We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still Terrific” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jamaica Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Jamaica Inn to your Saves list
Jamaica Inn
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Main St, Ocho Rios, Jamaica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Sun & Spa Special
Ranked #1 of 40 Hotels in Ocho Rios
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Still Terrific”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Just returned to the Jamaica Inn. This time we brought four more family members. My one brother-in-law and sister-in-law were literally dumbfounded. They liked it even more than we do, if possible, and are already planning a trip back. My last review didn't mention the amazing, sweet music combos that play in the evening on the veranda during dinner. My other brother-in-law is a professional musician. He agreed that they were amazing. We danced. We dined. Swam. Sailed. Played croquet. Laughed a lot. VIsited together. Met nice people. Met the owner and the manager....Sweet!

Room Tip: All rooms are fabulous, as far as I can see.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

769 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    676
    71
    11
    7
    4
See reviews for
66
496
28
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (247)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We loved everything about our six days of rest and relaxation at the wonderful and very special Jamaica Inn. The room was just one step away from the beach. It was handsome, comfortably furnished, and quiet. The terrace was sublime. The dinners were varied and well paced. We loved the spa. And we loved the friendly and attentive service. We didn't want to leave. A perfect experience.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I cannot speak highly enough of our experience at Jamaica Inn, If you want to truly get away from it all, want the amenities of a luxury resort and still feel like you are in a boutique hotel, go to Jamaica Inn. The rooms are absolutely lovely, each seem to have both a bedroom and a livingroom terrace with a view of the ocean. The staff are wonderful, and the restaurant (which I plan to review seperately) is excellent. The owner is at the hotel, and greets each of the guests. He is very hospitable and is genuinely concerned with your comfort. The head of guest services, Sherlene, is lovely, and incredibly helpful. My husband and I are generally very adventurous travelers, and don't usually hang out too much at the hotel. This place was difficult to leave each day, in fact, we barely did! The beach and setting are beautiful, one of the best vacations we have ever had,

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan Beach, California, United States
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My prayer as we pulled away from this exceptional hotel was that the owner's children want to take over the business. Truly, the Jamaica Inn is in a class by itself. There is nothing corporate about it.

We went here for a few days, not nearly long enough, before joining my family at a private villa. We stayed in a room right on the water so there was always an incredible breeze and the restful sound of waves crashing. Blissfully, there is no TV, but there is great internet if you want to keep up with the world.

It is like stepping back in time. Elegant, understated, gracious--like something Elizabeth Taylor would have loved. You never feel crowded. You always feel welcome; not once did a staff member pass us without a hello or an offer to assist in some way.

Dinner is served at 7:30 and you need "tall pants", not shorts, another holdback from another era which my husband gladly obliged. Appetizers are served at 6:30pm or so and everyone gathers near the bar or on the terrace. You can chose to join in or not. Tea, and a lot of snacks are served at 4, but honestly, I never made it up from the beach. And they have a friendly black lab puppy, Shadow, on site, ready to play with you. Who doesn't miss their dog when you are on vacation?

Among 5 star hotels, I think this is a fabulous value. Superb service, excellent meals, spacious rooms, a great beach. This is a place where you can truly unwind. It is a hike for me to get there from the west coast, but it is well worth the effort. Will definitely return. Thanks to everyone who made our stay so perfect.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I won't add anything new by parsing the wonderful staff, location, food, spa and management of Jamaica inn. However, I will say that the experience staying at this wonderful place was so much more then any review can convey. I'm a very finicky and demanding traveler and I've never had a better experience as I have at Jamaica Inn.

At the end, a perfect vacation is not about a checklist, but about the unquantifiable feeling of piece, relaxation and well-being. Jamaica inn creates an experience that's truly remarkable and unique. I have never been this relaxed on any vacation. Ever. This is due to a number of elements Jamaica Inn gets right, but the most impressive is the genuine and stellar service. I'll say it again - the service culture here is of the highest caliber.

Now, I do want to note one has to realize this not a magical fairytale land (though it often feels like one), it's a real place. As such, it may have few wrinkles. In our case there have been a few minor maintenance issues. What's important, is that any issue you will encounter (which you probably won't) will be resolved immediately with outmost respect and kindness.

I will also say that even though I was prepared for the small scale of the resort, I was a little doubtful we'd be comfortable in a tiny (by american standards) balcony suit when we first arrived. I was also wandering if I am going to get bored in my week long stay. Well, those were unnecessary worries. The balcony room may be on a small side, but it's very well appointed. Once we've unpacked and settled in, we couldn't love it more.

Also, we have not been bored a minute during our stay, once we switch our mode to "island time". And it rained for 4 days straight. The smart architectural detail actually allows you to get from your room to common areas without being exposed to the elements. That's lovely. Also, we found that our balcony was not getting too wet even in the heavy downpour, so we spent a lot of time sitting on the sofa watching the rain and the ocean. Actually, we very much enjoyed having dinner in the privacy of our balcony. To those who care - Wifi was available and worked perfectly.

The truly boutique experience of Jamaica Inn vacation was unlike anything I've ever encountered and we are counting the days to our second trip.

Room Tip: We had a balcony suite on the east side and loved it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We´ve stayed in Jamainca Inn for a week. It was probably the best week in the past 10 years. Every detail of the hotel is perfect. Entire staff is extremely kind and polite, food is amazing, beach is incredible and we stayed in Cottage 7 which was a superb choice! Spa was fantastic as well!

We had an amazing time during different things (stand up paddle, watching baby turtles going to water, dancing with live music in dinner, having a typical barbecue and relaxing as much as we could at the beach).

It is difficult to find a negative in the hotel. Maybe I would point the dressing code for dinner, it could be a bit more beach/relax style...but that certainly didn´t compromised anything.

We´ve absolutely loved our stay and will certainly come back again in another "escape" from the kids...

Highly recommend it !!!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Cottage 7 is out of this world !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed here with my family last spring in one of the cottages, and it was one of the best beach vacations we've ever taken. The hotel is absolutely beautiful, the beach is pristine and very peaceful and quiet. Every day at about 11 someone would come around the beach with complimentary rum punch, which was an added bonus.
We loved staying in our cottage (I think it was cottage one), which offered direct access to the beach. Because the cottages are set apart from the rest of the hotel, the beach near us was nearly empty, which suited us perfectly. Our cottage also had our own private pool, and every day the staff would put fresh-cut flowers in it which I thought was a nice touch. The air conditioning was also excellent, which was welcome given that Jamaica tends to be very warm.
My only complaint about the hotel was that the spa did not have a locker room, and we had to change into our robes in the bathroom, which was not ideal, but after I saw the view from the spa I really didn't care.
The staff is great, and we even got a complimentary souvenir box with a painting of the hotel on it when we left. When we wanted to visit Dunn's river falls, the hotel managed to get us into the park before it even opened, so we beat the crowds (as it got EXTREMELY crowded, this was a godsend).
Highly recommended.

Room Tip: The cottages are wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Jamaica Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jamaica Inn

Address: Main St, Ocho Rios, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Ocho Rios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Ocho Rios
#1 Spa Hotel in Ocho Rios
#1 Luxury Hotel in Ocho Rios
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ocho Rios
#1 Family Hotel in Ocho Rios
#2 Business Hotel in Ocho Rios
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Jamaica Inn 4.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1950, Jamaica Inn has consistently been ranked as one of the top resort hotels in the Caribbean. Jamaica Inn is a small, elegantly timeless resort located in beautiful Ocho Rios, Jamaica. With just 52 suites spread over 8 acres, there are sweeping views of the Caribbean Sea from every suite. This property boasts a 700-foot premier private beach, which is often considered to be the one of the best in the Caribbean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Jetsetter, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, HostelBookers, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Jamaica Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jamaica Hotel Ocho Rios
Jamaica Ocho Rios
Jamaica Inn Ocho Rios

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jamaica Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.