We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovelly gardens” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hibiscus Lodge Hotel

Save Saved
You added Hibiscus Lodge Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hibiscus Lodge Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   83 Main St | St. Ann, Ocho Rios, Jamaica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 39 hotels in Ocho Rios
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Lovelly gardens”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

This is a bit expensive , I had an ordinary room for one night and due to the air conditioning not working I was upgraded and can report that the delux rooms are worth having .Most of all what is nice in the place is the garden and walk down to the sea and a deck area were you can swim or sunbath very private. A feature of the gardens are the birds a parrot will talk to you if it feels like it . Breakfast is good and included but there was load music till about 3am .Its quiter in the delux rooms and the grounds include a swimming pool.

Room Tip: Its well worth taking a delux room these have great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    57
    45
    9
    11
    3
See reviews for
14
42
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in Hibiscus Lodge deluxe room 5 nights in March 2013. The place is beautiful, with amazing garden and view.. Located right on the cliffs with posssibility to snorkel(my boyfriend said the snorkeling there was nicer than diving in Ochos).. The restaurant offers a broad selection of tasty Jamaican cousine.. The service was perfect with helpful and nice staff...and I think we are able to compare as we travelled across the whole island... The only minus for me belongs to the location... The place is secured but not located in the nicest part of the town... So i was not very comfortable with walking around in the evening... A nice and romantic place!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

While the Hibiscus Lodge Hotel is perfectly placed on the cliffs in Ocho Rios and their grounds are impeccably manicured, their front desk and wait staff could benefit from classes in hospitality and professionalism.

I have traveled all over the world and I have never experienced anything like the staff at Hibiscus Lodge. When we arrived we were told that the ocean front room that we had reserved was not available and the young lady at the Front Desk was obviously in a foul mood and was not very helpful. We were eventually given a room on the ground floor and our view was obstructed by the bridge over the pool.

The rooms are suited for students travelling on Spring break, a room for 3 had 3 twin beds in the room and a room for 4 had 4 twin beds, I think management needs to return to the drawing board and rethink how to best utilize the rooms, as this was a complete turn off for me and for other family members.

We were at Hibiscus Lodge for a wedding and I was quite appalled to see the wait staff and cooks in the back of the room dancing rather suggestively. This was insulting not only to the bride and groom who paid for their services, but the guests attending the wedding as well, and served as a distraction for other severs who neglected their duties and ignored guests.

We also had to tell the staff that some of the rugs in the rooms were worn out and frayed and needed to be replaced. This is not something your guests should have to point out, again management needs to reassess.

Telephones need to be installed in every room. In an emergency, if a guest is unable to walk to the Front Desk, no one would be alerted and this could lead to fatalities.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Hibiscus Lodge is a really beautiful hotel that gives you the freedom to explore Ocho Rios outside the confines of an all-inclusive, but it's a highly relaxing place to just sit and admire the setting.

The lodge is set atop the cliffs and peers out over a beautiful section of the ocean. Both the restaurant and the bar share the setting so they make wonderful places to just enjoy a drink and soak in the setting. We ate frequently at the restaurant and found the food to be great. The jerk chicken is great value and absolutely delicious. Breakfast is good too.

The room we had had a wonderful high ceiling and fan to keep the air moving, shutter windows to let in the air and a really comfortable bed. The rooms are meticulously kept clean. The balcony we had looked out over the pool and the view so was a great place to just sit out on and enjoy some drinks and snacks. We had cable television, plenty of storage and a clean bathroom. There is some noise from adjoining rooms but nothing overly disturbing. The big issue is the bar over the road that can have the music blaring at all hours. Be prepared.

Staff were friendly and helpful. The pool is a great place to retire and relax and is very clean. The surrounding town has a few local options in terms of food. Pizza King is quite good, but ask staff for further options.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eustis
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

This small hotel in Ochos Rios is attractive, well kept, with very nice staff. It is clean and dependable. The owner/manager is also very helpful. If you are looking for a moderately priced hotel in Ochos Rios, choose this hotel. The breakfasts are awesome. The restaurant serves authentic Jamaican food but I was disappointed in the steak, but the chicken is excellent. The oceanview is wonderful. Do not expect American hotel comparisons, but this hotel is worth coming to for a week in Ochos Rios.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

We have been at Hibiscus Lodge in February in a room with sea view. Gorgeous view! The staff was also very helpful and nice. The hotel is at walking distance from downtown Ocho, and most important, the reef in front of the hotel has some beautiful fish. Food at the restaurant could be better but this is not a problem, just go to Fisherman's beach and ask for Lobster Dave, the food is divine there. Ibiscus is also at 3 minutes walking distance from a beautiful sandy beach. We highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with sea view, totally worthy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedale, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

If you want a taste of real Jamaica you simply cannot beat Hibiscus Lodge. The ocean view rooms give a breath taking view which is absolutely worth the extra cost. Our room (no 14) was beautifully clean and the large balcony was fantastic! The food at Hibiscus is exceptional ... the Jamaican breakfast is simply the best!! The staff are friendly and extremely helpful and made our stay ... and Christmas ... one we will never forget :) It was my son's first trip to Jamaica and we will be definitely going back to Hibiscus in 2013!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hibiscus Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hibiscus Lodge Hotel

Address: 83 Main St | St. Ann, Ocho Rios, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Ocho Rios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Ocho Rios
#8 Spa Hotel in Ocho Rios
#9 Romantic Hotel in Ocho Rios
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hibiscus Lodge Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hibiscus Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hibiscus Hotel Ocho Rios
Hibiscus Lodge Hotel Jamaica/Ocho Rios
Hibiscus Ocho Rios

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hibiscus Lodge Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.