We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific course!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sandals Golf & Country Club

Sandals Golf & Country Club
Ocho Rios, Jamaica
876-975-0119
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 25 attractions in Ocho Rios
Type: Golf Courses
Activities: Golfing
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: A popular choice among golfers in the know, this spectacular course has 120 acres of lush flowers and plants.
Trenton, New Jersey
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Terrific course!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

My hubby went twice to this course and really enjoyed himself!! His caddie was terrific and knew all of gimmicks needed to make things go well for him!! He can't wait to go back1

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    31
    9
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Niagara Falls, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

It was a beautiful course. Didn't really like that we had to have a caddy. However, our caddy was a great guy and made the day fun and not awkward.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
“OK golf course”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

This is an inland course, no water views, with changing elevation. Reminded me of Carambola in St. Croix or somewhat like Mahogany Run in St. Thomas, minus the ocean holes. Greens were tiny and extremely slow. Course was overall in good shape but you can tell it's an older course. Certainly not a top-tier course for the islands, but not a baked-out remnant like those in Antigua or Grenada. Caddy was friendly, generally good with yardage and fair with putts. No water on the course--had to buy it from the cart girl who I only saw once during the (quick) round. Off season mid-morning pace of play was great--walked as a single with the caddie and course was empty. Saw another single ahead of us in a cart but never caught him and was done in 2 hours and 40 minutes. 19th hole was slow -- 30 minutes to get a basic burger. Good diversion if you're staying at Sandals but only worth the $ one time for the non-Sandals guest unless you're extremely bored.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Golf at Ocho Rios”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Required to have a caddy $17. Cart fee is extra. The course is in beautiful shape. Takes roughly 15 minutes to take the shuttle from the resort to the golf course. First bus leaves a little after 7 a.m. Last bus leaves resort at around 1 p.m. No troubles getting tee times. If you want breakfast you have to take it to go or eat very quickly as the restaurants open at 7 a.m. There are no hassles in getting your food to go so this isn't really a problem. The caddies were great. Tip is expected $10 - $30 depending on how much you like your caddy. They do not work for the resort, just tips so it is good to pay them for their help. My caddy was fantastic. Most are scratch golfers and know what they are doing. My caddy was awesome. He helped me pick clubs, take shots, even helped me improve on my alignment and putting stroke. Cheered me on. You keep your same caddy throughout the week as well. You can store your bags at the club for future use throughout your stay. The course isn't super long but very scenic, in great condition, and offers beautiful views of the Jamaican greenery. The course if VERY walkable with the caddy and if you are decently in shape (my 69 y/o dad walked the course just fine in 80 + degree weather but then again, he walks lots of rounds). Loved every moment. Highly recommend it.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
35 attraction reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
144 helpful votes 144 helpful votes
“Great Views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Even though I don’t golf, I walked the course with my husband during one of his rounds. It was a pleasant walk with great views of local flora (and fauna). (I even sampled some fresh mangoes along the course.) The course staff and caddies were quite friendly. My husband described the course as “good to play while on vacation”. There are some technical holes, but not it is not too challenging.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sandals Golf & Country Club also viewed

 
Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
 

Been to Sandals Golf & Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandals Golf & Country Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Sandals Golf & Country Club to your Saves list