We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In plaza” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mama Marley's

Mama Marley's
520 Main Street, Ocho Rios, Jamaica
876.974.0197
Improve this listing
Ranked #40 of 80 Restaurants in Ocho Rios
Cuisines: Jamaican
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Huntsville, Canada
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“In plaza”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

Food was ok, staff were friendly, convenient location when shopping

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    51
    36
    11
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Regina, Canada
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“uhmm.....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2012

A little bar in the market area of Ocho Rios. Beer is $4.00 for Red Stripe. Everything is expensive around there, especially when the cruise ships are in.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“That wasn't chicken!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011 via mobile

We ordered jerk chicken from the menu, but that wasn't chicken! It tasted similar but we couldn't recognize the bones. By that time it was too late! We already had eaten it. It sickens me to think we might have possibly consumed someone's lost pet.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastern Ontario
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Know what you're getting & enjoy.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

Mama Marley's is one of the more upscale restaurants in Ochos Rios, and it is close to the Sunset Grande as well as other hotels. It is attached to the Bob Marley store and is nicely decorated in an all-Bob-all-the-time sort of theme.

This is *not* authentic Jamaican food. This is not an inexpensive meal. There are many places in Ochi that provide that, but MM's offers essentially an upscale dining experience with Jamaican fusion and American cuisine.

I have eaten there on more than one occasion (I go to Ocho Rios at least once a year), and it is more or less the same every time I have been there. It tends to be a *very* quiet restaurant with very laid-back, leisurely service. The food has always been quite good.

If you are looking for an upscale, leisurely meal with good food this will do fine. However, there are other upscale restaurants in the area with better food, and many more modest restaurants in the town with better prices.

  • Visited March 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easton, Pennsylvania
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good Food pricey but fresh”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2011

We went there on the suggestion of our guide. We had jerk chicken, that was finger licking spicy and so fresh. I must make this comment, I would never buy pizza at a Jamaican restaurant. I would also comment on the fact that some should just stay in the USA and be done with it. Get to enjoy someone else s culture for a change and try to work with it.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mama Marley's also viewed

Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
 
Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
 

Been to Mama Marley's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mama Marley's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.