We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kook” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jamaica Grande Beach

Jamaica Grande Beach
, Ocho Rios, Jamaica
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 53 things to do in Ocho Rios
Activities: Swimming, Parasailing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Parasailing is the sport of choice at this Jamaican beach.
Kingston, Jamaica
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Kook”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Nice beach right in the hotel vicinity and pools if you want some variety. Serves so very well if you don't wish to go too far.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    38
    19
    10
    11
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Okay!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Not as advertised. Constantly fighting with conference groups as it seems there is a large group from different conferences daily. Beach is shallow and small, overrun with sea grass limiting the amount of swimming area. Bar runners clean up your cups but dump straws and napkins onto the sand. One member of management cut into the buffet line and decided to have two others join him and serve them while visitors waited. They brought in craft vendors which is good because you will get mobbed when you leave the property. Food was terrible. Family got sick three days and ate elsewhere. Majority of staff looked as though they can't be bothered. The rest were charming and helpful. Entertainment was pitiful except for the afternoon parties on the pool deck below the lighthouse. It was almost as though the entertainment manager is embarrassed because they did not showcase anything remotely jamaican traditional. And the entertainment center is hidden in the cut where there is a rancid odor (garbage or septic) that hits strong when there is a good wind in this sauna of an entertainment center.

They need to close, revamp and rededicate their efforts. Would not recommend this hotel.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st. catherine, jamaica
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“sunset”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

i loved the beach, the sand was white and lovely;we had the pleasure of seeing a crab protect food that it found from some fishes and other crab. the beach was very secure. love it

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fun in the sun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Beach was nice a lot of sea shells, had a great time even snorkelled for the first time, we hope to return next year the help is fantastic! And the drinks are plentiful.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curacao, Zulia, Venezuela
2 reviews
“Be aware of rip offs in Sunset Jamaica Grande”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

If I say be aware of ripp offs in this resort I don't mean the local staff. The local staff are very nice and the service is wonderfull. What I mean are the money they charge for certain services. Like my mother was'nt feeling so good, so she went to the nurse room. The nurse recommended her to see a doctor. She said the basic price that the doctor charge is US $ 280,- just for the visit. I went outside the hotel and ask for the nearest doctor and merely 5 minutes walking from the entrance there where 3 local doctors. The price wil cost between US $ 20,- to US $30,- for the visit. Another rip off is the hotel transporation from Ocho Rios to Kingston airport. They charge US $ 360,-. If you are on time with your flight you can take the "Knutsford busses" that charge about US $ 35,- roundtrip to Kingston. If you realy want a taxi bus i recommend Karandas Tours for $120,- (the cheapest) and very good service. For the internet in the hotel they charge US $ 15,- a day, while if you go to a internet cafe on walking distance of resort, you will find it for US $ 1,- per hour, a reasonable time to check your emails, while on vacation. Also the hotel charged me room tax, while I allready paid my room tax at the travel agent. SO who is the one that is supposed to charge the tax??? In Jamaica they scare you off with the crime, but the real crooks are these type of hotels that scare you to stay in hotel. The local Jamaicans are friendly and there is no need to panic that they are criminals. I felt safe in Ocho Rios and Kingston. Off course you must be aware of people offering you help. BUT I REPEAT, THE CRIMINALS ARE CERTAIN OF THESE HOTELS!!!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jamaica Grande Beach also viewed

Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
 
Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
 

Been to Jamaica Grande Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jamaica Grande Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.