We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jamaica Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Jamaica Inn to your Saves list
Jamaica Inn
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Main St, Ocho Rios, Jamaica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Sun & Spa Special
Ranked #1 of 40 Hotels in Ocho Rios
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in mid December for 5 nights and were blessed by great weather for the duration of our stay.

The staff at the Inn are exceptional, everyone always speaks to you as they pass, and nothing seems to be too much trouble, both from our own experience and from what we saw around us.

Age range of the guests was from early 20s to graceful retirees.

We didn't have dinner in the restaurant, found the allure of dining on our verandah too enticing, however breakfast in the restaurant, lunch on the beach and dinner on our verandah was always tasty.

The private beach was fantastic, more than enough loungers for everyone, and attentively looked after by the staff. We particularly enjoyed our late afternoon cocktail at the beach bar each day.

We received a complimentary upgrade to a verandah room (thank-you) and found it to be wonderful, comfortable, and nothing quite like relaxing in the verandah at night listening to the band in the dining room. And a big thank you for the birthday cake for my husband.

If you are after a comfortable, relaxing holiday (who would have guessed I could go without tv for 5 nights) then give the Jamaica Inn a try, you won't be disappointed.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

745 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    657
    66
    11
    7
    4
See reviews for
61
482
28
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oregon House, California, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

The Jamaica Inn is for people who know how to amuse themselves. The extremely attentive staff is always at hand to supply anything one could wish, including knowing when to leave one alone. The rooms are beautiful; the beach, superb; the food, excellent. After a few days, the thought came that I had not realized how much I needed a time for doing nothing. And clearly, when one needs to do that, this is the best place.

Room Tip: All rooms are wonderful. Extra money merely buys a little more space or shortens the very short walk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon House, California, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

My wife and I traveled for a get-away before an expected busy month. It was perfect. The staff is uncommonly accommodating without being obtrusive. The rooms are casual and inviting while having a tropical elegance. The common patios are expansive, warm, and gracious and a wonderful before dinner venue. The meals are accompanied by a modest yet diverse menu that accommodates all discerning palates. Best of is the beach, set in a cove with a coral reef a short swim away -- paradise!

Room Tip: Great views an second floor. The beach-front rooms in the single story annex arer special.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Was really an amazing experience to have the pristine, private beach (always with plenty of empty chairs) and very cordial service. Was so inspired that I painted even more than usual - had a really wonderful time! - Hoping to go back.
What I'm not used to in hotels is that the owners and managers were always casually availalble for any questions.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Yes, my wife and I spent a week at the Jamaica Inn, arriving only a few days after the hurricane passed through. It was amazing to see how quickly the Hotel recovered from this - large crews restoring the beach and landscape every day. By the end of our stay we could hardly see any evidence of the storm!

The hotel is great - very nice views from many places, and by far the nicest beach in the area. Friendly staff, and as indicated above they work very hard for their guests. We enjoyed a boat trip to the nearby falls, and snorkeling along the coast around the hotel. The meals and dining with views overlooking the sea are wonderful!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, UK
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

An incredible hotel. Oozing character and history, Jamaica Inn is a fantastic destination for anyone looking for privacy, high quality service, outstanding food and total relaxation.

There were 4 of us, staying in Cottages 3 and 4. These vast suites had huge balconies, infinity pools and their own access to the sea, and were totally private. If we had wanted to, we could quite easily have not ventured out the whole week.

My parents in law were lucky to get an upgrade for a few days to the White Suite, which was simply incredible, and even larger than the cottages. This had a huge pool, it's own garden and grounds and a walkway leading to a stunning private bluff with a double sun bed.

Service was first class. The chef and kitchen went out of their way for my mother in law, who has a severe allergy. We always find this a problem anywhere else. Meanwhile, the first couple of nights we heard a bit of noise coming from the resort round the corner, with music going on quite late. We mentioned this to Mary, the general manager. She promptly called the police commissioner and we didn't hear a peep again! Mary was always out and about with her two lovely dogs, making sure guests were enjoying themselves. Her and the staff were simply awesome, and always smiling!

The food was delicious. Lobster, fresh fish, jerk chicken, refreshing salads, tropical fruit and Blue Mountain coffee, it was always scrumptious. I always stuck to the Jamaican food, but there were many other options available, all tasty and stunningly presented. I am now suffering jerk withdrawal as a result! The same applies to the cocktails, whether down with Teddy on the beach or while waiting on the terrace before dinner.

A few things to point out. Evening meals at the restaurant are fairly smart, so trousers and collared shirts for guys, luckily not black tie though!
We hired the boat to take us to Dunn's River Falls. It is definitely worth seeing this, but you need to take cash with you for not just the boat trip, but also the entrance fee at the falls, along with tips for the boat guys, and for the guy who will accompany you up the falls (taking photos). We didn't realise all this and had to dash back to the room when we got back. It worked out v expensive in the end. It is actually very close by road, so it would be much cheaper to get a taxi.
You will hear a lot of crickets and tree frogs at night at the cottages. You zone out after a while! The time we went (December) also meant we got no sun on the decks of the cottages, so went down to the beach for that. The beach is huge, with loads of sun beds and plenty of space. You also benefit from the cocktails being whisked round!
The drive from the airport (Montego Bay) took about an hour and a half in traffic.
Keep your eyes peeled for hummingbirds, especially along the back of the hotel.
Room service is only five dollars, we should have made more use of this!
We were shown round Cottage 7, it was huge, very modern. The White Suite was something else though. If you can, stay there!
It is definitely not for young children. We only saw adults. Most people kept themselves to themselves.
If you go, have an amazing time, and have a red stripe for me!

Room Tip: Go with the White Suite or Cottage 7.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, Connecticut, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

When you look up relaxation, a stay at the Jamaica Inn HAS to be in the definition. I can see by reading the other reviews that I am not alone in my enjoyment of my time spent there. Even though the weather was fairly mediocre, it did not dampen our enjoyment. I loved being electronically disconnected. The service is impeccable, food great, grounds gorgeous, gracious room. It lived up to all the things that everyone told me about it....and that does not always happen. I fear that soo many great reviews will set my expectations too high....not so, the Jamaica Inn delivers.
We were in room 33 and loved it. I do not think there is a bad room in the place. Each has something wonderful to offer.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Jamaica Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jamaica Inn

Address: Main St, Ocho Rios, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Ocho Rios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ocho Rios
#1 Family Hotel in Ocho Rios
#1 Spa Hotel in Ocho Rios
#1 Luxury Hotel in Ocho Rios
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Ocho Rios
#3 Business Hotel in Ocho Rios
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Jamaica Inn 4.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1950, Jamaica Inn has consistently been ranked as one of the top resort hotels in the Caribbean. Jamaica Inn is a small, elegantly timeless resort located in beautiful Ocho Rios, Jamaica. With just 52 suites spread over 8 acres, there are sweeping views of the Caribbean Sea from every suite. This property boasts a 700-foot premier private beach, which is often considered to be the one of the best in the Caribbean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Otel, HostelBookers, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Jamaica Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jamaica Hotel Ocho Rios
Jamaica Ocho Rios
Jamaica Inn Ocho Rios

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jamaica Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.