We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fern Gully

Fern Gully
Ocho Rios, Jamaica
Improve this listing
Book Now

Ranked #15 of 27 Attractions in Ocho Rios
Type: Canyons, Bodies of Water, Trails
Activities: Driving
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Scenic drive through a three-mile-long canyon, shaded by trees and ferns.
Saint-Lazare, Quebec, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Beautiful!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Fern Gully is the road that goes through the rain forest in Ocho Rios. And it's a must-see! It's gorgeous. Thick and lush, with a ton of old-growth trees, ferns, and brush. Green as far as the eye can see. We did Fern Gulley on both stays in Ocho Rios, and both times we used the services of local taxi/tour operator Bertram Brown. He's a great tour guide, very experienced and very knowledgeable about Ocho Rios, and most of Jamaica. We never felt unsafe riding with him, regardless of what kind of an area we were passing through. Very reasonable prices. His contact number is 829-7174. This is not an ad for him, but genuine appreciation for his services!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    81
    29
    18
    7
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Crawfordville, Florida, United States
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Scary traveling”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

The road up the mountain was one and a half lanes wide. Very steep and curvy. It was terrifying to me to have to pull off the road to allow on coming traffic to pass, but I trust the drivers, after all they do that every day. You can literally touch passing vehicles. On the negative side, there were people with vending booths built into the mountain, nothing more than a couple of boards and fabric or tarps, very sad way to make a living. Locals get right in front of our drivers van for us to stop to sell you stuff. We would tell them no but they don't take no for an answer. I had a woman get in the van with me because I told her I didn't have time to get my hair braided. How could I say no then, she said it would be three dollars and when she was done it was $15. $3 per braid. When we was downtown I about had a melt down, I could not get the locals off me, I was literally being tugged at, I screamed for them to get the Hel... Off me. I will NEVER go back. Photos coming soon traveled march 2010. FYI. The driver strongly warned us not to get out of his sight for a second. He actually escorted us to lunch. And one more thing. Fern Gulley Mtn is where the movie, forgot the name dang it. The movie where there was a Jamaican bib sledding team training for the Olympics. They filmed them going down that hill. Can you say scary and brave actors lol

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Cool & Beautiful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

The Fern gully construction is almost complete with the drainage system along side of the road. It was a nice drive and very cool, although the road is still thin at some points, you do need to be careful driving there. A nice 3 mile drive

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boynton Beach, FL
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful and free”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

If you are going to Dunns River Falls, you might as well drive through this beautiful scenic route of lush foliage and shade. I would have loved to walk through it instead of drive.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful Drive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

I would of loved to have had to chance to walk in the forest! It was so beautiful, green and lush. There was little stalls for tourist to pull over and buy the local crafts. I was told that these crafts are cheaper than in the market. The roads are narrow and curvy which made me a little squeamish, but I was in safe hands with our driver.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fern Gully also viewed

 
Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
 

Been to Fern Gully? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fern Gully, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.