We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had a Blast!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sandals Ochi Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Sandals Ochi Beach Resort to your Saves list
Sandals Ochi Beach Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Main Street | P.O. Box 771, Ocho Rios, Jamaica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Early Booking Bonus!
Ranked #8 of 41 Hotels in Ocho Rios
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Ocala, Florida
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Had a Blast!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2007

On our arrival my husband noticed that his wallet had disappeared. It had slipped out of his back pocket and was on the bus that took us from the airport to the resort. Staff immediately assited us in tracking down the bus and driver. The driver was on his way back to the airport; turned around and delivered my husbands wallet to us that evening. We were so grateful to the staff who were on top of the situation immediately. What a beautiful resort. Our room was gorgeous; very clean, comfortable and fully stocked with whatever we needed. The staff was outstanding. Plenty of activities if you wish to participate and if not, just a beautiful place to rest and relax. The restaurants were excellent. We are already planning our next trip!

  • Liked — cleanliness, view, convient location
  • Disliked — next time would get a balcony view
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,791 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,337
    1,477
    542
    256
    179
See reviews for
173
4,567
21
61
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,743)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dayton Ohio
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2007

My new husband and I vistied Grand Ocho Rios for our honeymoon, I recomend this trip to any one. This was the first trip that we have took that has lived up to every word it says it will do, from rest, relaxation, pampering it was all there, We both just love this place and has thought about it every day since. We are looking foward to planning our next trip at another Sandels resort.

Thank You Mr. and Mrs. Roberts

Stayed October 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homestead
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2007

The grounds were absolutely beautiful and the people were awesome! The only issue we had was the rain. It rained the entire week we were there for my homeymoon. Other wise everything was great!

Stayed November 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northwestern Ontario Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2007

We loved the resort, loved the fact that all the restaurants were al a carte - no buffets. We had to take a shuttle to get to the beach but it was really not a problem - the bus was always within 10 minutes at the very most... after midnight was another story waiting for the bus though - I would suggest going back before midnight. The piano bar was an absolute blast, all the staff at the resoret were very friendly and helpful. The catamaran trip to the 'Dunns River Falls' was so much fun, you meet so many of the other travellers... The pools were all clean and always something going on in them to have fun... We liked the pool at the Mana building best. We are divers and have some expeerience diving in the Carribean - this dive shop was very well run - we actually had to be tested before they would let us dive, even though we have advanced diver cards - we have never seen this before, but it was a very nice touch. The diving is certainly not the best, but it was still fun. There was just so much to do and so many friendly people to meet - it was a wonderful holiday - I would definately recommend a Sandals Resort to all my friends.

Stayed March 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2007

From the arrival at the airport, to actually leaving the island there is not one thing that we could fault with our first experince at a Sandals resort.
We booked to stay in a room in the Manor House, but received a free upgrade to a villa with a pool. We loved the villa although I did find the bed a bit high. Had to jump to get on the first night, and fell out the first morning after having forgotten how high it was. That was our only critisism about the room. The room was kept spotless by very friendly maids who managed to get you anything you needed.
The staff were amazingly friendly and were always on hand if you needed anything, or your glass was empty.
The food!!! Well what can you say but totally out of this world, and we defy anyone to say that there was nothing on the menu that they liked, because we found that impossible. We felt that we should have lost weight on holiday as we had salad every day (It was our first of about 6 courses, lunch & dinner)!!!!
Hiring a cabannah for a day was an experience in itself and one that we thoroughly enjoyed.
Crazy Jay the photographer manged to capture some wonderful shots of us and he made it very easy for you to look good.(I hate having my photo taken cos I reckons I never look good) We have a lovely albumn to look back on for years to come, looking happy and relaxed in front of the camera
We did trips to Dunns River and Martha Brae rafting, both of which we can highly reccommend, although its a 2hr trip to reach the rafting it is well worth it just to flow back down the river.

  • Liked — Free Upgrade
  • Disliked — Height of Bed
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gig Harbor, Washington
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2007

Excellent grounds and wonderful lay out. We had a private cabana w/
pool and would stay no other way after that. The majority of the service was very good. We would definitely go back. We had a wonderful time. Sandals knows how to do it right.

Stayed January 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississippi
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2007

Upon arrival, we were greeted so graciously and politely. The staff was amazingly helpful. When we went upstairs to our room, I was extremely disappointed. We stayed at the Manor, with a mountainview room, 7119. The floor itself was dirty. The bathroom was dirty, especially in the corners around the molding. There was no water pressure in the shower, and the water temperature could not be regulated. If you turned the cold on at all, the water because intensely cold. So, you either took a freezing cold shower or a scolding hot shower. At one point in our stay there were even small ants coming out of the sink. When we went to go to sleep the first night there, there was sand on the bed. It was obvious the sheets had not been changed, so we slept on top of the bed cover the entire time we were there. Our TV didn't work well. The channels were static
most of the time and the TV turned itself off in the middle of shows.
I wanted to complain to the front desk, but my boyfriend didn't want to make a fuss out of it.

The staff was so helpful and polite and the food was great. We never had any complaints with the restaurants, bars, or gift shops, and the variety of tours offered by Sandals was amazing. I was just extremely disappointed in the room, especially since we had to spend most of our time there because of the rainy weather our entire stay. Because of that, we probably won't at Sandals again. I am ashamed to stay I spent so much money on a room that didn't live up to my vacationing standards.

  • Liked — Friendly staff!
  • Disliked — Horrible room.
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sandals Ochi Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandals Ochi Beach Resort

Address: Main Street | P.O. Box 771, Ocho Rios, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Ocho Rios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Ocho Rios
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Ocho Rios
#5 Family Hotel in Ocho Rios
#6 Romantic Hotel in Ocho Rios
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Ocho Rios
#7 Luxury Hotel in Ocho Rios
#7 Spa Hotel in Ocho Rios
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sandals Ochi Beach Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 529
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•Situated on over 100 acres of lush hillside gardens overlooking the Caribbean Sea•529 villas, luxury rooms and suites with fantastic mountain and ocean views•94 pools (7 large public pools), 22 whirlpools•16 dining options including room service for butler serviced suites•2 luxurious Red Lane Spas•Complimentary golf at Jamaica’s most elite and popular golf course, the Sandals Golf & Country Club (Transfers to the golf course are included)•Over 5,000 sq. feet of first class meeting and conference facilities•Recently completed US$60 million renovation/refurbishing exercise•Voted Sandals Resorts “World’s Leading All-Inclusive Company” 16 years in a row•Voted Sandals Resorts “Caribbean’s Leading Hotel Brand”, 18 years in a row•Voted Sandals Grande Riviera ‘Jamaica’s Leading Resort’ ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, BookIt.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sandals Ochi Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandals Grande Riviera Beach & Villa Golf Hotel Ocho Rios
Sandals Grande Riviera Beach And Villa Golf Resort
Sandals Ocho Rios
Ciboney Ocho Rios
Sandals Ochi Beach Resort Jamaica/Ocho Rios

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandals Ochi Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.