We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kudos to our Butlers Nicola and Kemeshia.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sandals Grande Riviera Beach & Villa Golf Resort

Save Saved
You added Sandals Grande Riviera Beach & Villa Golf Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sandals Grande Riviera Beach & Villa Golf Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Ocho Rios, Jamaica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to $350 Air Credit!
Ranked #7 of 39 Hotels in Ocho Rios
Sandy Hook, Connecticut
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Kudos to our Butlers Nicola and Kemeshia.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

My wife and my overall stay was made fun, enjoyable, relaxing, and stress free by our extraordinary butlers Nicola and Kemeshia. We will definitely request them when we return. The staff at the Red Lane spa were great too.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,010
    1,286
    440
    221
    155
See reviews for
156
4028
18
56
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,455)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Erie, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

We could not have been treated better at Sandals Grande Riviera. My husband and I have vacationed in Jamaica twice once alone and this time with two other couples. We had the best trip of our lives and can not say enough great things about the resort but most importantly how we were treated by the staff. The staff went above and beyond to meet our every need from the cleanliness of our room and the grounds, to the service in the restaurants. Jason and the concierge staff were amazing and made sure we were taken care of from the minute we arrived. WE can not say enough great things about Jason as he was a life saver and helped rectify an issue with our luggage he even hand delivered beer to our room one evening because our mini frig was not stocked that day. These tasks and many more which I am sure are not in his job description. We had a phenominal time each evening watching Sasha and all of the entertaimment staff. Sasha is the engergizer bunny that keeps the party going. Her staff of playmakers kept us busy during the day with a variety of different games and activities. We especially enjoyed spending time with Nathalia (BOOM BOOM) and Dwayne the "playmakers" We also enjoyed a lot of great cuisine and received great services from Brandon, Alex and Tex (make sure you request him at Kimonos he will not disappoint) We can not wait to return to visit our new found friends and are making plans to return next Spring!!!

Our Best,
Danny & Allie

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temecula, California, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Jamaica has won over our hearts. A huge reason why we loved our experience at the Sandals Grande Riviera was because of the awesome staff they employ!

First there is PERCIVAL (we called him Percy) who has hilarious! We had our first drink with this guy, learned some fancy "local" lingo and enjoyed some yummy rummy drinks. His humor, attentiveness, and knowledge of American football kept us stopping by everyday just to see his smiling face. He needs to be at a pool bar or some other prime spot where others can enjoy his company!

ALEX was our other favorite bartender. We had so much fun with him at the pool! We had a pretty big group of us from the Dunns falls/booze cruise excursion and he had us playing boys vs. girls FLIP CUP. YAAAAA MON! He was such a sweet, attentive, and fun mixologist; plus he can make a pretty purple like rainbow shot. This man is a keeper for sure!

KEVON from Kelly's was also someone who gave us a very "special" experience. This man ensured we had everything and more. This being a seafood restaurant, we really wanted lobster. Even though they do not serve it at his restaurant, this man made it happen, and we enjoyed a delectable steak and lobster dinner. His professionalism, patience, and care for his guests impressed us so much, and really made our meal at Kelly's one of our best dining experiences ever. He knows how to run his restaurant, keeping his number one priority guest satisfaction.

ILINE from Soy was extremely sweet. This girl is such a hardworker, we had her at breakfast at Valentinos, and then again at Soy for dinner. She obviously had a long day and still maintained a happy and energetic manner. Props to her for being a "FIVE STAR".


Last but not least, our Butlers Christa & Kayann. We mostly saw Christa because of how the scheduling worked, but both girls were so sweet, and really pulled off some cute surprises for us. Decorating our room with rose petals and flowers, stocking our room with plenty of coffee and RUM CREAM, and making dinner reservations were just a few of the things these ladies did for us. Having butlers was a great experience, and if you do have them, make sure you tip them! They work hard for you and its worth every penny. Thanks again Ladies!

- Melissa & Hampton Mauze
10-12-13



p.s. be adventerous and try the pigstail stew at the reef terrace. OMG i die!

Room Tip: Loved our view of the beautiful lush green mountains, Butler HV1 room. Essentially a garden view sui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for a week at the beginning of October as we celebrated our honeymoon. Here’s the rundown:

The Room
We stayed in Room 7427, a Bougainvillea Hideaway with butler service. The room itself was really nice, with a separate seating area, a small bar area with the refrigerator and coffee maker, a nice-sized bathroom, and a patio with a table and chairs. There was a pool that was shared with others in the villa (there were four rooms in the villa). The bed was very comfortable. My only complaint is that our room was located right next to a building used by the housekeeping staff, and that got a bit loud. Our bathroom window, which did not shut (there was no glass – just wooden shutters), let in a lot of noise when there were staff using that building. We could hear them stacking/clearing dishes at night and talking early in the morning. It seemed to become more of an annoyance throughout the week, but by that time it wasn’t really worthwhile to complain. We certainly didn’t let it ruin our fabulous honeymoon!

The Food
We tried most of the restaurants on the resort. Our favorites were Neptune’s (try the salmon) and Valentino’s. We enjoyed Kimonos, but more for the experience than the food. At Kelly’s Dockside, the view overshadowed the food, which was good but nothing you couldn’t get by visiting a steakhouse back home. Soy was okay but not the best sushi we’ve had. China Doll was our favorite breakfast spot. Overall, we thought the food was great. Also, Jamie’s Sports Bar was a blast!

The Resort
We really enjoyed this resort because you had the option to spend each day relaxing or take advantage of the many activities each day if you wanted to be more active and adventurous. We did go off the resort once to visit Dunn’s River Falls, but aside from that, we felt there was plenty to do right at Sandals.

We especially enjoyed the watersports that were available. We enjoyed two snorkeling trips and also went out in the sailboats (I think they are called hobeys?) twice. My husband also tried paddle-boarding.

The evening entertainment was impressive, and we tried to make it to each night’s show or event. We especially liked the reggae band. The Playmakers staff did a fantastic job of engaging people in the activities – we participated in several different events at the Manor pool throughout the week, which was a lot of fun.

The resort itself was beautiful and well-maintained – great views of the ocean and lots of little spots to kick back and spend a few quiet moments taking it all in. We loved the Sundowner Bar and the lounge chairs with their own outdoor fireplaces. It was simply a beautiful place.

The Staff
There were so many people that made our stay really wonderful – the Jamaican people certainly know how to accommodate and entertain! We especially enjoyed our two butlers, Glen and Christine. They went above and beyond to make sure we wouldn’t forget our week at Sandals. The best part was the evening when they surprised us with a bubble bath, champagne and treats, and a trail of petals through our room. Glen and Christine were both polite, efficient, friendly and uber-professional.

Others who made our stay memorable include Richard and Jemar at the watersports area, Gwendolyn at the Red Lane Spa, Glenroy at Valentino’s, Steve at Kimonos, Romain at Kelly’s Dockside, and Playmakers Raquel and Joel. Vishal, the Manor Side manager, introduced himself to us as we checked in and also called later in our stay to ensure we were enjoying ourselves.

Red Lane Spa
We visited the Red Lane Spa twice during our stay. The first time, we had a couples massage, which was absolutely wonderful. I would put it in the top five massages I’ve ever had. The second time we visited the spa, I did the bamboo scrub while my husband got a facial and a men’s pedicure. All of the services were very well done, and we enjoyed the other spa amenities that were available like the steam room and plunge pool. I would advise other Sandals guests to take advantage of the spa discounts – they have specials each day and the services can be quite expensive if you have to pay full price. If you visit during this time of year, you should be able to get an appointment even if you don’t book them until you’re already at Sandals.

The Time of Year
We were fortunate to have great weather for most of the week. It was overcast the day we arrived and the following day, but we enjoyed sunshine and warm temps (upper 80s) for the rest of the week. I would highly recommend coming during this time of year. The resort was not crowded at all, so it wasn’t hard to get dinner reservations or find a lounge chair by the pool. There were enough people around, though, that it didn’t feel like a ghost town or anything. Overall, I think it was perfect timing for our vacation.

Thank you so much, Sandals, for a honeymoon that we will never forget! We can’t wait to go back!

Room Tip: As I mentioned above, our room was right next to the housekeeping building. If you are placed in a r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cassie C, Sandals & Beaches Review Coordinator at Sandals Grande Riviera Beach & Villa Golf Resort, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Wow! What a wonderful honeymoon you had at Sandals Grande Riviera! We're more than pleased to hear your great review of your time spent with us. We're so glad that we were able to make your stay so special and one that you will certainly never forget. Thank you for your review. We look forward to your return in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pembroke Pines
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

We scheduled this vacation because my daughter and her husband were there in Grand Riviera in August and they couldn't stop talking about how great a time they had. They came short in their praises. My husband and I decided to take the trip although we are partial to cruises. My daughter suggested that we asked for the same butler Richard and Jeremy. Everything my daughter said was true plus more, from the food to the service, to the accommodations and the exceptional butlers it was all exceptional. This is a place we would visit again without hesitation, we highly recommend it and we are looking forward to our next visit. Richard and Jeremy went out of their way to please us in every way they could.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cassie C, Sandals & Beaches Review Coordinator at Sandals Grande Riviera Beach & Villa Golf Resort, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Richard and Jeremy are two of our best butlers and I'm so thrilled to read that your experience with them was nothing short of the norm. We strive to offer stellar experiences to our guests and it seemed they made sure your birthday trip was an amazing one. Thank you for your review. We look forward to seeing you back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Simply put, we were treated like royalty at Sandals Grand Riviera! The Concierge Manager Jason and his team went out of their way to make sure everything was GREAT. When my friends luggage was accidentally sent to the wrong resort, Jason solved the impossible problem and got the luggage to the resort with in a few hours, even though it was on the other side of the island. That was just the start of the great service.

Everyone greeted us with a smile. There were many staffers that we got to know but I have to say that Jason (Concierge Manager), Sasha (Entertainment Manager), Nattalie & Dwayne (Playmaker Team) and Brandon (waiter in multiple restaurants) are absolutely awesome. For us, even more important than the 'service' they provide, these folks are just good people. Friendly, personable, interesting, funny and great to spend time with. I would take Jason on my team 6 days a week and twice on Sunday!

I'm happy to answer any questions for folks headed to this resort. Let me know.

Ben & Angie (7 day trip in Oct. 2013)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cassie C, Sandals & Beaches Review Coordinator at Sandals Grande Riviera Beach & Villa Golf Resort, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Thanks so much for your review! You had such an awesome vacation with us at Sandals Grande Riviera and we're thrilled to hear it. Thanks to our eager and friendly staff, your stay seemed to be an experience you will never forget. We look forward to welcoming you back soon for an even better stay in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk, Scotland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

Travelled to SGR on 14th October and stayed for 11 glorious days.
We travelled BA business class which was fabulous but arrived at Kingston rush hour and had to endure exactly 2.5hours on the mini bus to the resort. Once there everything was perfect. Beautiful resort, accommodation, weather, food and most of all wonderful people. We were well looked after by our Butlers, GayAnn and Oren who were lovely and had wonderful service from Annmarie, Janine and Shawn down at the Ocho beach club. Entertainment in the evenings was good, loved the beach party and the chocolate buffet! Journey back to kingston was two hours but there is a new toll road being built which should cut the journey to 45 mins. The kingston club at the airport is included in the business class ticket so no need to purchase this at hotel.
We had a great holiday and would return in a heartbeat.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cassie C, Sandals & Beaches Review Coordinator at Sandals Grande Riviera Beach & Villa Golf Resort, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Thank you for your review of Sandals Grande Riviera. We're so glad to hear that you had a great trip. We always strive to offer amazing vacations to our guests and your feedback shows that we did just that during your stay. I will be sure to share your review with our staff. They will be so proud to hear of your kind mention.

We hope to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sandals Grande Riviera Beach & Villa Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandals Grande Riviera Beach & Villa Golf Resort

Address: Ocho Rios, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Ocho Rios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Ocho Rios
#3 Family Hotel in Ocho Rios
#5 Romantic Hotel in Ocho Rios
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Ocho Rios
#7 Luxury Hotel in Ocho Rios
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Ocho Rios
#7 Spa Hotel in Ocho Rios
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sandals Grande Riviera Beach & Villa Golf Resort 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•Situated on over 100 acres of lush hillside gardens overlooking the Caribbean Sea•529 villas, luxury rooms and suites with fantastic mountain and ocean views•94 pools (7 large public pools), 22 whirlpools•16 dining options including room service for butler serviced suites•2 luxurious Red Lane Spas•Complimentary golf at Jamaica’s most elite and popular golf course, the Sandals Golf & Country Club (Transfers to the golf course are included)•Over 5,000 sq. feet of first class meeting and conference facilities•Recently completed US$60 million renovation/refurbishing exercise•Voted Sandals Resorts “World’s Leading All-Inclusive Company” 16 years in a row•Voted Sandals Resorts “Caribbean’s Leading Hotel Brand”, 18 years in a row•Voted Sandals Grande Riviera ‘Jamaica’s Leading Resort’ ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tingo, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Sandals Grande Riviera Beach & Villa Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandals Grande Riviera Beach And Villa Golf Resort
Sandals Grande Riviera Beach & Villa Golf Hotel Ocho Rios
Sandals Ocho Rios
Ciboney Ocho Rios
Sandals Grande Riviera Beach & Villa Golf Resort Jamaica/Ocho Rios

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandals Grande Riviera Beach & Villa Golf Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.