We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2 great weeks !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shaw Park Beach Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Shaw Park Beach Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Shaw Park Beach Hotel & Spa
3.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Cutlass Bay, Ocho Rios, Jamaica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 40 Hotels in Ocho Rios
wasaga beach
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“2 great weeks !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

loved our vacation, just read other review of person talking about the girl that helps with snorkling who is also a life guard, her name is Kelly. her and Geary in entertainment were great (they do not ask for tips but it is very appreciated they make peanuts ), there is not one bad staff member there, if you have a problem with your room or anything they will rectifiy it. bar and restaurant staff are 5 star. yes the place is dated, but its clean. one tip is make sure you bring lots of us small bills for tipping. we had only CDN $ and they could not change it at front desk. Any problem we had with room was fixed, ask for Welton in maitnence, he is more than happy to help

Room Tip: rooms in the first building only have showers
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    113
    83
    45
    77
See reviews for
56
176
21
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

I just love going back to Shaw Park for the 3rd year in a row, I walk the beach 2-3000 feet of
private beach belonging to the property......Smiley has a smile on his face serving up the drinks
all you can drink.....There is brkfst lunch and dinner. The rooms were nice and cool and lobby over the ocean front view was terrific. i cant wait to go back........ten days was just right.
Hate to leave and cant wait to go back

Room Tip: get what you need
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belfast
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Just stayed at Shaw Park Hotel, and while we thoroughly enjoyed our weekend, there were some drawbacks. First the bad news: the hotel could do with a face lift. Little things that don't work. And, being a vegetarian, I could not get a good meal for lunch or dinner, though breakfast was had good choices. Eventually I spoke with the chef, and that gave me a delicious dinner on the last night. The good news is that it is in a terrific location, all rooms face the ocean, and you have the ideal Caribbean scenery, palm trees waving in the balmy breeze, the sea right at your doorstep, and a lovely open patio where they serve meals as you listen to the ocean waves. Comparatively speaking, the price is good, and that makes up for the glitches. I would recommend it, but don't expect five star. Location is good, and security is very good. Dunns River Falls is just five minutes away, and an awesome sight. But, go early, at 9am, if you are going on your own, so you can be ahead of the hordes of tourists, and be able to see it without humans all over the falls. And, ask at the front desk for a visit to Shaw Park Gardens. A truly magnificent example of a Caribbean paradise.

Room Tip: Ask for an upstairs room, as you have a better view, and more privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013 via mobile

First let me start by saying my husband and I are not wealthy people, and this was our first real vacation anywhere, let alone outside of the country. Therefore, I cannot compare this resort to a "5 star" resort. Nor are we accustomed to staying at such upscale establishments. Having said that, we went to Shaw Park in July last year, 2012, and we are going back in 2014!!! It was perfect for us!! It was "off" season, so hardley no one was there. And the location is to die for!! Because of it being tucked away in a cove, it was as if there was nothing around. It was literally like we had an island to ourselves!! Rooms are simple, but nice. And they all face the ocean, which is close enough to throw an indian almond in. The food was so good, and the view while eating is breathtaking! The staff was friendly. Everyone talks about Smiley the bartender in the reviews I read, but we spent more time with Willie, and he is great. We met some locals at the end of the beach where the river feeds into the ocean. Once you get past the initial pushiness to buy something, they are really great folks. We can't wait to go back. It's not a party, activity filled resort, but it's perfect for the ones just wanting to sit back and chill.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronx, New York
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

I stayed at SP for 3 nights. Check in was a breeze and the receptionist at the front desk was friendly. I went with family. The decor was old country style which i find interesting. The rooms are okay but in the nights if you sleep without the A/C on be prepared for a mosquito invasion so sleep with it on and you'll be fine. Our room had a balcony and it was great waking up to the sound of the waves every morning and the food smell hitting you. The bathrooms were clean and we always had hot water. The TV also works fine. The food was great, not really a lot of options but i still cant complain. Wanna kick back and relax? Then Smiley the Bartender will do just that. His name says it all... Smiley :D. He will mix just about anything you like and the other bartenders are warm and friendly as well. Come to think of it the whole SP staff were friendly, didnt give an attitude when you asked for something, and you feel like you've known them for ages. I am from Jamaica and it makes me feel so happy to go back and every time be welcomed back home. Never been to the spa or the pool so i cant say anything about them. The beach was calm and so beautiful and its the perfect place to chill then you could lounge on the beach chairs under the almond tree but just b careful that no almond drop on tour head lol. The girl who does that canoeing thing (i forgot her name) was so friendly as well. It would be a great gesture to give her a nice lil tip for her service. I hope to return again but not yet as I am trying other hotels. But Shaw Park is highly recommended when you want to get away from the bustle and bustle.

Room Tip: all the rooms are facing the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

My husband and I have just returned from a week at Shaw Park hotel and Spa in Ocho Rios Jamaica (Dec 30- Jan 06, 2013). Before we left our travel agent informed us that she had never been there but knew that this small resort was "the place to go" in the 70's and that it was a 3 star resort. She would be interested in our opinions she said. We went without expectations having never been to Jamaica nor stayed in a 3 star resort. We loved the resort - it is old that is true - but many glimpses of it's elegant past are evident. The beautiful lobby and the wood work in the bathrooms are just 2 examples. We had a 2nd floor superior / deluxe room- all rooms face the sea and have beautiful views. It is not perfect- our water pressure was low and fuses blew if I used a hair dryer at the same time as my neighbor (we quickly made the adjustment). The room was very clean and not a bug in sight!! Staff are not swift but then they are mostly elderly and it is hot and besides- is there a rush to have your bed made?? We found breakfast not great but lunch and dinner were delicious and filled with wonderful Carribean flavors. Staff were fantastic especially Royalston (sp??) slip them a few dollars and you get a reserved table every night. They did run out of red wine one night and the cola is pathetic (?watered down?- really affects the rum!!) Over all we thought the food was better than 5 star resorts we have visited in Cuba and staff are far more friendly. This resort was perfect for us- small but nice beach that is cleaned every morning; no fighting over the loungers here and lots of sun or shade under the many palm trees. Relax!! relax!! quiet and peaceful- not for people who want to party all night!! We tend to not repeat at any one resort (too many places to visit) but if we were to go back to Jamaica we would not hesitate to return to Shaw Park. We thought it was more a 3.5-4 star resort

Room Tip: ask for a superior / deluxe room and if you can afford it suites are available
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

The beach here is excellent, but the food is just ok. The hotel is dated, and various parts show their age and lack of repair, but our rooms were cleaned spotlessly every day, and the staff is friendly (although not speedy.) Our family of 6 plus one other couple were the ONLY people staying at the resort for the first 5 days of our holiday. Lunches were a bit busier, as the hotel is part of a cruise package, and there were cruise ships coming into Ocho every day the week we were there (Dec. 16-23).

If you are expecting a hotel with evening entertainment and lots on the go, this place is not for you. If, however, you want to enjoy the surf, relax on the loungers, read, and spend time with your immediate party, this definitely is the place for you. We loved the location and had a great week of sun and sea. There's just one bar and the bar tenders vary in rules and consistency - generally drinks were handed out in small cups, but we did get our mugs filled a few times (they also ran out of beer on 2 of the days!)

Our group used the pool table daily, but nobody showed up to dance at the disco night. The pool is lovely too, but we definitely made more use of the ocean. The kayaks are seaworthy and available for independent use, or you can go do some snorkelling out on the nearby reef (tips expected). We felt safe and comfortable the whole week, although our sons (18 and 20) were offered drugs on a daily basis. We left the resort for two half day and one full day excursions. It was a great week.

Room Tip: Beachfront superior - gorgeous ocean sounds, very quiet (we were in H ground floor, the kids right a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shaw Park Beach Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shaw Park Beach Hotel & Spa

Address: Cutlass Bay, Ocho Rios, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Ocho Rios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Ocho Rios
#12 Spa Hotel in Ocho Rios
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Ocho Rios
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Shaw Park Beach Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Otel, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Shaw Park Beach Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shaw Park Beach Hotel And Spa
Shaw Park Beach Hotel Ocho Rios
Shaw Park Jamaica
Shaw Park Beach Ocho Rios
Shaw Park Hotel Jamaica
Shaw Park Beach Hotel & Spa Jamaica/Ocho Rios

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shaw Park Beach Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.