We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amasings views - Great place at a reasonable price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hibiscus Lodge Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hibiscus Lodge Hotel to your Saves list
Hibiscus Lodge Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   83 Main St | St. Ann, Ocho Rios, Jamaica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 40 Hotels in Ocho Rios
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Amasings views - Great place at a reasonable price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013 via mobile

We found this place to be great, we had an ocean view room and the view was absolutely amazing. The hotel is on a cliff so there is no proper beach but the views make up for it. The service was great and the staff very helpful. We would easily stay here again if and when we are back in Ocho's

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    53
    11
    11
    3
See reviews for
18
48
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scotch Plains, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

This is a great location right on Main Street in the center of town. They do weddings there, as it's a beautiful garden settings. I have stayed here twice. The rooms are average, but clean. There are no telephones in the rooms, and I had asked management about it, however, I'm not sure if they put them in as yet.

They have their own pool and jacuzzi outdoors, and you can walk down to the beach. However, the beach does not have the great shore sand, where you can sunbath and relax. It's more like where you can go take a nice dip. There's also an area with a pipe, where you can go and get fresh water to wash off, after you are done taking your dip. If you decide to go take a dip, do not expect a sprawling white sand beach like I mentioned, as where the hotel is located, it's
not a good beach section.

There's also a restaurant on site, that do serve Jamaican hot breakfast, but you have to pay an extra US$3, unless you book the room with the breakfast included. The breakfast consists of callaloo, ackee & saltfish, fried dumplings, boiled bananas, etc. The restaurant on site is called, "Almond Tree Restaurant."

The rates are competitive and the staff is courteous and friendly.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013 via mobile

Great staff,excellent food and nice clean environment.The staff provided prompt efficient service.We enjoyed our Ocean View Room.Will definately stay there again.We had a good time talking with the parrot .I work in the hospitality industry and I was impressed with their service and level of cleansiness.The view from the pool deck is amazing.We took some amazing pictures there.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocho Rios, Jamaica
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Only thing they have going for them is the location, close to town and over looking the water other that it was a place to sleep and the bed was hard so I didn't sleep much. The was just okay nothing to write home about. If your coming to experience real Jamaican food this is not a good example. It was very disappointing to find out they are actually on a cliff and don't have there own beach but you have to walk aways to semi private beach. The pool is awkward with a an old wooden bridge over the middle. i will never stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cabot, Arkansas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

For the last several years we have been staying at the Hibiscus Lodge for much of February. Our experience has been great with bright sun, cool ocean breezes, and excellent food. It is close to town which we try to walk to everyday. There is much to do in Ocho Rios, but my favorite is to sit by the pool and read. Our maid fixes our room any way we want it, washes our clothes when we ask, and takes care of our general needs. The restaurant staff is cheerful and provides excellent service. They honor special requests for meals. The only event that has disappointed us is that one of the members of lower management has approached us with a request for money to pay for some furniture for her home. Several other guests in our group were also asked for money. We did report this to one of the owners of the lodge who was just as disappointed as we were. We do however already have our reservations for next February. The Hibiscus Lodge is our second home.

Room Tip: All good ocean views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Hello, I just want to say that I had my wedding reception at Hibiscus Lodge and my husband and I decided to also stay there for our honeymoon. I am so glad that we did both. The staff helped out tremendously with our cake and music setup (we wanted to do the other decorations ourselves). They definitely went the extra mile and made sure all was to our liking. This hotel in my books, can rival any of the big all-inclusive resorts in the surrounding area. The service of most staff at the hotel was respectful and professional. The grounds itself is beautiful with lush gardens and spectacular views of the Caribbean Sea. Our room was a big modern sea-view room (#27). I would recommend Hibiscus Lodge to anyone wanting to plan a wedding in Jamaica or just wanting the perfect getaway for two. My sincerest thanks to Marlene and Merv. You both are tops in the hotel service industry. I thank all the other staff as well, my husband and I enjoyed every minute of our stay and will definitely return again.

Sincerely,
L. Shaw

Room Tip: Top floor sea-view rooms are spacious and most with private terraces.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

This is a bit expensive , I had an ordinary room for one night and due to the air conditioning not working I was upgraded and can report that the delux rooms are worth having .Most of all what is nice in the place is the garden and walk down to the sea and a deck area were you can swim or sunbath very private. A feature of the gardens are the birds a parrot will talk to you if it feels like it . Breakfast is good and included but there was load music till about 3am .Its quiter in the delux rooms and the grounds include a swimming pool.

Room Tip: Its well worth taking a delux room these have great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hibiscus Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hibiscus Lodge Hotel

Address: 83 Main St | St. Ann, Ocho Rios, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Ocho Rios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Ocho Rios
#8 Spa Hotel in Ocho Rios
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hibiscus Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Venere, Otel, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hibiscus Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hibiscus Hotel Ocho Rios
Hibiscus Lodge Hotel Jamaica/Ocho Rios
Hibiscus Ocho Rios

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hibiscus Lodge Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.