We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“vacation in the sun” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shaw Park Beach Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Shaw Park Beach Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Shaw Park Beach Hotel & Spa
3.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Cutlass Bay, Ocho Rios, Jamaica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 39 Hotels in Ocho Rios
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“vacation in the sun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2012

February is my time in Jamaica, Shaw park is where i have been the past
three years......love it....love Smiley who is a singer, server and best drink
maker........unlimited open bar and all you can eat breakfast, lunch, and dinner.
I look forward to being there again next year.......

Room Tip: ocean front........upstairs or beach level all wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    110
    81
    44
    76
See reviews for
54
173
21
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami Beach, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2012

....unlimited drinks...wonderful food...very clean rooms...courteous & "Smiley" servers..lots of sunshine & blue skies...what a relaxing holiday!!!!...cannot wait to go back!!!

Room Tip: fabulous...ocean views!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

Visited Jamaica in January of 2012. Have you ever heard of Gilligan's Island? As primitive as can be. YES, this is it. First check in.No one to take your luggage. good 25 minutes wait.
Room: Bathroom has nothing except towels. 2 bed lamps. 1 work 1 does not. Air condition: works like driving a small tractor in a farm. Fridge or Mini Bar: NONE. POOL: false ADS..One can be diseased by just walking around the perimeter. Food: food like Ackee and salt fish never served. NO JERK ANYTHING...no chicken, fish or lamb. ATTIRE: don't dress up. its all buffet type of meals for breakfast, lunch and Dinner. BAR: ask for a beer or rum and coke and you are served. Ask for for anything else and you can be marooned forever. My friend made a mistake of ordering a white Russian...lol.. Save your money. go somewhere else.Goodluck!!!
Will I ever visit Jamaica again? hell, yes. Will i ever Stay at \The Shaw, Hell no. Love the Jamaican people and their hospitality.

t

Room Tip: Choose a good room? Simple, choose a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herminie, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

Biggest issue was that it was NOT as advertised. We were looking for a resort and got an old motel. One ancient key, no hair dryers, irons, refrigerators or coffee makers in rooms. You can get the dryer or iron at front desk when you need it and then take back. Refrigerators are $5.00/ day, coffee makers aren't available. They spend more time telling you what you can't do than checking in. Food selections were severly limited when compared to all inclusive resorts. Usually two entrees, rice, maybe potatoes and a couple veggies, bowl of iceberg lettuce with tomatoes and cucumbers. On a good note, all food was very good, just not much selection at all. Excursions seemed very overpriced. It doesn't seem like the owners want to put anything into the motel, just get what they can out of it. Only good part of our vacation that came from the resort was the bartenders. Dunn, Willy and Smiley were very good, but Donovan was the ultimate! He was the best bartender that we have met at any resort.

Room Tip: Upgrade rooms get a tub & shower, not just a shower. Thats it. For the toiletries, you get two b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012 via mobile

Stayed early feb, 3rd time to this island. Hotel is very low key, but close enough to ochi u can cab to the parties (priory beach on Sunday nights). Don't take cabs from the hotel, walk 5 mins up the road and take a cab for half price. Food is just okay, and I'm not picky. Make sure to be around during the set meal times. Drinks were very weak, I swear some were virgin. Once the outside bar closes at 11pm good luck finding another drink, disco barely had a drop of alcohol in it. Owner is obviously cheap, and a real jerk. Staff were just lovely, you go to Jamaica for the people of course. The beach is stunning, totally perfect in every way. Rooms were clean, housekeeper was fantastic, as were all the staff.
When in ochi again I would stay somewhere else because I will never allow one cent of my money to go into the pockets of someone with such terrible ethics.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012 via mobile

If you are going to book shaw park dont expect hilton... Its that simple. There are awful reviews and ok reviews read throught a few of the more recent ones with an open mind for the actual facts and none of the emotion! My opinion is that it was an ok place to stay. The room we had 308 was a clean bed was comfortable with ocean view(i mean beach was directly below room) and maid was always willing to clean and get us what ever we needed quickly on the days we didnt need it cleaned. Water worked fine was far enough from main bar/eating area that we didnt have to listen to any of the going ons down there, but also not to far when we needed something. As far as the food, well its not that great but i am a fussy eater and i was able to find something to eat from what was provided(ok... So i ate alot of lettuce and plain spagetti noodles lol). It is a/i and booze is incl how ever we did purchase our own( premium liquor and light beer) from the market only a quick 5-10min walk from hotel. But we only bought our booze because we are fussy and wanted specific brand they do not have(ie light red stripe) not because they didnt have plenty of holiday type drinks as well as a flowing beer tap available. The staff was nice enough(except for the one younger snitty girl at the front desk watch out for her mood swings...lol). Other than that staff was great helpful and made it a better place to be over all. We really liked willy and also the nite supervisor, theyhad our number... Lol. We went to couples san souci for nye and paid 250 for the night( amazing and fun and worth the 250) but my point is that guests there were equally unhappy with the food and walking distance to rooms if you want to be part of negitivity you can find that anywhere in the world even a 5* resort. Shaw park is a 3* resort which by industry standard met those requirements. Is it amazing no but is jamaica amazing no, you want amazing go somewhere amazing and pay an AMAZING price dont go to a 3rd world country with limited resources and expect all of your north american creature comforts.
Over all we had a BLAST we made some friends and partied our butts off! Will i return to shaw park no but not because it was awful but rather because there is a whole world of nice beaches and places we want to see and now jamaica is off of the list of things to do. Go to shaw park with 3* expectation as we did and just be happy to not be at home working for the week!!! ;-D

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southington, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2012

If you want constant entertainment, waterslides, & luxury accommodations, don't go to Shaw Park! However, if you want a relaxing, refreshing vacation away from mobs of people, a beautifuly beach, friendly staff and good food, by all means go to Shaw Park Beach Hotel. This is an older hotel, with the maintenance woes of an old hotel, but the staff does its best to make everyone comfortable. Every room is an ocean front room, first floor rooms open out right onto the beach. I was on the second floor with a lovely view of the Caribbean & shoreline. While the hotel has 94 rooms, there were only about 35 people staying at the hotel when I was there from January 9 - 14. As a result, I made some wonderful new friends. The staff is friendly & helpful without exception. The bartenders are always happy to mix whatever concoction you can dream. This was my first trip to Jamaica and I found everyone welcoming and friendly, happy to tell you about their country, but enough already about Bob Marley!

Room Tip: Avoid room 249.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shaw Park Beach Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shaw Park Beach Hotel & Spa

Address: Cutlass Bay, Ocho Rios, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Ocho Rios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Ocho Rios
#13 Spa Hotel in Ocho Rios
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Ocho Rios
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Shaw Park Beach Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Shaw Park Beach Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shaw Park Beach Hotel Ocho Rios
Shaw Park Beach Hotel And Spa
Shaw Park Jamaica
Shaw Park Beach Ocho Rios
Shaw Park Hotel Jamaica
Shaw Park Beach Hotel & Spa Jamaica/Ocho Rios

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shaw Park Beach Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.