We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sand Castles Resort

Save Saved
You added Sand Castles Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sand Castles Resort
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Main Street, Ocho Rios, Jamaica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 39 hotels in Ocho Rios
Mississauga, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

We stayed in apt D19,this is a a owner operated condo. It is well maintained and cleaned.There
is daily service for tidying the apt. The beech is accessed from the back gate,which has a camera in place to alert security,who will let you in and out. It takes a few minutes for security to walk from the front, so you need to wait, but they come. There is 24 hour security on property.The bar and restaurant is closed., but there are many eating places,and 2 supermarkets in walking distance.
It is quiet,but we felt safe. The outdoor pool is cleaned everyday,does need painting. Apt has working ceiling fan in living/dining,and working A/C in living/dining/b/room. Has seaview.

Room Tip: Best to book with private owner. As those are usually better maintained.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    33
    54
    47
    25
    77
See reviews for
42
34
16
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Farmington, New Mexico
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We stayed at sandcastle "resort" Dec 23-31 2012 . We are very thankful for the reviews we read as we knew what to expect and what not to expect from the facility. First of all we stayed in a privately owned unit A31. 2 BR 2 bath unit. Small,quaint but in need of repair. When we arrived we were greeted by a young lady who showed us around the unit and told us how to work the hot water heater button. She also stressed to us that the prison like door that led to the upstairs patio should ALWAYS be locked before we leave. (Kinda scary) for the first day the upstairs did not have cold water therefore we couldn't flush the toilet or take a shower. We called the owner the next morning and she had a maintenance man there in a timely manner. Though we have a feeling the girl who met us had to know this was an issue as she was also the housekeeper and the bathroom mats were soak and wet when we arrived AND the same maintenance man was there when we arrived. Yet it was not fixed until we called the owner. There are NO amenities at this place. No continental breakfast,no room service,no bar...no fun. As a matter of fact after talking to a couple from NY we found that nearly the whole facility was closed down due to not meeting habitable standards. LOL..except for privately owned homes like we rented. There were ants upstairs,some fixtures and fans did not work in the home and the stairs were falling apart and we all almost slipped and fell several times going up and down them. The "resort" was centrally located and you could walk to restaurants,shopping and grocery stores. You did have free entry to the beach behind the facility but you had to show your key and walk around 3 blocks as there was never anyone at the gates of " resort" to let us out the closer back way. There was a pool but why use the pool when there is a beach. It felt more like a rundown apartment complex rather than a "resort". We did not find ANYONE ever at the front desk and got all of our questions answered by the security guards.
Overall we enjoyed our time in Jamaica but NOT at Sandcastles and we will never stay there again. The owner was very nice and even bought my mom a bday cake and brought it all the way from Kingston but it just does not make up for the poorly maintained facility. The sandcastle resort website is very much false advertising! This is not a resort this is a centrally located rundown apartment complex. I just thank all of you who posted comments as we kinda knew what we were getting ourselves into. I gave it two stars for location and pleasant owner nothing else.

Room Tip: Don't stay here BUT if you insist rent privately
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Stayed here in Feb 2012 returning for the first time in fifteen years and what a sad difference! In 1997 this was a lively, well kept hotel with direct access to the beach. Now it is an empty shell with no life. The bar and restaurant have closed and the pool in not in use. The pool area has no tables or sun loungers. The gate onto the beach directly opposite the hotel gate has been walled up which means a walk along the path to the public gate- not far but annoying with an elderly, infirm relative.The gate from the hotel was also locked and unmanned so it was hard to get out without a long wait and it was impossible to get back into the complex without another long wait or by walking round to the front of the hotel. This meant walking through a public car park, out onto the main street and round to the front of the hotel with all the street vendors and taxi drivers approaching us which is not what you want from a hotel located on the beach! The bar on the beach was also closed when we were there and the swimming area has been roped off to allow swimmers to swim in water so shallow it hardly covers your knees. All the tour companies seem to have pulled out so there were few visitors to this hotel complex. Our apartment was OK- clean and comfortable but there was no hot water the whole time we were there.The complex was also very empty. I think we were the only people staying in our block so it didn't feel very safe and the walk ways were dark at night.The gardens are still beautiful and well kept. This resort could be so lovely as the location,gardens and beach are so beautiful.The local area has improved since our last visit, with more entertainment, bars and restaurants but this hotel needs major investment. The access to the beach needs to be improved and the owners need to get together to address the problems.

Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Stayed here for 2 weeks with boyfriend and had an amazing time. The apartment was clean and offers everything you need when you're on holiday. The owner Jen provided us with a jamaican mobile line which meant we didnt have to worry about crazy phone bills when we returned. The housekeeper Stephanie came on more or less a daily basis and is a lovely woman. Apartment offers fully equipped kitchen, pc with internet, stereo, cable tv, etc. Lovely sized bedroom and separate living area. Literally 2 mins walk onto the beach which is just behind the complex. All at great rates. Only downfall is that since we went in October it was very quiet on the complex so most things such as bar and restaurant in Sandcastles were closed but being in the centre of Ocho Rios you really dont have to go too far for anything. Going back next year and I know exactly where I'm staying. Room D13.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

I booked this room with the owner who does not live in Ocho Rios. Not one time did she tell me that the air wasn't working properly. We were suppose to stay for 3 nights, but didn't arrive until the next day, so it would have been two nights. When we arrived. we meet with the owner's private housekeeper who was very nice, polite and helpful. She gave us the key and we gave her a deposit of $100, which we would get back if everything was alright with the place. We started to unpack and realized the the air wasn't working, just making noise. We figured that we needed to let it warm up a little bit, so we left out. When we came back, still no air. So, I decided to take a shower and realized that I could not even fit in the shower. I had to leave the shower door open, because it wasn't big enough for me. We called the housekeeper and she said that she would call the owner. She spoke with the owner, but we never heard from her that night. We told the housekeeper that we wanted to leave immediatley, but unfortunately, we had to leave the next morning. It was such an inconvenience, not only for us, but the housekeeper who had to take a taxi to come and get the key back that next morning around 7am. We didn't here from the owner until 2 days later. I asked her to refund my money into my account immediately, because we needed it to help pay another room. Not once, did this owner say that she would help us with any other accomodations or transportation funds for that matter. I never received any apology email from this owner, so it was very obvious that she did not even care. We paid for transportation from one parish to Ochie and from Ochie back to the same parish, which was very expensive. I took pictures and can forward them to anyone who wishes to see what our nightmare was about.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

Stayed here with 4 friends for 6 days for a wedding. Apartment was billed as a penthouse and the pictures they sent us before we booked were nice. But this resort is run down and unloved - chewed up parking lot, nasty pool, stray cats everywhere. Our apartment was neat and clean but dark and dated. The only up to date amenity was our upstairs shower - it was a modern, multi-head deal with phone and radio connections...but nothing worked but the main shower head. This place is fine if you want to save money and don't much care about your room, but for me a nice room is as important as the rest of my vacation experience.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamaica
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

this hotel is in walking distance to every where in the town of ocho rios, the gardens are well kept and security is very good, the last time i was there in may 2012 the bar or the restaurant was not in operation, so i had to walk out to eat, you can also prepare your own meals most of the suites have a complete kitchen and it is right on the beach with 24 hour security.
the manager is very friendly and helpful, you can rent from private owners or the hotel.
this hotel is kids friendly and a getaway for the whole family.i stayed in this hotel before and they use to have a band playing by the pool nightly, and the restaurant and bar was operating then, the food was very good. this is a hotel where the price is negotiable if you are renting from one of the private owners, it is not 100% now it needs some improvement, but still a very reasonable secured, low budget vacation spot.

Room Tip: rooms to the south are quieter there is party in a parking lot close by some times on weekends to th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sand Castles Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sand Castles Resort

Address: 1 Main Street, Ocho Rios, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Ocho Rios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 39 hotels in Ocho Rios
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sand Castles Resort 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Tingo, Otel, Travelocity, HotelsClick, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Sand Castles Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sand Castles Hotel Ocho Rios
Sand Castles Ocho Rios
Sandcastles Ocho Rios
Sandcastles Beach
Sandcastles Resort Jamaica
Sand Castles Resort Jamaica/Ocho Rios

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sand Castles Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.