We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Javia Rocks” 5 of 5 stars
Review of KnowJamaica Tours

KnowJamaica Tours
Ocho Rios, Jamaica
+1 876-859-4739
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Knowjamaicatours, we are the best transportation provider/tourguide throughout the entire Jamaica, there are others around no doubt, but if you really want the best where you are guaranteed value for your dollar don't hesitate to look us up.Yah Mon we operate from all resorts throughout jamaica and from all cruise ship ports..
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Cincinnati, Ohio
2 reviews
“Javia Rocks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

We just returned from another Great Jamaica tour with KnowJamaica. Our first stop on our Carnival cruise, and the best stop of all. Marva and Javia can't be beat. This is our 2nd time in Jamaica on a different side of the island and it was more beautiful than the first. I didn't think that was possible, they are the best most well informed tour guides we have ever used on any of our many stops. Javia took us shopping, sightseeing, and then to the beech with a stop to eat some jerk with lots of local sides dishes in the middle. If you want to see the real Jamaica there is only 1 place to call KnowJamaica Tours. Simply the Best. Ya Mon!

Thank you J
One Love Brother

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

518 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    490
    13
    5
    7
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
CLEARWATER
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“PLEANTY OF SHOPPING”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Drove to Fort Lauderdale Florida and picked up the cruise ship "Carnival Freedom" for the trip to Ocho Rios Jamica. The trip on the ship was fantastic and arrival to Jamica was on time. We only had time to take one tour and decided to take the shopping tour. We boarded the bus for the grand 4 hour tour and had a great tour guide. We stopped and many shopping sites and the guide and bus driver provided many barganing hints --- that really worked. "Never pay the first price" - We ended up paying about 1/4 of the asking price and everyone seemed to be happy with the deals. The bus ride was well worth the price - the street were narrow with two vehicles able to pass without breaking the mirrors. Interesting items - with T-shirts seeming to be the big buy. Many of us purchased wood carvings and pottery. Great tour with no language barrier - as English is the native language, Great place to visit and will return with the hopes of more time to visit the falls and ride the bob sled. Those who took the bob-sled / water fall trip could not stop talking about experience. Next visit will be to climb the falls and ride th bob-sled down the falls.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock Maryland.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Know Jamaica tours is truly amazing.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

Hello fellow TA readers. My husband and I wanted to make sure that everyone understands the unfortunate reason behind a recent review that was posted for Know Jamaica tours. Our own review is under my husband " verhoev4" in June 2010. We had a wonderful time with Marva and Javia when we were there. They were amazingly professional and wonderful with our kids too.
Just recently Marva, the owner of Know jamaica tours had her email account hacked into and someone used it to send out emails asking for money to help her leave England, claiming to be her. We also recieved one because we are on her list of emails. We contacted her immediately and she is in the process of fixing the problem. If you are friends with her on facebook you will see that several of us alerted her of the emails that we recieved and she was completely unaware that it had happened. Unfortunately this happens quite often in jamaica, as it has happened to another one of our friends there as well. We travel there often for vacation and love the people and the country.

I can assure you all that Know Jamaica tours is a very legitimate company and highly reputable. They are hard working and will take extremely good care of you. This is the reason why they are so highly rated on TA. Please take time to read the reviews that people posted.
They are all excellent . I have posted a couple of our pictures from our trips with Know Jamaica tours. What a wonderful tour company... You will not be disappointed. If you have any questions.. please feel free to contact me via TA. Emily :)

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, VA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Know Jamaica Tours is the only way to really "know" Jamaica!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

You can't ask for better tour guides than Marva and Javia Shaw. We booked a private tour with them for our cruise in 2009 and continue to remain friends with them to this day. We plan to return to Jamaica in 2013 and will use Know Jamaica Tours for all of our transportation needs.

Recently their e-mail was hacked and Marva & Javia were victims of that old scam "I'm stuck in (fill in the blank). All of my money was stolen and I need (fill in dollar amount) to get back home..." As soon as I saw the e-mail I reported it as a scam/phishing attempt.

Anyone who believes that Marva and/or Javia would reach out to past clients and ask for money must not have been using the internet for very long. This is a scam by hackers that is as old as the internet.

Have complete faith in Marva & Javia Shaw of Know Jamaica Tours. You won't be disappointed. In fact, they go above and beyond to ensure your stay in Jamaica is memorable.

Worth every penny!!!

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“1 year later and Got contacted”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

We went and saw knowjamaica 1 year ago, and just received an email today (verified the address) Asking for us to send her 2500 euros. I am disappointed that we would be contacted in this way and be asked for money. The email said that she was stuck in Spain with a hotel bill and could not afford to use the phone to call us, so she would like us to send her 2500 euros to help her pay the bills and she would pay us back when she returned. Not very professional!

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed KnowJamaica Tours also viewed

Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
 
Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
 

Been to KnowJamaica Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage KnowJamaica Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.