We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sandals Golf mediocre” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sandals Golf & Country Club

Sandals Golf & Country Club
Ocho Rios, Jamaica
876-975-0119
Website
Improve this listing
Activities: Golfing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A popular choice among golfers in the know, this spectacular course has 120 acres of lush flowers and plants.
uk
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Sandals Golf mediocre”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Average course in average condition. 'Free Golf '! will cost you $70 with a cart and caddy....... why don't they just go GPS? as the caddies are not too good

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    54
    16
    1
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Trenton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Terrific course!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

My hubby went twice to this course and really enjoyed himself!! His caddie was terrific and knew all of gimmicks needed to make things go well for him!! He can't wait to go back1

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Falls, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

It was a beautiful course. Didn't really like that we had to have a caddy. However, our caddy was a great guy and made the day fun and not awkward.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“OK golf course”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

This is an inland course, no water views, with changing elevation. Reminded me of Carambola in St. Croix or somewhat like Mahogany Run in St. Thomas, minus the ocean holes. Greens were tiny and extremely slow. Course was overall in good shape but you can tell it's an older course. Certainly not a top-tier course for the islands, but not a baked-out remnant like those in Antigua or Grenada. Caddy was friendly, generally good with yardage and fair with putts. No water on the course--had to buy it from the cart girl who I only saw once during the (quick) round. Off season mid-morning pace of play was great--walked as a single with the caddie and course was empty. Saw another single ahead of us in a cart but never caught him and was done in 2 hours and 40 minutes. 19th hole was slow -- 30 minutes to get a basic burger. Good diversion if you're staying at Sandals but only worth the $ one time for the non-Sandals guest unless you're extremely bored.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Golf at Ocho Rios”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Required to have a caddy $17. Cart fee is extra. The course is in beautiful shape. Takes roughly 15 minutes to take the shuttle from the resort to the golf course. First bus leaves a little after 7 a.m. Last bus leaves resort at around 1 p.m. No troubles getting tee times. If you want breakfast you have to take it to go or eat very quickly as the restaurants open at 7 a.m. There are no hassles in getting your food to go so this isn't really a problem. The caddies were great. Tip is expected $10 - $30 depending on how much you like your caddy. They do not work for the resort, just tips so it is good to pay them for their help. My caddy was fantastic. Most are scratch golfers and know what they are doing. My caddy was awesome. He helped me pick clubs, take shots, even helped me improve on my alignment and putting stroke. Cheered me on. You keep your same caddy throughout the week as well. You can store your bags at the club for future use throughout your stay. The course isn't super long but very scenic, in great condition, and offers beautiful views of the Jamaican greenery. The course if VERY walkable with the caddy and if you are decently in shape (my 69 y/o dad walked the course just fine in 80 + degree weather but then again, he walks lots of rounds). Loved every moment. Highly recommend it.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sandals Golf & Country Club also viewed

 
Runaway Bay, Saint Ann Parish
Sandy Bay, Montego Bay
 

Been to Sandals Golf & Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandals Golf & Country Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.