mystic Ridge we all felt safe, comfortable, appreciated the lovely aesthetics, and got it all for a very good value.

Room Tip: Get a suite! The one room we saw was just big enough for a bed, dark, and had little or no charm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotch Plains, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

This hotel is located right next to the Ruins at the Falls Restaurant. It's also right next to Ocho Rios Jerk Center, Dunns River Falls, and the duty free shopping plazas.

It's perched on top of a hill, so the view overlooking Ocho Rios is great. I stayed at this hotel twice. Actually, they hosted my wedding party back in August, 2009. They gave us a group discount. The rooms are clean and the furnishings are moderate. They do have a restaurant on site that serves continental and Jamaican hot breakfast. The continental breakfast is included in the rates, but you have to purchase the Jamaican hot breakfast.

There's also a pool and tennis court onsite. Staff is friendly and courteous. I had no problem with this hotel, and that's why I stayed there twice. If you are looking for a central location with a great view and affordable price, then it's worth it.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamaica
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Located in the heart of Ocho Rios, Mystic Ridge is an affordable option. My husband and I stayed in a standard room. The decor is the rooms is minimal but modern, and the room was very clean.

Note - this property is not on the beach, but rather up a moderately steep hill. It's very close to the shopping centres Taj Mahal and Island Village, as well as to Dunn's River.

You also receive discounted entry to Mystic Mountain when staying at this property.

Breakfast is included in the rate, and while convenient, I thought the food was just all right. Service however was good. We only stayed for one night and had no complaints at all.

Definitely recommend this property if you are looking for somewhere central to stay that won't break the bank.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

We stayed at Mystic Ridge for 5 nights in May. It was a pleasure staying here. The service was excellent and the location was the best! I would definitely recommend upgrading to the ocean front room. When we first arrived we were a bit disappointed with the lack of view we had. The TV was also not working so we chose to upgrade rooms for $25 a night. It was definitely worth the extra money. The view was stunning and the room was a lot more spacious. The rooms were always very clean each day and the service was excellent. The property was very pretty and the landscaping was well maintained. Overall, it was really great value!
PROS: Cleanliness
Room
Location
Service
CONS:
Lack of hot water/water pressure
*We preferred to walk to the beach to save some money but we were often pressured to take the "free shuttle" but we felt we had to leave a tip.

Make sure you eat at the Jerk Center right next door to the hotel. It is excellent food and super cheap!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simcoe, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

I stayed at Mystic Ridge as a part of the Groupon promotion for 3 days in March while visiting family in Jamaica. Overall it was a positive experience the hotel is beautiful.

Rooms - Our room was modern and clean, just as the photos from the website. We stayed in a standard room and were perfectly happy with that. We had some issues with the TV and as soon as we let the reception know they had it fixed.

June Plum - We had breakfast at the on-site restaurant every day. It was very good, there are not a large number of options but I was happy with breakfast each morning. We ate dinner at the restaurant on our first night. It was very good, but it was expensive in comparison to eating in town. For the rest of our stay we chose to have lunch and dinner in Ocho Rios.

Location - I felt the location was really nice. Even though it was not on the beach the view of Ocho Rios was beautiful and the pool was very nice. The hill that the hotel is on is extremely steep, as many others have mentioned. It was a good workout going up and down. The hotel is really close to Dunn's River Falls which is awesome. Our cab driver charged us $3000 or about $30 to go there and back. It was a little pricey for the short distance, but he just gave us his number and we paid on the way home which was really nice.

Spa - On the trip I really wanted to get my nails done. After trying to book an appointment for two days (The person who does the spa services kept saying she would be there and then cancelling) I finally just went into Ocho Rios and got them done for about $5 at a place called Faces and Fingers, so I was happy with that. I was just a little put off by the fact that the other woman said she would be there. I would have been happier if she just said she was unavailable in the first place.

What to do? - We were only there for 4 days, 3 nights so we managed to keep busy. Dunn's River Falls is a must! We took advantage of the free ride up mystic mountain it was beautiful up there. We had lunch at the restaurant which was good, beautiful view from every table. You can also zipline, swim or go on the bobsled ride. We also walked around Ocho Rios for a bit, I didn't purchase anything because the same things can be bought in other cities for much cheaper, and we had the ability to go there, but there were a lot of options for shopping. We found the hotel to be kind of boring at night, I don't think there were many people staying there. We would have a drink at the bar at night, but it would usually just be us and the bartender chatting. We turned in pretty early each night and chose to get up early and take advantage of the benefits of an early start. (When we went to Dunn's River we got there around opening and began climbing the falls after about a half an hour. Once we started a few groups had begun climbing up with us. By the time we finished the entire falls was FULL of people. When we left there was a HUGE line of people waiting to go. I would highly recommend going early, it was worth it! )

Overall it was a great mini gettaway during our vacation. I would definitely consider staying at Mystic Ridge again!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mystic Ridge Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mystic Ridge Resort

Address: 17 DaCosta Dr, Ocho Rios, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Ocho Rios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Ocho Rios
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mystic Ridge Resort 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern gated complex complete with swimming pool, bar area, restaurant and tennis court. Air conditioned rooms with jacuzzi with king and queen side beds. Can sleep up to 8 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Mystic Ridge Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crane Ridge Hotel Ocho Rios
Mystic Ridge Resort Jamaica/Ocho Rios

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mystic Ridge Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.