We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shaw Park is for relaxation and "family" atmosphere” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shaw Park Beach Hotel & Spa

Save Saved
You added Shaw Park Beach Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Shaw Park Beach Hotel & Spa
3.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Cutlass Bay, Ocho Rios, Jamaica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 39 hotels in Ocho Rios
Milford, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Shaw Park is for relaxation and "family" atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

My sister and I just got back from this resort and it was wonderful. We are vegetarians and had to have special meals prepared. Everyone went out of their way to make sure that guests were comfortable. This is quite a unique place and the employees are the best. Few honorable mentions are Price, Hudson (chef), Steve. Natasha is wonderful and Miss Rose is most pleasant. All in all, we had a wonderful stay there. Thanks to all of you wonderful people (too many to mention by name).

BEWARE: There is a taxi driver hanging out outside the gates of this hotel. Please do not have anything to do with him! His name is KEVEN and he has a card which says KEVEN'S CHARTER SERVICE. His licence plate number is 8488FU. I would not trust him....he has done some shady things. The worst is when he our taxi driver (Kurt) in the mechanic shop and asked him what he was doing and our driver told him he was checking out his car to make sure everything was all set as he was taking us on a long trip. Keven promptly left there, headed to Shaw Park where we were staying and told the guard that Kurt sent him to pick us up because his car broke down! We went with him and needless to say Kurt came to the hotel a few minutes later to pick us up and we were not there. Keven drove like a maniac, we were so scared. He did not take us to all the places we were supposed to go to and when he saw that he was bringing us back a whole hour or so earlier than planned, he made a dangerous turnaround and said he was going to visit his father-in-law. Please do not use this guy under any circumstance! Then he demanded a tip at the end of our trip and we gave him zilch. He ruined our day (and that was our most expensive trip), we were stressed out because of his driving and he cheated us. DO NOT USE KEVEN AS A TAXI DRIVER! He was even saying how his wife left him and went to NY and his daughter is BAD. What a disgusting character!

Room Tip: We chose the upper floor (this is a 2-story building) and our balcony overlooked the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

395 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    90
    108
    80
    45
    72
See reviews for
52
170
20
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atkinson NH
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

My husband and my 11 year old son and I travel quite a bit. The staff here is nice. The rooms are dated and bathrooms need updating. Beach towels that are offered are falling apart. The bartender Smiley gave us many laughs. The beach is nice and there is nice snorkling off the pier. The kayak is nice but there is only one so if the place is busy it many be hard to get a turn. The disco never opened while we were there and music played throughout the resort is the same ten songs over and over again. The food was boring, tasteless and a lot of the same over and over. The drinks were lacking except on the day the hotel set up for the cruise ships and then there is a charge and they basically ignore you while those guest are there.Although we did like the location and the quietness, thank goodness it was only 4 days because there is just nothing to do and no one at the tour desk to help. This hotel has a lot of nice qualities but just does not live up to the "all inclusive" vacation.

Room Tip: First floor rooms are nice because you are steps from the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

From arrival on the property there was a feeling of being in paradise. The flora was lovely and the property being right on the beach front was amazing. I t was such a pleasure waking up to the sound and smell of the ocean. The room was ok, the bathroom was clean and had adequate space. On the down side the tv in the room would not work, the food was mediochre and lacked variety. Great Daiquiris at the bar though. If I was on a low budget vacation I might be inclined to try Shaw Park again.

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms have good bathrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

Thank you so much to the staff at the Shaw Park hotel. Not for dotting on every need, not for the best food or service, but for respecting our quiet and privacy. We spent two weeks at the most wonderful quiet spot in ocho rios. We loved the beach, the sand, the people, and the food. We made wonderful friends which was possible because this location is so intimate. You have the opportunity to meet some amazing people.

If you want fun and excitement this is not the place for you. If you want snorkling off your room and relaxing days with plenty of food this is the place for you.

Room Tip: upgrade at least once
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loughborough uk
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

...............You bet! After reading some of the reviews we thought it sounded like our sort of place and it was. Quiet, peaceful and relaxing. Entertainment consisted of a couple of Calypso singers twice a week and a Tom Jones sound alike twice while we were there. We went for two weeks before Easter and the hotel was not full to capacity. It started to fill up just before we left and only then did the disco open so if you are looking for night life this is not the place for you. To be truthful the hotel was not as advertised as there was only ever one bar open and we never saw the a'la Carte restaurant open although tables were available to book. The food was adequate but served luke warm which, having visited other Carribean islands is not unusual.
Rooms - We had a basic room on the upper floor which was clean and bright with no nasty smells or bugs as recently reviewed. Fantastic views, we loved it.
Staff - They could'nt have been more friendly or helpful, in fact they made the holiday and are a CREDIT TO THE HOTEL. We loved Smiley, Donavan & Willy at the bar who will make you any cocktail you can think of.
Spa - Did not visit the spa as the ladies there seem to operate mainly on the beach where they will give you a lovely massage under the trees or a moonlight massage on the pier with champagne, which was what we had, thanks to Karen & Claudette.
Wander down the beach to the White River, the guys with the boats will take you fishing, snorkling or whatever you want to do. We went with Raymond & George on 'Easy Mary' They are safe and offer much lower rates than advertised tours.
We met some lovely people, staff, locals and guests alike,(hello to the Morcombe & Gillingham crew).
If you are looking for an all singing all dancing hotel with gourmet food, PAY UP! and go to a different hotel. We felt we had good value for what we paid and would'nt have it any other way.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St.Catharines
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

This was our first trip to Jamacia and we travelled with our best friends. We are two couples in our early 50's and want quite and relaxation when we travel. We got it here!! I wouldn't reccommend this resort for a young party couple, almost everyone is asleep by 10|:30.lol The food was excellent, the staff very friendly and the rooms are clean. The maid service was above and beyond. You are literally 50Ft. from the water.. our balconey had direct access to the beach, when you lay in bed at night, even with the doors closed you can hear the ocean..ahhhhh.You are 10-15 minutes by cab to town for great shopping (did not like the market- everyone was way to aggressive). We walked just outside the gates and got a local cabbie to take us to Dunns River |Falls for $5.00 return. |He came back and picked us up and took us to town and returned 3hrs. later to take us back to the resort. If you go to town you have to go to JUicy Patties for Jamaican patties the best thing ever. So if you are looking for a quite place to go try SHAW PARK. NOT FIVE STAR BUT GREAT PLACE!!!!

Room Tip: We stayed a room at the far end of the resort and it was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

Pros:
- Nice staff
- Very secluded, private beaches
- Amazing ocean view from the deck (where you eat)
- Location: the entire property is away from the city and away from any other street noise or adjacent hotel noise.

Cons:
Food: When I said 'eat', above, it should be noted that all inclusive has its own definition here. Food was non-existent. I think Saturday nights they do a bigger spread, but nothing to write home about.

Drinks and bar: I don't drink alcohol, but I do enjoy the occasional refreshment (like a simple bottle of water or a diet soft drink). Hopefully, you are not in the habit of wanting to ingest anything after 10pm because the bar (SINGULAR, which is the size of a lawn chair) closes at that time.

Location: Not ideal if you do want to visit the city or leave to get food (which you will NEED to do), there's nothing around here except a gas station which, for all intents and purposes, actually has tastier snacks.

Charging more than $30/night/couple would be robbery.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Shaw Park Beach Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shaw Park Beach Hotel & Spa

Address: Cutlass Bay, Ocho Rios, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Ocho Rios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Ocho Rios
#13 Spa Hotel in Ocho Rios
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Ocho Rios
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Shaw Park Beach Hotel & Spa 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Otel, Travelocity, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Shaw Park Beach Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shaw Park Beach Hotel Ocho Rios
Shaw Park Beach Hotel And Spa
Shaw Park Jamaica
Shaw Park Beach Ocho Rios
Shaw Park Hotel Jamaica
Shaw Park Beach Hotel & Spa Jamaica/Ocho Rios

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shaw Park Beach Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.