We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jamaica Inn - "Welcome Home"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jamaica Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Jamaica Inn to your Saves list
Jamaica Inn
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Main St, Ocho Rios, Jamaica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Night Special
Ranked #1 of 40 Hotels in Ocho Rios
Towson, Maryland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Jamaica Inn - "Welcome Home"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

My husband and I just returned from a week's vacation at Jamaica Inn. We took advantage of their Celebration of Romance package, a fantastic choice and an outstanding value for the quality.

Jamaica Inn arranged for transportation to and from the airport. Our driver was the same nice guy - both to and from the airport - and his car was comfortable and immaculate.

As soon as we arrived at the Inn, we were greated by the front desk receptionist, who said, "Welcome Home." I will never forget how warm this greeting made us feel, and all staff members did everything possible, throughout our stay, to make us feel welcome and at home.

We stayed in a Deluxe Verandah Suite with beautiful ocean views. I actually liked our suite better than some of the ocean-front suites, because the gardens were so lovely, and we could see the ocean too. Our suite was quite large. There was air-conditioning in the bedroom and bathroom, but it was rarely needed, as there was always a cooling cross-breeze. Outdoors on our verandah was confortable furniture, including a full-sized sofa, wing chair, table and chairs for having a meal or enjoying a drink, and a refrigerator which, for an additional charge, they will stock daily upon request.

Jamaica Inn has a lovely, private, champagne-colored beach. They also have a pool on site that's probably the most pristine I've ever swam. The grounds are beautifully maintained, and the common areas are warm and inviting. We can't say enough good things about the food. The menus are varied, and everything is fresh. They also have a nice selection of wines and mixed drinks, and the outside bar - not to be missed - is a special treat. Great bartenders, many of them having been with the Inn for decades, who share interesting stories and history about the Inn.

Part of our Celebration of Romance package included a one-hour couples massage. Massages are given outside where you can enjoy the sounds of nature - ocean waves and song birds. The therapists do a great job relaxing stressed muscles and work hard to make you feel relaxed.

Also included in our package was a romantic dinner for two - on one night of our stay - right on the beach. Our server, Steve, was fantastic. We felt so special being the only couple at the Inn having dinner on the beach, under the stars.

Jamaica Inn also has a boat for its guests. We took time to visit Dunn's River Falls and go snorkeling for the day. The captain and co-captain were a lot of fun and helped make our outing enjoyable. In addition to this escursion, there are numerous other activities that the Inn can coordinate for you, so be sure to check into what activities are available when you arrive.

We have traveled the Caribbean extensively, and Jamaica Inn is one of the nicest places we've ever stayed. In addition to its beauty and fantastic food, the staff can't be beat. These are some of the nicest people you will ever meet.

Finally, I highly recommend Jamaica Inn, especially for couples. It's a magical place.

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely, however if you have more than two persons, I suggest you look into renting one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

864 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    753
    87
    12
    8
    4
See reviews for
80
567
30
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (288)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stamford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Having used to this website to plan this Trip to Jamaica Inn, I thought i should add my two cents as well.

In a word: fantastic!

First a disclaimer, Jamaica in is not a cheap option... It is expensive but in our option well worth the money.

My wife and I have been going to Jamaica for about 10 years now, and have stayed at several places around the island including the Ritz in Mobay and the Sandals properties in Negril, Mobay and Dunns River. Jamaica Inn is by far the best. It is well located about. 1 mile from down town Ocho Rios, while being on a private beach which is quite and uncrowded. The staff is top notch and the service is impeccable. The general manager, Mary Phillips, is always on site and the owners, Eric and Peter, apparent come by quite a bit as well. (They were both at the property when we were there). All of them keep circulating among the guest to make sure all the guest are comfortable and well looked after.
As for the rooms, we took the smallest and cheapest room, the balcony suite, which was still quite large and very comfortable. The balcony is large and furnished with a comfortable sofa/love-seat, small dinning table, prefect for enjoying the sea view (Which is truly a full sea view.. not some partial or blocked view like most other resorts) and something from room service and a writing desk. See pictures. (From what I could see, The veranda suites have a couple of lounge chairs as well).

The meals we ate at the Inn's only restaurant were extremely well prepared and beautifully severed and delicious. Meals were served between specific times - e.g. breakfast from 7:30 to 10:30am., Lunch from 1:00 to 2:30pm, - although there is a limited "between meals" menu in case you get peckish. We also did not check to see if we could get something off the breakfast or lunch menu after the set time, though the staff did give us the impression that they would accommodate our requests if they could. The dinner menu changes daily, apparently based on the freshest catch and veggies for that day and the chef's mood, though there does seem to be some hold overs from the prior day (and the dessert menu only changed once during the 5 days hat we were there). You can choose the fix price 5 course option - appetizer, soup, salad (with 2 choices for each course) entrée, and dessert (with 4 to 5 choices for each course) for approximately $90 or pick specific dishes off the menu a la carte. The fixed price option is cheaper if you r hungry. The dress code for dinner is long pants and collared shirts for men (jackets are optional) and women dressing accordingly. (They do not require that men wear socks and closed shoes and did not seem to mind that I wore elegant leather sandals on couple of occasions, however I would leave the teva and flip flops in the room.) they had live music every night we were there, usually of the jazz or light rock variety, though all of them seemed to default to reggae and Bob Marley by the end of the night....but what can you expect, this is Jamaica after all.

On the first night there we noticed that, by custom and practice, guest generally came to the wood paneled library or bar for a cocktails and light hors d'oeuvres before retiring to the open air Dinning Terrence for dinner, however, the tuxedo swathed maitre'd always made it a point to ask us if we would preferred to proceed straight to dinner instead. All this formality gave us the impression of stepping back into a period of grace and yester-year charm without taking away from the relaxation and fun that makes vacations worthwhile.
If you are not in the mood for all that, guest are welcome to order dinner from the evening's menu to be served in their room, where the staff will still bring and serve each course separately so nothing gets cold, while you enjoy dinner in the privacy of your own balcony or veranda. We tried that on one occasion and absolutely loved the experience. (There was an extra $5 room service charge, but we were only charged once for the entire meal rather than for each course).

Over all if you are looking for a relaxing, comfortable and gracious experience, I would recommend the Jamaica Inn highly.

Room Tip: The smallest room, the balcony suite, was still pretty big and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Originally I'd booked an oceanfront room, but the reggae coming across the bay from Sandals was driving me insane. So I upgraded to a simply outstanding cottage with 225 degree view of the ocean, our own pool, outdoor shower, three or four outdoor places to sun ourselves, but there was no sun. Rained and was cloudy all week. That room saved the day. Had the meals sent to the cottage. Love the hotel -- everything I hate about huge properties is notoriously absent. They could do with better food, though. It's just...not interesting. Not great. But don't let that stop you -- it's a magical place and worth it. By the way, deep tissue massage is no different than ordinary one, tried them all. So just pay the minimum.

Room Tip: Splurge! get a cottage!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Indiana
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Just returned from our second stay at The Jamaica Inn and loved it -- again! Located just east of Ocho Rios, the inn is about a 90-minute drive from Montego Bay airport, but it's a nice drive and worth the time. This small, family-owned inn has a lovely setting on a private cove, with comfortably elegant rooms and one of the best restaurants we've enjoyed anywhere. The staff is extremely welcoming -- many have worked there much of their lives. This is not for the disco crowd -- a quiet reggae band accompanies dinner under the stars and a jigsaw puzzle in the library duels with the croquet court for the competitive guests. But, there are kayaks, sailboats and snorkling for those who feel inclined -- and lots of palapas with rum punch for the rest of us!

Room Tip: If you can afford it, get one of the premium verandah suites on the west side, overlooking the water...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South England
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Having explored the Port Antonio area we just decided to stop, relax and enjoy the wonderful facilities. The view from our balcony on the west wing was fantastic and very private. We lay on the beautiful sand beach, swam, snorkeled or borrowed the hotels kayak and small sailing dingy. We loved the live reggae music in the evening eating supper under the stars.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Besides the Old World charm of this place with no TV and radio and clocks, it is the staff that make it special. Many have been there for 10 plus years and the Beach Bar Bartender is in his 54th year!
It is clear the management and vacationers take good care of the staff and I imagine that their jobs are coveted by many.
The food is good and varied. The beach is small but special. But every room is just a stone's throw from the ocean and there are plenty of cabana's for everyone. We enjoyed sitting under the natural shade of the Almond trees and Sea Grape trees.
The Planters Punch at check-in and noon every day is a highlight of the fun. Plenty to do with croquet and various water sports. This was a welcome change from the cold and gray and rain of this winter/spring. I look forward to our fifth trip next winter.

Room Tip: No bad rooms there. Just do what you can afford.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

The beach bar waiter just dropped off my daily Planter's Punch, as I sit on the beach saddened that this is the last day of my honeymoon at the outstanding Jamaica Inn.

The Jamaica Inn is a must visit for all couples. Mary Phillips, the Manager, has created an atmosphere that is not to be missed. The staff is so amazingly friendly, you will call them your friends when you leave. My wife and I are already trading emails and taking pictures with our new friends like it's the last day of camp.

A typical day here starts with a quick trip to the exercise room followed by a gigantic breakfast served on the porch of the room facing the beach and ocean. A few hours on the beach, then it's time to his the beach bar and say Hi to Teddy. You'll see Winston walking too chopping coconuts for the guests to drink out of. Lunch is served - order the Taste of Jamaica for your daily dose of jerk chicken. Head back to the beach, take out a kayak for a little bit, jump into the ocean or the pool, take a nap on the hammock, then head to happy hour for drinks and cocktails before dinner.

Dinner is outstanding night after night. Sure you can venture off the reservation but you don't have to. Dinner under the stars on the veranda cannot be beat.

Grab a drink at the bar and say Hi to Patrice, Palmer, Reggae, Kamar, Damar, JT and the rest of the guys working at the bar and restaurant. They're more than happy to accommodate your every need!

The Jamaica Inn provided us with the most wonderful week we've ever had in our lives. Thank you!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Jamaica Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jamaica Inn

Address: Main St, Ocho Rios, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Ocho Rios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Ocho Rios
#1 Luxury Hotel in Ocho Rios
#1 Family Hotel in Ocho Rios
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ocho Rios
#1 Spa Hotel in Ocho Rios
#2 Business Hotel in Ocho Rios
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Jamaica Inn 4.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1950, Jamaica Inn has consistently been ranked as one of the top resort hotels in the Caribbean. Jamaica Inn is a small, elegantly timeless resort located in beautiful Ocho Rios, Jamaica. With just 52 suites spread over 8 acres, there are sweeping views of the Caribbean Sea from every suite. This property boasts a 700-foot premier private beach, which is often considered to be the one of the best in the Caribbean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HostelBookers and Jetsetter so you can book your Jamaica Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jamaica Hotel Ocho Rios
Jamaica Ocho Rios
Jamaica Inn Ocho Rios

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jamaica Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.