We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Golf at Ocho Rios” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sandals Golf & Country Club

Sandals Golf & Country Club
Ocho Rios, Jamaica
876-975-0119
Website
Improve this listing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A popular choice among golfers in the know, this spectacular course has 120 acres of lush flowers and plants.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Golf at Ocho Rios”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Required to have a caddy $17. Cart fee is extra. The course is in beautiful shape. Takes roughly 15 minutes to take the shuttle from the resort to the golf course. First bus leaves a little after 7 a.m. Last bus leaves resort at around 1 p.m. No troubles getting tee times. If you want breakfast you have to take it to go or eat very quickly as the restaurants open at 7 a.m. There are no hassles in getting your food to go so this isn't really a problem. The caddies were great. Tip is expected $10 - $30 depending on how much you like your caddy. They do not work for the resort, just tips so it is good to pay them for their help. My caddy was fantastic. Most are scratch golfers and know what they are doing. My caddy was awesome. He helped me pick clubs, take shots, even helped me improve on my alignment and putting stroke. Cheered me on. You keep your same caddy throughout the week as well. You can store your bags at the club for future use throughout your stay. The course isn't super long but very scenic, in great condition, and offers beautiful views of the Jamaican greenery. The course if VERY walkable with the caddy and if you are decently in shape (my 69 y/o dad walked the course just fine in 80 + degree weather but then again, he walks lots of rounds). Loved every moment. Highly recommend it.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank jessikimkim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Norfolk, Virginia
Level Contributor
124 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 253 helpful votes
“Great Views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Even though I don’t golf, I walked the course with my husband during one of his rounds. It was a pleasant walk with great views of local flora (and fauna). (I even sampled some fresh mangoes along the course.) The course staff and caddies were quite friendly. My husband described the course as “good to play while on vacation”. There are some technical holes, but not it is not too challenging.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank JumeirahJenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocho Rios, Jamaica
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“So much to do!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

I never believed that non-golfers would want to go to a golf course but how wrong was I?

The golf course at Upton seems to be the place for everyone who wants to get out of the hustle and bustle of the city. With spectacular vistas and the cooling breeze off the Caribbean sea, it is just perfect, and do not miss the opportunity to sample fruits in season that grow freely across the property.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank sharaDee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tahlequah, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

I tagged along with my husband during his morning of golf and I am so happy that I did! This course was beautiful and his caddy (Byro) was very informative in golf as well as Jamaican culture and scenery.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ashley Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Plaines, Illinois
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Delightful course with wonderful caddies!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We love that this course is just a 15 minute drive from Couple San Souci. We always ask for the same caddy who is now like a family member. The course is challenging enough for my husband who is a frequent golfer but 9 holes are enough for me, the infrequent golfer. It is a fairly hilly course so I sometimes opt for a cart, if I am feeling lazy. We always try to play 3-4 times when we are down here for a week.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank avalongirl185
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sandals Golf & Country Club also viewed

 
Sandy Bay, Montego Bay
 

Been to Sandals Golf & Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing