We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hard work up the falls but worth it” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dunn's River Beach

Dunn's River Beach
Ocho Rios, Jamaica
Improve this listing
Book Now

Ranked #12 of 27 Attractions in Ocho Rios
Type: Beaches
Activities: Swimming
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: One of the most popular beaches on the island, known for its close proximity to Dunn's River Falls and for its cool, calm waters perfect for water sports.
Ashford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Hard work up the falls but worth it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We went with our friends husband to be who is native Jamaican so we avoided the tour guide experience. I took my 5 and 6 year old boys up with help of friends. You definitely need one adult per child as a but hairy in place climbing the falls. Well worthy it though and took about an hour. Get some water shoes before you go if you intend to do do this or they will make you hire or buy some there.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    139
    90
    42
    12
    8
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Not so clear water”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

The water at the beach was murky and sandy. Not the clear blue water that you will find at the resorts. No one was laying out and the hike to get down to the beach was a pain, not to mention going back up.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntingburg, Indiana
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Most Do”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

The Dunn's River was really cool and advise you to see. The only negative is the guide we had was not very good and rush us thru.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockwall, Texas
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Water Too Low”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Was so excited to go to Dunn's River with my friends and family since most of them had not been before. However, due to the heat and lack of rain the water was very low. We also got stuck behind a group of 17 children which made our climb much slower and less fun. We tried to go on another route and the guide made us stay behind them. It was very crowded because it was Jamaican Independence Day. BUMMER.... Yet, it is still a very beautiful and very exhilarating.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Harder Than We Thought”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

It was a challenge and we quit halfway through the climb, rocks were in our shoes and the rocks at the bottom are hard to climb because you cannot see where the rocks begin and end.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dunn's River Beach also viewed

 
Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
 

Been to Dunn's River Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dunn's River Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;