We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jamaica Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Jamaica Inn to your Saves list
Jamaica Inn
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Main St, Ocho Rios, Jamaica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Sun & Spa Special
Ranked #1 of 40 Hotels in Ocho Rios
Winnetka, llinois
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Jamaica Inn has a relaxed and gentile elegance not often found in contemporary properties. The perfectly maintaned grounds and beautiful rooms with gorgeous views combined with the warm and hospitable staff make this a paradise. Mary, the manager, is a charming host, and oversees the impeccable but unobtrusive staff. Our room, 43, gave us a living room open to the beach and surf, unequaled in my experience. Meals were unfailingly delicious, and here again the waiters were eager to please with special orders. This vacation was a return to relaxed elegance and charm.

Room Tip: I found every room to be beautiful, especially 41-48
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

770 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    676
    72
    11
    7
    4
See reviews for
66
497
28
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (248)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Jamaica Inn was just what I needed! I could not have dreamed for a better environment that is specifically designed for rest & relaxation. This is old school elegance at it's finest. We got a balcony suite which happens to be their most least expensive option. You would never believe it. Though relatively small, the room lacked nothing. Our outdoor veranda was heaven sent. We had our breakfast there almost every morning. Our view was of the beach and that beautiful sea. The staff was wonderful. I heard most staff members have been there 10 years plus. Each make you feel right at home. The food is delicious as well. I truly had no complaints. Not often can I ever say that. The Jamaica Inn is somewhere I plan on going again and again.

Room Tip: You will have no problem choosing a good room, for they are all good rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Jamaica Inn was our second stop on a 2 stop visit to JA - the first stop being Goldeneye. Interesting to compare these two high end hotels. The room (Rm 48 on the beach) initially felt quite small although the outdoor room certainly made up for that. A totally peaceful and relaxing place, where nothing was too much trouble - lunch....on the beach? at your lounger? in your room? they would probably have brought it into the sea if that was required!!! No TV, no radio, no piped music = heaven! But there is Wi-fi so not completely cut off from the world. The beach itself was glorious - uncrowded and beautifully kept. Staff were wonderful and every one of them were keen to ensure you were enjoying yourself. Having been to lots of Caribbean hotels were 5* really means 3* (without any apologies), this was a little gem which certainly lives up to its rating. Barbecue on the beach was a great night = real barbecue rather than food cooked in the kitchen and covered with BBQ sauce (which we have had elsewhere), bonfire on the beach and great great food. We loved it mostly, although with the strange ornamentation in the public areas (Toby jugs and soldiers and other colonial type artefacts), the constant refrain "it has always been like this and we dont want to see any change", accompanied by the eagerness of the staff to "serve" ... it initially felt as though it belonged to a former colonial age which we found uncomfortable. Overall, though, would definitely recommend Jamaica Inn as a place to relax and recharge. Mary, the General Manager, was the polisher of the gem that is Jamaica Inn!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Service, Service, Service! We have travelled to many luxury hotels in the world & the service @ JI is unbeatable!!! the staff were super friendly & all of them went out of their way to make you feel @ home. We felt so touched knowing that they remembered our names & would greet us as if we were long time friends! Rich, Winston, Andrew (taxi driver), Patrice, & Mary (gm) definitely added to our wonderful experience.

The beach was absolutely serene & beautiful! T&C WAS our favorite destination for escaping the New York winter, but now it has become jamaica! My husband noted that we never had to worry about waking up early to get a good seat on the beach bc it was never crowded, & more importantly, there was ample space btw all the chairs!

All rooms had great views of the beach & the outside veranda was a different (great) experience! The only complaint to mention was that the resort needed renovation, but that did not dampen our opinion of the establishment.

We loved being electronically disconnected from the world! The JI is the ultimate destination for R & R!

I most also mention that my husband forgot his cell phone on the plane & Rich, along with the other great staff, went above & beyond, to find & retrieve it!!!! This would not happen anywhere else!

To all the staff @ the Jamaica Inn, thank you for such a wonderful (unfortunately too short) trip! We are looking forward to our next visit!!! much sooner, than later : )))

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Very seldom in my travel experience do you have an experience where everything comes together and the only surprises are pleasant. Jamaica Inn, from the moment you make first contact until you leave, delivers service, food and amenities that are consistently first rate and worth the premium you pay to stay there. Friendly service takes on a new meaning as it is not just obligatory but a reflection of the core values instilled in the staff. Make no mistake this is an older property lacking some of the most up-to-date amenities but the charm, comfort, and sense of an eleagant age more than offset the aging.

Room Tip: Bring mosquito spray if you wish to sleep with your veranda doors open
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

The understated elegance of a bygone era is serene and relaxing. The staff are immaculately presented and could not be more helpful and polite. Each morning the grounds are spotless, with just the quiet cooing of birds in the trees and the lapping of the sea on the white beach. We even had a turtle come right up the beach in the evening, laying its eggs in the sand at our feet! The Jamaica Inn really is an experience to savour.

Room Tip: It's very nice to have breakfast on your own balcony at lawn level, and to be able to walk strai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

I hate to write my review of Jamaica Inn. I'd love to keep this place a secret. But, judging by the zillions of glowing reviews I guess it's too late for that. This was our first time there and we will never stay any place else in Jamaica (or the Bahamas- where we USED to go). It's certainly not flawless: as other reviews have noted- the rooms are older, the bathrooms small and the median age of the guests was seriously north of 65. If you want sparkling new rooms, flat screen tv, bathrooms with marble counters and a lively party crowd this is definitely NOT the place for you. If you're just looking for complete relaxation, spectacular beach and top-notch food, this is the best option we've ever found. We sat on the beach, read books, napped and drank Red Stripe. For 5 days. IT WAS HEAVEN! I did manage to walk 50 yards down the beach one day to go fishing with Tony and Marvin. Just me. Caught 3 fish, gave them two and took one to the chef who prepared it any way we wanted. The beach is spectactular. Never more than 20 people on it (I counted). No getting up early to reserve a chair etc. There are plenty of chairs and hammocks. The property is beautiful. Seriously, "beautiful" doesn't do it justice. It looks exactly like the pictures on the website. The food was awesome (but not cheap). The staff have obviously been trained by an expert. They all asked for (and remembered) our names. They were friendly and helpful and never a hint of the attitude we usually get in the resorts we've stayed at in the Bahamas. Mary, the manager, was eager to help make our stay as perfect as possible. Prior to our trip, we spent a lot of time trying to determine which room would be the best. Turns out, it doesn't really matter. They are all right on the beach. We're already saving up for our return trip!

Room Tip: Makes absolutely no difference at all. There are no bad locations on the property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Jamaica Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jamaica Inn

Address: Main St, Ocho Rios, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Ocho Rios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Ocho Rios
#1 Luxury Hotel in Ocho Rios
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ocho Rios
#1 Spa Hotel in Ocho Rios
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Ocho Rios
#2 Business Hotel in Ocho Rios
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Jamaica Inn 4.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1950, Jamaica Inn has consistently been ranked as one of the top resort hotels in the Caribbean. Jamaica Inn is a small, elegantly timeless resort located in beautiful Ocho Rios, Jamaica. With just 52 suites spread over 8 acres, there are sweeping views of the Caribbean Sea from every suite. This property boasts a 700-foot premier private beach, which is often considered to be the one of the best in the Caribbean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Jetsetter, HostelBookers, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Jamaica Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jamaica Hotel Ocho Rios
Jamaica Ocho Rios
Jamaica Inn Ocho Rios

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jamaica Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.