We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Miss T's Kitchen - Great Place for Special Events, Dinner, Family, Friends” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Miss T's

Miss T's
65 Main Street, Ocho Rios, Jamaica
876-795-0099
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 80 Restaurants in Ocho Rios
Cuisines: Jamaican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Silver Spring, MD
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Miss T's Kitchen - Great Place for Special Events, Dinner, Family, Friends”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

I found Miss T's Kitchen on the Internet while searching for a place to have our son's pre-wedding dinner/reception. Miss T's was not then on the Tripadvisor website as one of the Ocho Rios restaurants, so I had to look around a bit. Although we are frequent visitors to Jamaica, we had not yet been to JKiss T's, and most of the family and friends who came for the wedding had never been to Jamaica. We wanted to give them a real local Jamaican experience - we believe the best places to eat when you travel are where the local folk eat. I talked to three restaurants listed on Tripadvisor, emailed and called them. Only one manager responded from those restaurants. Miss T, however, emailed, personally called and worked with me, always with a "no problem, don't worry, we will take care of you" comment. We ate there the night before the pre-wedding dinner.Delicious - and evene though by the time we arrived (9 pm or later) they were out of what I wanted to eat, they promised to have it for me the next night. Although Miss T was not there the first night, her staff went the extra mile and took extra special care of my wife and I. The night of the big dinner, Miss T personally greeted us at the entrance to her restaurant when we arrived, served our meal, oversaw all the arrangements from the kitchen to the dining room - nothing was too small or too big a request. I absolutely love this place and we absolutely love Miss T. The owner, the staff, the decorations, the open air dining area, everyone and everything come together to make you feel like you are not only at home, but that you are loved.

DO NOT MISS this restaurant when you are in Ocho Rios! Its the BEST!

Andre' Carrington

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    40
    5
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ocho Rios
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Should be # 1”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

This is the most authentic Jamaican restaurant i found in Ocho Rios. Slightly off the main drag, but still easy access. Amazing atmosphere, attentive staff and the food was beyond excellent. Owner/chef Miss T ensured we received what we wanted and offered to adjust the menu to suit dietary restrictions. We tried new food (fried bammy and curried goat) both of which we ordered on our return visit TWO nights later.... This is a MUST for any visitor to Ocho Rios.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“MUST DO... Excellent...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Tony, Tanisha, Anna Kay, Kenny and Junior hosted 35 of us for an authentic Jamaican dinner for what was a Rehearsal dinner for my sons wedding

what a fantastic time.

Dinner was served Family style. a large L shaped table to sit everyone.. Cold beer, wine, frozen drinks... everything was excellent

we had Jerk Chicken, Curried Goat, Codfish and Akee, BarB chicken, Escoveitched Fish, Rice and Peas, a wonderful salad, Rum cake with ice cream (did I say RUM cake?)

If you want an authentic Jamaican dinner in a perfect locale.. this is a must do....

Thankyou Anna Kay... looking forward to seeing you again soon

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“We Got Ripped Off!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Just returned from dinner, which was decent Jamaican but WAY, WAY over-priced! $72 US for 2 local fish dinners, some brown rice w/ beans, a bit of coleslaw, and one beer and one gin/tonic!! Plus they used an exchange rate on a VISA credit card, or for cash if we'd paid in US. That was 10% higher than the official exchange rate. We've been here more than 2 weeks and only one other time got nailed with this rate. We had similar fish dinner, albeit at lunchtime at Mom's Restaurant. It was not more than $700 Jamaican vs. $2500 Jm at Miss T's. Do NOT go here if you're other than Jamaican-they will rip you off too!
Plus, don't be fooled by the photos online. This place is NOT on or near the beach. It's 1/2 a block off Main St, modest ambiance and lacking in meaningful service. Our waiter was the bartender, waiter, water boy and table cleaner.
Our meals at June Plum and Evita's were about the same cost but Far superior in quality, service, location and ambiance.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotch Plains, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Very Nice Place with Great Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

My husband and I were staying in Ocho Rios for a month, and this was where we go almost every day. The food is great, and the restaurant is nicely decorated and clean. There's a bar as well, in case you need alcoholic beverages. There's also a Jerk Center where they do Jerk on the weekends. I met Miss T, and she's a wonderful woman. Very friendly. We do love it, and will definitely visit again when we travel to Jamaica.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Miss T's also viewed

Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
 
Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
 

Been to Miss T's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Miss T's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.