We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderfully relaxing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jamaica Inn

Save Saved
You added Jamaica Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Jamaica Inn
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Main St, Ocho Rios, Jamaica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Savings - Free Nts
Ranked #1 of 39 Hotels in Ocho Rios
Trumbull
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Wonderfully relaxing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

My wife and I spent a glorious week, enjoying the beautiful beach, the fabulous service, and the wonderful people who make Jamaica Inn so special. This was our third trip to JI, and we have met many other guests with far longer track records. We think Jamaica Inn is the perfect place to slow down, and relax..Everyone at Jamaica Inn is glad you are there, and it shows in many ways. the service is excellent. Normally, we require nothing out of the ordinary, but have found that simply asking for something will make it happen. We told Chris at the beach that we liked the lounge chairs under the almond tree, and each morning he had them all made up with towels and reserved for us. Not that there is any shortage of chairs, more that the staff wants to make it just right for you. Patrice in the bar area remembered our names from last year and made us feel extraordinarily special. This is particularly noteworthy in a resort where tipping is already included and not encouraged. Teddy at the beach bar has been at JI for more years than my grown children have been alive. Rupert has been training guests in the correct approach to English croquet on the beach-side court for many years, and he is a highly recommended partner, particularly if you want to be on the winning side.
The staff is well-trained, the grounds and beach always beautiful. The sand is clean, the water beautiful.

Jamaica Inn is perfect for us, but not for those looking for a high level of activity. This is a place for reading on the beach, not beach volleyball. The guests we have met are in their 40's (not too many), 50's and 60's (mostly) and some older. The food is god and getting better. Mary (GM) told us that she sends the chef to NYC in August to work in other restaurants and develop new skills. Just in the past two years, we have seen measurable improvement. The fresh fish at dinner is always good and some of the dishes are really excellent, way beyond what you might expect in Carribean cuisine. This trip, we enjoyed each meal, and some were in the extraordinary category. I was surprised and delighted with the quality of the beef at two meals. The wine list was better than I remember from past visits, many more reasonably priced bottles and a wider range of choices. Breakfast in the room is lovely, delivered on time, and well presented, with a fresh white table cloth. But "in the room" is really not a fair description. It is served on your porch, looking out over the wonderful water and green lawns. Meals are not cheap and we have always opted for a meal plan (breakfast and dinner), which allows us to have whatever we want on the menu. This has worked out very well for us.

We think the rooms are great, love the old fashioned porches, but recognize that the old-fashioned shutters that close off the bedroom from the porch are not always easy to open. No, they are not fancy, but we really like that style and approach. We are not into glitz. The Jamaica Inn has everything you want and it has a staff that makes you feel glad that you chose to come there. And Mary is doing a wonderful job of making sure that contiues to happen.

Room Tip: All are good, we have had a balcony suite (great views and a bit less expensive) and a veranda on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

683 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    603
    60
    9
    7
    4
See reviews for
59
435
24
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Winnetka, llinois
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Jamaica Inn has a relaxed and gentile elegance not often found in contemporary properties. The perfectly maintaned grounds and beautiful rooms with gorgeous views combined with the warm and hospitable staff make this a paradise. Mary, the manager, is a charming host, and oversees the impeccable but unobtrusive staff. Our room, 43, gave us a living room open to the beach and surf, unequaled in my experience. Meals were unfailingly delicious, and here again the waiters were eager to please with special orders. This vacation was a return to relaxed elegance and charm.

Room Tip: I found every room to be beautiful, especially 41-48
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Jamaica Inn was just what I needed! I could not have dreamed for a better environment that is specifically designed for rest & relaxation. This is old school elegance at it's finest. We got a balcony suite which happens to be their most least expensive option. You would never believe it. Though relatively small, the room lacked nothing. Our outdoor veranda was heaven sent. We had our breakfast there almost every morning. Our view was of the beach and that beautiful sea. The staff was wonderful. I heard most staff members have been there 10 years plus. Each make you feel right at home. The food is delicious as well. I truly had no complaints. Not often can I ever say that. The Jamaica Inn is somewhere I plan on going again and again.

Room Tip: You will have no problem choosing a good room, for they are all good rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Jamaica Inn was our second stop on a 2 stop visit to JA - the first stop being Goldeneye. Interesting to compare these two high end hotels. The room (Rm 48 on the beach) initially felt quite small although the outdoor room certainly made up for that. A totally peaceful and relaxing place, where nothing was too much trouble - lunch....on the beach? at your lounger? in your room? they would probably have brought it into the sea if that was required!!! No TV, no radio, no piped music = heaven! But there is Wi-fi so not completely cut off from the world. The beach itself was glorious - uncrowded and beautifully kept. Staff were wonderful and every one of them were keen to ensure you were enjoying yourself. Having been to lots of Caribbean hotels were 5* really means 3* (without any apologies), this was a little gem which certainly lives up to its rating. Barbecue on the beach was a great night = real barbecue rather than food cooked in the kitchen and covered with BBQ sauce (which we have had elsewhere), bonfire on the beach and great great food. We loved it mostly, although with the strange ornamentation in the public areas (Toby jugs and soldiers and other colonial type artefacts), the constant refrain "it has always been like this and we dont want to see any change", accompanied by the eagerness of the staff to "serve" ... it initially felt as though it belonged to a former colonial age which we found uncomfortable. Overall, though, would definitely recommend Jamaica Inn as a place to relax and recharge. Mary, the General Manager, was the polisher of the gem that is Jamaica Inn!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Service, Service, Service! We have travelled to many luxury hotels in the world & the service @ JI is unbeatable!!! the staff were super friendly & all of them went out of their way to make you feel @ home. We felt so touched knowing that they remembered our names & would greet us as if we were long time friends! Rich, Winston, Andrew (taxi driver), Patrice, & Mary (gm) definitely added to our wonderful experience.

The beach was absolutely serene & beautiful! T&C WAS our favorite destination for escaping the New York winter, but now it has become jamaica! My husband noted that we never had to worry about waking up early to get a good seat on the beach bc it was never crowded, & more importantly, there was ample space btw all the chairs!

All rooms had great views of the beach & the outside veranda was a different (great) experience! The only complaint to mention was that the resort needed renovation, but that did not dampen our opinion of the establishment.

We loved being electronically disconnected from the world! The JI is the ultimate destination for R & R!

I most also mention that my husband forgot his cell phone on the plane & Rich, along with the other great staff, went above & beyond, to find & retrieve it!!!! This would not happen anywhere else!

To all the staff @ the Jamaica Inn, thank you for such a wonderful (unfortunately too short) trip! We are looking forward to our next visit!!! much sooner, than later : )))

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Very seldom in my travel experience do you have an experience where everything comes together and the only surprises are pleasant. Jamaica Inn, from the moment you make first contact until you leave, delivers service, food and amenities that are consistently first rate and worth the premium you pay to stay there. Friendly service takes on a new meaning as it is not just obligatory but a reflection of the core values instilled in the staff. Make no mistake this is an older property lacking some of the most up-to-date amenities but the charm, comfort, and sense of an eleagant age more than offset the aging.

Room Tip: Bring mosquito spray if you wish to sleep with your veranda doors open
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

The understated elegance of a bygone era is serene and relaxing. The staff are immaculately presented and could not be more helpful and polite. Each morning the grounds are spotless, with just the quiet cooing of birds in the trees and the lapping of the sea on the white beach. We even had a turtle come right up the beach in the evening, laying its eggs in the sand at our feet! The Jamaica Inn really is an experience to savour.

Room Tip: It's very nice to have breakfast on your own balcony at lawn level, and to be able to walk strai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Jamaica Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jamaica Inn

Address: Main St, Ocho Rios, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Ocho Rios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Ocho Rios
#1 Luxury Hotel in Ocho Rios
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ocho Rios
#1 Family Hotel in Ocho Rios
#1 Spa Hotel in Ocho Rios
#3 Business Hotel in Ocho Rios
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Jamaica Inn 4.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1950, Jamaica Inn has consistently been ranked as one of the top resort hotels in the Caribbean. Jamaica Inn is a small, elegantly timeless resort located in beautiful Ocho Rios, Jamaica. With just 52 suites spread over 8 acres, there are sweeping views of the Caribbean Sea from every suite. This property boasts a 700-foot premier private beach, which is often considered to be the one of the best in the Caribbean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tingo, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelsClick, HostelBookers, Travelocity, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Jamaica Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jamaica Hotel Ocho Rios
Jamaica Ocho Rios
Jamaica Inn Ocho Rios

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jamaica Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;