We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Crazy Awesome” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jamaica Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Jamaica Inn to your Saves list
Jamaica Inn
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Main St, Ocho Rios, Jamaica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Sun & Spa Special
Ranked #1 of 40 Hotels in Ocho Rios
Novi, Michigan
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Crazy Awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Probably the best service from a hotel ever. The owners met us several times upon arrival and departure. The cottages on the water were amazing. The spa is set on the cliffs of the ocean and provides an unbelievable experience. nirvana!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

769 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    676
    71
    11
    7
    4
See reviews for
66
496
28
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (247)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

I wrote this on Facebook on the eve of our wedding anniversary and i wanted to share my message to Jamaica Inn with readers on Tripadvisor:

Dear Jamaica Inn,
Just a quick note to say "thank you" for such beautiful memories.
Our wedding on November 12, 2009 was absolutely perfect and our memories of that day will last forever.
We miss you all - take care of each other.
Regards,
Shirley and David Barran



Reply: Jamaica Inn

Dear Shirley & David,
It is so wonderful to hear from you!
We hope all is well in Toronto.
You are most welcome. It was an absolute pleasure taking care of you for your special day!
Your Jamaica Inn Family misses you and we hope to welcome you home soon.

This review is so long over due -
Jamaica Inn is the absolute best. This hotel is really a home away from home and you are treated like family from the moment you arrive. We loved our stay and cannot wait to get back.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

After passing Sandy on the way down to Jamaica, we arrived at J.I. to the same great services and smiling faces as usual. They are a true team, effectively working together to ensure their guests are provided the same high level of service, hurricane or not. Same amazing services, great food and people. This place is top-notch. Dedication to services, but not stuffy.

Room Tip: All rooms are great, beach and water overlook rooms are our favorite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocho Rios, Jamaica
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Jamaica Inn is my favourite hotel in Jamaica and the Caribbean bar none.

It has been a successful hotel for years and years, and other hotels around clammer to find out "what is the secret of the success there?"

Well the secret is - a beautiful location with a wow of a beach, large and spacious rooms that are tastefully decorated and kept up, staff trained in a highly unobtrusive manner (which you will only find at TOP hotels around the world....if you see staff and management "chatting up to guests too much, be warned, this is not a top notch hotel!!), excellent, award winning gourmet food, a delectable afternoon tea (famous), old world glamour, etc. etc.

I believe it is perfect for a honeymoon, family vacation, anniversary or just weekend with your loved one.

The kudos are owed to the past GM who had the most eagle eye around, and the current GM, Mary - who ensures she is there 24/7 and has given her life to the hotel - as well as the owners, Eric and Belinda Morrow who also have great taste.

Don't hesitate to think about "where to stay in Ocho Rios or Jamaica" if you are looking for an outstanding experience all around.

Room Tip: Rooms at end of beach are lovely, but also try the newly renovated villas too!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

This last trip to Jamaica was my tenth trip in 7 years. I have stayed all over the island in a variety of resorts and hotels. Without question the Jamaica Inn is the best hotel on the island. I have stayed in several other resorts for couples with my wife, but I needed a hotel for myself and a business associate which was not all inclusive.
This is the hotel in Jamaica which has the best indoor air quality, bar none. The Jamaica Inn is proof positive that you can run a hotel in the Caribbean and not have mold issues in the rooms. . If you have allergies to mold this is the hotel for you.
The location is beautiful and it is old world luxury and style. I did not realize there were no TV’s or radio, but it was wonderful not being connected. I was in Jamaica for eleven days on business and the only time I was totally relaxed was at the Jamaica Inn.
I like to snorkel and since this is a smaller property the reefs around the resort off the beach were in better shape than most of the other resorts on the island. The beach is wonderful.
The staff has been employed at the facility for 20, 30, 40 and even over 50 years which proves they treat their people right. The staff was wonderful. This is how hotels used to be run in the Caribbean.
I will be back with my wife and the Jamaica Inn will be my number one choice for when I am staying in Jamaica on the North Coast.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We were guests at the Jamaica Inn this past week when Hurricane Sandy touched down in Jamaica. We were housed in one of their exclusive luxury cottages/villas for 1 week - paid in advance. We had been there one and a half days when we were told they were moving us to the main building for a night because of the tropical storm expected. There were 3 of us in a 2 bedroom 2 bathroom villa and we asked for 2 rooms together and were told 'no'. Then we asked that an elderly relative not be put on the second floor, she was anyway. Her room flooded, she was then put on a portable bed in our room, no other choice was offered they just moved her in, very tight quarters. She was then moved again the next day -back upstairs; 4 moves in all in a few days. The hurricane hit hard and electricity was out for many days so we were not able to move back to the villa, understandable.... We were not really told that until we asked two days later, we were not told anything unless we asked. We were offered food but not told it was off their very pricey menu, they told us not to worry because they had plenty of food and would provide meals in our room until the restaurant was again open so they would call and say "what would you like for dinner tonight " and give us 3-4 choices, suggesting they were providing meals for us. When we checked out we discovered we were billed for everything and there was absolutely no compensation for anything. We were told " Sorry for the inconvenience" By the manager. Sandals Resort guests were given free return stays equal to what they had booked. One week stay got a return one week stay. The Jamaica Inn was very good at their property clean up and returning the general areas in order to provide service but our accommodations were inferior to what was booked and paid for and we did not receive any refund or compensation, rather we were forced to pay high prices for food and did not receive rooms equal to what we were booked into. There were other oversights too numerous to mention. The staff was very nice and worked hard, the management did not step up. I expected much better from this property that is rated so high on Trip Advisor. They did not really care about our experience.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamaicaInn, General Manager at Jamaica Inn, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Dear FSMWNY,

Hurricane Sandy was a serious weather event that quickly impacted Jamaica. During events such as that, guest safety is our utmost concern and therefore, all guests were relocated to the main building during the storm. Due to power outages, downed trees and some minor damage, some guests could not return to their original accommodation after the storm. However, guests were only charged for the room category that they stayed in and were not charged the night of the storm.

All of our staff gave 110% to ensure guest safety and satisfaction, leaving their own families at home. They worked tirelessly to quickly return our property to full working order for guests to enjoy in the duration of their stay. I am sorry that the storm impacted your vacation and that you felt you were not treated with more care and attention. The management team and myself spoke to every guest at the resort and wish you had voiced your concerns during your stay to allow us the opportunity to correct any concerns.



Best regards,
Mary Phillips
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

If you're looking for a hotel where you'll be treated like family and not just guests, look no further than the Jamaica Inn.

The Inn sits in stark contrast to the big all-inclusives in the Ocho Rios area. Individualized attention, sharp attention to detail, impeccable service and a commitment to serve local food are just some of the many reasons to vacation here.

We were treated like royalty our entire stay. Just a few "treats" we received included champagne our first day to celebrate our anniversary and my birthday, a surprise birthday cake and serenade, and fresh flowers in our room every day. The staff and amazing general manager, Mary, made us feel like we were part of their family, and made our trip, our anniversary and my birthday experiences that we will never forget. I believe Mary explained the appeal of Jamaica Inn best -- "I don't run a hotel, I run a home."

Please go to the Jamaica Inn, you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Jamaica Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jamaica Inn

Address: Main St, Ocho Rios, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Ocho Rios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Ocho Rios
#1 Spa Hotel in Ocho Rios
#1 Family Hotel in Ocho Rios
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Ocho Rios
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ocho Rios
#2 Business Hotel in Ocho Rios
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Jamaica Inn 4.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1950, Jamaica Inn has consistently been ranked as one of the top resort hotels in the Caribbean. Jamaica Inn is a small, elegantly timeless resort located in beautiful Ocho Rios, Jamaica. With just 52 suites spread over 8 acres, there are sweeping views of the Caribbean Sea from every suite. This property boasts a 700-foot premier private beach, which is often considered to be the one of the best in the Caribbean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Jetsetter, Despegar.com, Travelocity, HostelBookers, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Jamaica Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jamaica Hotel Ocho Rios
Jamaica Ocho Rios
Jamaica Inn Ocho Rios

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jamaica Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.