We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Resort. Can't Wait to Visit Again.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jamaica Inn

Save Saved
You added Jamaica Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Jamaica Inn
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Main St, Ocho Rios, Jamaica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Savings - Free Nts
Ranked #1 of 39 hotels in Ocho Rios
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful Resort. Can't Wait to Visit Again.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The staff is amazing. The property is peaceful and quiet. It was the perfect mom/daughter vacation. If you visit and the turtle hatching excursion is available, make sure you attend. We also saw the owner on the property everyday which was a nice touch.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamaicaInn, General Manager at Jamaica Inn, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Thank you for your review AhkibahK. We would also like to give our sincerest gratitude to all reviewers that have posted a review of us on Trip Advisor.
We are thrilled that you enjoyed our property and embraced the peace and quiet and peace of mind that we do try our utmost to offer here. It is wonderful that you were able to witness the amazing act of nature with the Turtle Hatching. Our summers into September are a very special time for us when we are often able to offer this experience. Each and every time is so special for us to see.
Our owners Eric & Peter have great passion for the Inn and our valued clients and we are happy that they make themselves available to chat when they are on property.
Again, thank you all so very much for choosing Jamaica Inn and we look forward to welcoming you home.

All the best,

Kyle Mais
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

644 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    570
    56
    8
    6
    4
See reviews for
49
413
23
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We just returned from a one week stay -- what a wonderful, relaxing hotel. Our room (No. 4) had a veranda, looked out at the croquet lawn and then right to the beach. So close! Great service all around. Low key, but they couldn't do enough for us. We had a delicious breakfast each morning on our veranda, and lunch was delivered to the beach. Twice, we had Marvin take us snorkeling in the morning. Definitely well worth it. We also enjoyed a delightful couples' massage at sunset, overlooking the beautiful ocean. The beach is wonderful. Immaculate, with clear, warm water. Dinners at the hotel were good. Again, beautiful setting under the stars and nice live music. Perfect trip for two stressed out lawyers looking to decompress! Can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: No need to upgrade to the rooms directly on the beach -- Room 4 was only a few yards further back, b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davidson, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The most stunning and beautiful place we have ever been to. Thanks so much to the Morrow family and Eric especially for making us feel at home. Thanks to Kyle also. The staff is the BEST. We will be back soon
Mark & Elaine

Room Tip: The Premier Verandah rooms step right onto the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gadogs06
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Me and my wife visited Jamaica Inn June 23rd - 30th and could not have had a better experience. We have visited some very nice all inclusive resorts in Mexico and Jamaica Inn topped them all. I don't see how anyone could rate this resort anything less than 5 stars. I'll break this review down into sections for those like me that like things organized.

Resort:
As others have stated this is a beautiful place. Everything is kept clean. They spend more money keeping the resort looking "old" and "traditional" in order to keep with the ambiance of the resort. All rooms are ocean front and all have easy beach access. Our room was a far as possible to the restaurant and other main building and it was not a bad walk at all. I won't go on and on about he resort as others have hit on how beautiful a place this is.

Room:
We were lucky to stay in Cottage 7. This is their newest room. We figured since the resort is more of a traditional style we would book the room that had a more modern touch to get the best of both worlds. This room is unbelievable. You enter the room on the ground floor and immediately are looking out through the 20 ft sliding doors onto your own private infinity pool overlooking the ocean. The room was private with another cottage on one side and the spa on the other both blocked by trees and vegetation. We used our pool everyday and also used the direct ocean access to take late afternoon swims in the ocean right in front of the cottage. Upstairs is a beautifully appointed bedroom overlooking the great view of the ocean. It also has a large bathroom area with double vanity, walk in closet, and indoor and outdoor shower. I used the outdoor shower each day. The passing boats probably got a good laugh. This is by far the best room we have ever stayed in.

Service:
This is what makes this place special. The employees here are unbelievable. We felt as if we were leaving friends behind when we left. Rupert, Teddy, Winston, and Damar down at the beach bar made our vacation even more special. They took care of us the whole time and we loved hearing stories after stories from each of them about their lives and experiences at the resort. Rupert taught us how to play croquet and we played almost everyday with him. The rest of the week he referred to my wife as "partner" because they were partners in croquet. He's such a nice man. Winston was even kind enough to take us out on the town one night to a local club along with Stretch and some other employees. The next morning he called our cottage to make sure we weren't too hungover and asked what he could do to help. Now that's good service. The service at dinner each night was equally great. They saved the corner table overlooking the ocean for us each night without us ever asking for it. One night we wanted to stay in our room as we were full from eating all day and we got a call about 9:15 asking if we were coming to dinner or if we wanted room service. That's pretty special for them to notice that we haven't showed up to dinner and to call and offer up services. The service is what makes me want to come back to this place and see these same employees again.

Food:
The food was great all week. We splurged for the all-inclusive plan since it was our honeymoon and I think it was a good choice as the prices looked like they could add up very quickly. We enjoyed breakfast either in our room or at the restaurant every day and never had anything that was not great. Most days we had lunch on the beach or at the beach bar. They have an all day menu or if you want to order off the lunch menu they will be glad to accommodate you. The Chicken wrap was so good I had to have it a few times. Dinner at the resort is a memorable time. You eat outside (which can be very hot but its Jamaica) while listing to a band playing hits and reggae. Some nights are more relaxed than others but all are wonderful. Each night you have a different menu. All the meals we had were wonderful. The jerked grouper was great and I never order fish anywhere. My wife is vegetarian and she enjoyed every meal as well.

Overall this is a special place that we will never forget. I always say I don't want to go to the same resort twice but I can promise we will be back here one day for another special occasion. Thank you to the staff and Kyle (GM) for making our honeymoon wonderful in all ways. Kyle greeted us everyday with a conversation and made us feel like family which is far and few between and larger resorts. I would highly recommend this place for people wanting to get away and relax without a worry in the world.

Room Tip: All rooms have a ocean view. If you want to splurge get one of the nicer cottages or the white suite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Jamaica Inn. We stayed for 14 nights and were in the Blue Cottage (no.35) which is the only cottage that is situated on the beach. It was absolutely fantastic, all we had to do was step out of our front door and there we were standing on the sand. The cottage was cleaned every day and the bed always had two swans sat on it, made out of towels and decorated with flowers.

We celebrated our 5th wedding anniversary two days after we arrived and received a complimentary bottle of wine.

We went all inclusive and enjoyed the all-day menu including lazy lunch times on the beach and had a different menu (3 courses) for our evening meal which we ate at the restaurant and listened to a mixture of popular and reggae music sung by either Dalton, who also played bass guitar or Merrick (Weds & Fri). I must give a mention to the other band members, Geoff (drums), Mr Brown (keyboard) and Russell (keyboard).

We found the beach to be the best we have ever been on, not only was the sand very nice but there was enough space between beds to give you the privacy needed. We also took advantage of the free water sports (kayaks, paddle boards, snorkelling) and a complimentary massage at the spa. If you are not too tired after a day’s sunbathing, you could try your luck at a game of Croquet with the resident Croquet champion, Rupert.

It was also my birthday whilst we were there and at the evening meal in the restaurant, all the waiters sang happy birthday to me as they neared our table and I was presented with a cake with candles on it. Dalton, the singer then finished it off by dedicating his favourite song to me. Little gestures like this really did make the holiday special.

All the staff were very friendly and attentive throughout our stay, would just like to mention a few who stood out – Sherline (PA to the general manager), Alvin, Robert and Ryan (managers at breakfast / evening meal), Donald, Kirk and Larkin (breakfast waiters), Dane, Johnson, Melvin and Romayne (evening waiters), Rupert (barman / beach waiter), Winston (barman), Georgia (bar). A special mention to Kemar (barman), who was outstanding. He was the only one who when serving us a drink, left the wrapping on the end of the straw. He also offered us extra hors d’oevres, drinks and napkins before we needed to ask.

The resort management are fully aware of their heritage and also of sustaining their beautiful surroundings. One element of this is their close affinity with Mel Tennant aka “the turtle man” who is working tirelessly to preserve the wild population of turtles that lay their eggs on a beach close to the resort. The phone will ring with a message that a nest is about to hatch, and the resort manager arranges a mini bus trip to meet Mel and experience an incredible hands on (literally!) experience of watching baby turtles hatch and make their way to sea. A trip not to be missed.

Overall, this was a very special resort, with a great attitude to making every day of the holiday special, from the first “welcome home” to the last “you have to go back so that you can come here again”. It had a different feel to it which was a great mix of laid back attentiveness. Don’t expect wall to wall marble and power showers, but instead enjoy the comfortable feel of a resort that continues to mature well and still has a certain aura that was present when Churchill & Monroe, amongst others, enjoyed the same ambience.

Just go there!

Room Tip: Luxury veranda or cottage cause they are closer to the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

It is almost a year since I stayed at the Jamaica Inn and looking at the pictures brings back many fond memories. I spent eleven days in one of the garden rooms and it was a dream come true. For many years I had wanted to stay at that beautiful hotel and it was even more beautiful then I had imagined. It has the prettiest private beach in Jamaica, sheltered by romantic cliffs and surrounded by a tropical garden with palm trees and flowers. The architecture is classical british and has an air of elegance. At the same time the ambiance is very warm and welcoming. And of course the service is impeccable. Most of all I enjoyed the people who work there, their friendliness and caring ways. Looking forward to staying at this exceptional hotel again before the end of this year - I am missing you Jamaica Inn.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Everything about the Jamaica Inn contributes to the wonderful experience you will have if you stay here. It is a boutique style hotel with amazing views, great service and delicious food. I wish I could stay here every year!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Jamaica Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jamaica Inn

Address: Main St, Ocho Rios, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Ocho Rios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Ocho Rios
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Ocho Rios
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ocho Rios
#1 Spa Hotel in Ocho Rios
#1 Family Hotel in Ocho Rios
#2 Business Hotel in Ocho Rios
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Jamaica Inn 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1950, Jamaica Inn has consistently been ranked as one of the top resort hotels in the Caribbean. Jamaica Inn is a small, elegantly timeless resort located in beautiful Ocho Rios, Jamaica. With just 48 suites spread over 8 acres, there are sweeping views of the Caribbean Sea from every suite. This eight-acre property boasts a 700-foot premier private beach, which is often considered to be the one of the best in the Caribbean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HostelBookers, Tingo, Travelocity, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Jamaica Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jamaica Hotel Ocho Rios
Jamaica Ocho Rios
Jamaica Inn Ocho Rios

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jamaica Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.