We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hibiscus Lodge Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hibiscus Lodge Hotel to your Saves list
Hibiscus Lodge Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   83 Main St | St. Ann, Ocho Rios, Jamaica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 39 Hotels in Ocho Rios
Atlanta, GA
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel during the weekend after Thanksgiving and had a great time. The room was very clean and comfortable. The grounds are absolutely beautiful: from the flowers, to the birds, to the landscaping. The bathroom was nice, white, clean, and spacious! And the view from the balcony was breathtaking.

The location of the hotel was perfect. This was my first time in Ochi and we were close to everything. Island Village (shopping area) and Margaritaville are about a 5 minute drive away. And Dunn's River Falls is about a 10 minute drive away. We went to both and had a wonderful time; especially at Dunn's River Falls. There are lots of places to eat. There is a restaurant on the property, but we only went there once for breakfast. We had the continental breakfast which was very good. My favorite was the cheese and fresh fruit!

Overall, this is a lovely, quaint, hotel and I've already suggested it to family members. I'll definitely be back. The staff as well as the owner were very nice and welcoming. And special note to all the future brides....perfect location for a wedding and/or honeymoon!!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    50
    11
    11
    3
See reviews for
17
46
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
texas
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Our group used the banquet hall at Hibiscus Lodge Hotel for our Gala Dinner & Dance in November. We enjoyed ourselves very much. The service that we received from the staff was great. They were very attentative to our needs. The food that was served was so tasty. We were glad that is was buffet style with many choices. The salad, main course and desserts were all very good. Excellent venue for our group. Thanks to all of you at Hibiscus Lodge.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatlinburg, TN
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

The Hibiscus Lodge Hotel is located on the water in the middle of Ocho Rios. It has absolutly great views. the balcony of the room is like an outdoor room. It has a table, chairs, chase lounge, electrical outlets and a spectacular view of the ocean. the rooms are clean and comfortable. The Almond Tree resturaunt is located on primisus. It is a great place to eat any time of the day. Last night I had the porkchops coverd in a banana and rasin sauce that was delicious. all of the staff are very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trinidad
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

I visited Ocho Rios for a seminar and stayed at this hotel for 3 nights. It was clean and the staff was friendly and it was a suitable location for the venue.

The hotel is not an all inclusive resort so one should not expect that type of environment but it has some very good ammenities: lovely view of the beach, a good restaurant on site [though the portion sizes are quite small compared to most European and US meals]. It is safe, there is free wifi on the whole compound and a great effort is taken to keep the place clean.

Some things you may want to note: there is no phone in the room, the front desk is not 24 hrs, the town of Ocho Rios is a walk away if you should want to venture there. I think a great effort has been made to general upkeep though a keen eye will note that some of the areas have seen the fairer side of life.

My final take is if you are looking for a good place to stay and you are working on a budget you should give it a shot.

Room Tip: Choose a room that overlooks the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

I've been coming here since 1990. I've always enjoyed the Hibiscus Lodge!

I've eaten here dozens of times over the years and the food is always good. The ambiance is lovely, and I've even been in a wedding here.

The Hibiscus Lodge is a real treasure.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Jamaica
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

Jacqui W

My Fiance and I visited the Hibiscus Lodge Hotel for a three nights stay during his vocation to the Island. We really would have preferred an all-inclusive at the time we were booking but had to opt for something else. We were not dissappointed. The Lodge was absolutely gorgeous.

The scenery was breath-taking from the front to the back. The staffs were friendly and nice from the front desk to the life-guards. The food was to die for and the kitchen staff was even lovelier. We really didn't miss the all-inclusive. It allows us to enjoy the walks on Main Street up to the square.

The rate is extremely affordable for such comfort.
We really look forward to coming back again. The best little hotel in Ocho Rios

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

I just got back from a few days at the Hibiscus Lodge. I had stayed there about twenty years ago and wondered how it would now measure up. It was great. Rooms 14 & 15 are perched on the cliff with spacious adjoining verandahs. It is worth the extra to stay in the cliffside rooms. The full breakfast that was included in the room rate was delicious and extensive. It was hard to leave.

The only negative is that the once beautiful coral reef has seriously deteriorated. While I saw many fish while snorkeling, there were very few of the beauiful corals that I recall from years past.

I didn't have a hard time finding it. Just go to the city center and go to the east. You'll first see a sign for the Bar with swings. (They are fun, though tricky if you've had too much rum. )

Room Tip: Rooms 14 & 15 and other cliffside rooms are worth the extra expense and have huge verandahs over...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hibiscus Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hibiscus Lodge Hotel

Address: 83 Main St | St. Ann, Ocho Rios, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Ocho Rios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Ocho Rios
#8 Spa Hotel in Ocho Rios
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hibiscus Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Venere, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Tingo so you can book your Hibiscus Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hibiscus Hotel Ocho Rios
Hibiscus Lodge Hotel Jamaica/Ocho Rios
Hibiscus Ocho Rios

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hibiscus Lodge Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.