We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Course” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sandals Golf & Country Club

Sandals Golf & Country Club
Ocho Rios, Jamaica
876-975-0119
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #38 of 81 Activities in Ocho Rios
Type: Golf Courses, Outdoor Activities
Activities: Golfing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A popular choice among golfers in the know, this spectacular course has 120 acres of lush flowers and plants.
Urbandale, Iowa
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Nice Course”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

The course was well maintained. Not extremely difficult, especially with the caddie. The golf was $95 for cart, caddie, and club rental. Views of the mountains are nice, but no view of the beach. Definitely worth a visit!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    48
    14
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Spokane, Washington
2 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“great resort course”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

I played a total of 6 rounds here the past two weeks and enjoyed everyone of them. Pay attention to the costs, it's $65 for a cart and a caddy plus tip, or $17 if you are walking with a caddy. Unless you can't walk very well I highly suggest walking, it's golf you are supposed to walk especially when you aren't even carrying your own clubs.

The course is fairly short, has a few hills, and usually always had a breeze blowing in the same direction.

The staff were great, Jermaine was a very friendly caddy-master once you got to know him. Martell was my caddy for most of the rounds, he was very friendly and accommodating. He became more of a friend than a caddy. Mark was also very funny and a good guy. Definitely pay attention to where they tell you to putt on the greens.

I usually tipped between $20-25 per round so walking the course would cost about $40 total after tip if you brought your own clubs.

If you aren't going to bring your own clubs, at least bring tees, balls, and a glove to keep the cost down.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fotherby
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Good Golf”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

This year the course was the best we have seen it and we enjoyed five rounds of golf. For the last three rounds we had our favourite caddie Devon - thank you for looking after us.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkhamsted, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Amazing course; fantastic caddies”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

What an experience. The caddies are compulsory, friendly and great golfers - my 2 rounds were like golf lessons on the course: fantastic fun.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice golf”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Great course, and our caddy Alfred did an amazing job taking care of us. I played three times and Alfred was so helpful with his knowledge of the game and course. Will definitely return.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sandals Golf & Country Club also viewed

Runaway Bay, Saint Ann Parish
Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
 

Been to Sandals Golf & Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandals Golf & Country Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.