We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Understated elegance” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jamaica Inn

Save Saved
You added Jamaica Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Jamaica Inn
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Main St, Ocho Rios, Jamaica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Savings - Free Nts
Ranked #1 of 39 hotels in Ocho Rios
Inverness
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Understated elegance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Recently returned from yet another stay at Jamaica Inn. Have been guests at this property almost every year since 1995. Jamaica Inn has always been an excellent property but has only become better under the guidance of Mary Phillips, general manager. The property can best be described as "understated elegance". It is quiet, almost seductive. The beach is one of the best and least crowded in Jamaica. While I have tried hundreds of times, the beauty of the properety simply cannot be fully captured in photos. The rooms are functional, the connecting verandas are spectacular with each presenting a slighlly different vista toward the ocean. Breakfast on the pavilion simply over powers the senses. Cocktails on the balcony are a must and dinner under the stars and served by candlelite can best be decsribed as a "unique" experience. Perhaps the finest asset of this property is the staff. Their warmth is sincere and contagious but they always remain professional in every way. Dining room service is impeccable, on a level seldon found in the states. Over the years, many of the staff have become good friends and returning to the Jamaica Inn really is like visiting family. We look forward to again being "welcomed home"!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

645 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    571
    56
    8
    6
    4
See reviews for
49
414
23
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
philadelphia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

I tried to take some photos of this resort and none of them could come close to capturing the true beauty of the Jamaica Inn. The same goes for writing a review. This place is indescribable. My wife and I spent a week there, and we can't wait to return. It's like we stepped back in time. The elegance, the white table clothes, the decor mixed with the landscaping the beauty of the beach and the wonderful people added up to a memorable experience.
We stayed in room 45, a premier verandah directly on the beach. Every morning we were greeted by breakfast served right on our front porch. We'd spend the days camped out on the beach while Rupert (35 year employee) would serve us drinks, whenever he wasn't busy ruling the croquet court. A waiter would take our food orders and set our table for lunch. There was afternoon tea and a cocktail hour before dinner with proper attire (jacket for men, dress for the ladies) was served. After dinner we'd sit on the terrace have drinks and listen to music. All of this may sound stuffy (croquet, tea, dressing for dinner) but it is not. The Inn has a charm from days gone by. The owner (Peter) and the manager (Mary) made it a point to take an interest in you. The staff was awesome top to bottom. We aren't that adventurous and didn't venture off the grounds, but those who did loved the food at local restaurants and the various activities such as Dunns River Falls.
There is a price that comes with this experience. The Jamaica Inn is not cheap, but it is well worth the money. Your visit will be one that you will never forget. The moonlight couples massage was one of the best things that we have ever done.
If you go, I'd suggest
Get the All-Inclusive Package (meals, drinks and taxes can add up)
Get the Premier Verandah Suite
Get the Couples Moonlight Massage (85 minutes)
Bring cash to tip - although not required, these folks deserve it(far better service than we get in the States) and appreciated it (they appreciate you appreciating them.

Only negatives
It is a haul from the airport (1 1/2 to 2 hours) but the drive is kind of fun.
There is a bit of hierarchy to getting the right beach chairs
BUT all in all it's wonderful

Room Tip: Premier Verandah---All Inclusive is the way to go
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamaicaInn, Director of Sales at Jamaica Inn, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thank you Toddayo for such a wonderful review of Jamaica Inn! We truly appreciate you and all of our other reviewers taking the time to write about their experience here. It was an absolute pleasure having you with us. For your next trip, please note that just a shirt with a collar for dinner is required (a polo shirt would be just fine), if you would if you would rather not wear jacket. To make your next trip even better, you could consider doing a private car transfer with us or though your travel agency. It will be a lot quicker and more comfortable for you. We look forward to welcoming you back home!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

I've reviewed this place before, when we were there 2 years ago. I wouldn't change anything I said before - we love Jamaica Inn and everything was exactly as we remembered/expected. Though it is definitely NOT inexpensive, it is worth it if you are looking for - low key and relaxing in a beautiful resort with wonderful staff all-around.

As long as you know what to expect and it's what you're looking for, I don't see how you can be disappointed here.

Room Tip: Don't worry about choosing the least expensive room - though it is a bit small, it isn't wha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hinsdale, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

1.) Food - Dinners were all five star.
The food was always excellent, it's now even better. No hotel on the island comes close. I could go thru the entire menu.

2.) Staff - Absolutely, positively All-Pro at every position. It is hard to imagine how you can better "share the love"
throughout your entire staff.

The overall positive energy vibe is impossible to underestimate. They are not just capable, not just friendly, but they seem deeply within themselves in peace.

3.) Cleanliness & Service - everything meticulous. The gardens were immaculate.

4.) Work-Out room - I use the bike. It is in perfect condition. The room was always clean and organized.

5.) Coffee - The island has Blue Mountain coffee. It seems others scrimp. Your coffee is spectacular. Please always keep serving your coffee. It is absolutely delicious.

6.) Teddy - at the bar is a master at making people feel good about themselves. He is brilliant.

7.) Mary General Manager - It's impossible to underestimate her Yin-Yang capacity to make sure all is right, yet she presents an otherworldly relaxed Zen peace and sense of open-hearted sharing of life's best.

8.) Peter Morrow - the owner, at the right time of year, can easily be found gently abiding within his welcoming space of quiet joy.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Worth, Florida
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Incredible!! What a trip we had to the Jamaica inn in feb.2013. Mary the GM runs the best inn ever.went their with a group of 8 and did not have one complaint.oh just one.Rufus a employee never let me win at croquet..8 games and lost everyone..not only good at this game but a special person.If your worried that the staff might not be very friendly your wrong.We travel a lot as a group and all of us thought the staff was the most friendly anywhere we've been.We met the owner and he is a hands on type of person.Hiring Mary was the best thing he has ever done for the inn.I asked two employees why Mary is soooo good they said " she is so tough and consistent on us ". Well it shows.A very happy place,happy staff,right price,super rooms,great beach and food that will make you come back...A very happy customer...We will return next year..thanks Mary and staff..

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trumbull
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

My wife and I spent a glorious week, enjoying the beautiful beach, the fabulous service, and the wonderful people who make Jamaica Inn so special. This was our third trip to JI, and we have met many other guests with far longer track records. We think Jamaica Inn is the perfect place to slow down, and relax..Everyone at Jamaica Inn is glad you are there, and it shows in many ways. the service is excellent. Normally, we require nothing out of the ordinary, but have found that simply asking for something will make it happen. We told Chris at the beach that we liked the lounge chairs under the almond tree, and each morning he had them all made up with towels and reserved for us. Not that there is any shortage of chairs, more that the staff wants to make it just right for you. Patrice in the bar area remembered our names from last year and made us feel extraordinarily special. This is particularly noteworthy in a resort where tipping is already included and not encouraged. Teddy at the beach bar has been at JI for more years than my grown children have been alive. Rupert has been training guests in the correct approach to English croquet on the beach-side court for many years, and he is a highly recommended partner, particularly if you want to be on the winning side.
The staff is well-trained, the grounds and beach always beautiful. The sand is clean, the water beautiful.

Jamaica Inn is perfect for us, but not for those looking for a high level of activity. This is a place for reading on the beach, not beach volleyball. The guests we have met are in their 40's (not too many), 50's and 60's (mostly) and some older. The food is god and getting better. Mary (GM) told us that she sends the chef to NYC in August to work in other restaurants and develop new skills. Just in the past two years, we have seen measurable improvement. The fresh fish at dinner is always good and some of the dishes are really excellent, way beyond what you might expect in Carribean cuisine. This trip, we enjoyed each meal, and some were in the extraordinary category. I was surprised and delighted with the quality of the beef at two meals. The wine list was better than I remember from past visits, many more reasonably priced bottles and a wider range of choices. Breakfast in the room is lovely, delivered on time, and well presented, with a fresh white table cloth. But "in the room" is really not a fair description. It is served on your porch, looking out over the wonderful water and green lawns. Meals are not cheap and we have always opted for a meal plan (breakfast and dinner), which allows us to have whatever we want on the menu. This has worked out very well for us.

We think the rooms are great, love the old fashioned porches, but recognize that the old-fashioned shutters that close off the bedroom from the porch are not always easy to open. No, they are not fancy, but we really like that style and approach. We are not into glitz. The Jamaica Inn has everything you want and it has a staff that makes you feel glad that you chose to come there. And Mary is doing a wonderful job of making sure that contiues to happen.

Room Tip: All are good, we have had a balcony suite (great views and a bit less expensive) and a veranda on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnetka, llinois
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Jamaica Inn has a relaxed and gentile elegance not often found in contemporary properties. The perfectly maintaned grounds and beautiful rooms with gorgeous views combined with the warm and hospitable staff make this a paradise. Mary, the manager, is a charming host, and oversees the impeccable but unobtrusive staff. Our room, 43, gave us a living room open to the beach and surf, unequaled in my experience. Meals were unfailingly delicious, and here again the waiters were eager to please with special orders. This vacation was a return to relaxed elegance and charm.

Room Tip: I found every room to be beautiful, especially 41-48
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Jamaica Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jamaica Inn

Address: Main St, Ocho Rios, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Ocho Rios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Ocho Rios
#1 Luxury Hotel in Ocho Rios
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ocho Rios
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Ocho Rios
#1 Family Hotel in Ocho Rios
#2 Business Hotel in Ocho Rios
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Jamaica Inn 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1950, Jamaica Inn has consistently been ranked as one of the top resort hotels in the Caribbean. Jamaica Inn is a small, elegantly timeless resort located in beautiful Ocho Rios, Jamaica. With just 48 suites spread over 8 acres, there are sweeping views of the Caribbean Sea from every suite. This eight-acre property boasts a 700-foot premier private beach, which is often considered to be the one of the best in the Caribbean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HostelBookers, Tingo, Travelocity, HotelsClick, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Jamaica Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jamaica Hotel Ocho Rios
Jamaica Ocho Rios
Jamaica Inn Ocho Rios

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jamaica Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.