We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Been to ochi so many times and never visited this little gem!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Spring Garden Cafe & Seafood Grill

Spring Garden Cafe & Seafood Grill
Ocho Rios Bypass Road, Ocho Rios, Jamaica
876-795-3149
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 79 Restaurants in Ocho Rios
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Been to ochi so many times and never visited this little gem!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

Such a lovely little restaurant just off the main on the way to Exchange. Really good food, service was great and the atmosphere- candels and a chef cooking your food outside - was just lovely!

It is a little pricey but you are on vacation! I had the coconut shrimp and it was cooked just right! I would highly recommend this place

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    35
    12
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Naugatuck, Connecticut
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“AWESOME FOOD IF YOUR SICK OF THE RESORT CRAP”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Great meal! even the dessert was delicious. My grandma and aunt had lobster I had the chicken parm although it wasnt like chicken parm if your italian it was still very tasty...nice getaway from the buffets at our resort

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temecula CA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“First night dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Went there the first night in Ocho Rios in a rain storm. The food was very good and the service equaled the food, we were not dissappointed in the least.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darmstadt, Germany
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Pricey! Won't be back again!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We were recommended Spring gardens by our resort as one of the best seafood places in town. To be honest, the location was below average as it was literally on the main road/parking lot! The outdoor seating area was dimly lit that you could hardly read the menu. When we asked for indoor instead, we were led to a tight narrow passage with randomly placed tables, one of which was directly behind the toilet door! The food was not that great and was overpriced for what it was. We ordered lobster with shrimp and red snapper. The snapper was supposed to be a fillet but instead was full of bones which made it even more difficult to eat in the poor lighting of the restaurant!! The staff looked like they just wanted to get the day over and done with.
We ended up spending around 70US$ and wished we could've gone to burger king instead as we were still hungry by the end of it!
I honestly wouldn't go back, there are plenty of other restaurants with better food and service to visit!!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Bermuda
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good Fish Dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

I've never been a big fan of this restaurant though I have eaten there a few times. This time however, I ordered the roast snapper stuffed with vegetables. Clearly this is what I should have been ordering all along! My friend, a Jamaican, also enjoyed his fish, which is telling. The atmosphere is smart casual without pretending to be romantic. No, it's not the least expensive place, but you're in a resort town. It comes with the territory. The next time I go back, it won't be my last choice, as in the past.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spring Garden Cafe & Seafood Grill also viewed

Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
 
Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
 

Been to Spring Garden Cafe & Seafood Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spring Garden Cafe & Seafood Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.