We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice time” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Calypso Rafting

Calypso Rafting
P.O. Box 54, Ocho Rios, Jamaica
+1 876 974 2527
Improve this listing
Miami, Florida
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Nice time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

We had a wonderful time in this place. A local took us to this place and we had a lot of fun. They charged $25 dollars per person for each tube and they assign a tour guide that sings reggae all the time. The water is cold but this is very relaxing. There are other places where you can do the tubing also if you want to pay $70-$80 per person to do the same thing. If you are open mind and want to laugh and spend some time with the locals, this is a good place.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    15
    7
    0
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Singing guides and fun tubing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

We did a 1/2 day tour with another company that included climbing Dunn's River Falls, a short drive into Fern Gully and Calypso River Tubing. The river tubing was the best. It wasn't crowded (although several cruise ships were in port), the guides were wonderful, the trip alternated gentle river and small rapids through tropical greenery. It was both relaxing and fun. An added bonus was the guides' singing during lazy stretches of river. My next trip to Jamaica will include tubing again, while the famous falls will be bypassed.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baltimore,md
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Loved it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

We rcently went to Calypso Rafting while in Jamaica. We had Rafael as our guide and he was very good and funny. He sang and told jokes the whole way. It was very relaxing doing the river tubing and I would love to do it again when visiting Jamaica.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
203 helpful votes 203 helpful votes
“Enjoyable Excursion with Entertaining Guides”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Rushing over small rapids, floating across crystal clear pools, enjoying lush, tropical greenery all around you, taking the plunge into cool spring water and swinging on a rope swing, was all part of the adventure awaiting us on our White River Tubing excursion.

Our family of 5 ventured down the White River on inner tubes with Calypso Rafting during our day in Ocho Rios with Peat Taylor Tours. The inner tubes are equipped with closed bottoms so there is no worry of getting scraped by the rocks. For the next 1 ¼ hours, our guide Raphael with his dog Spot and 2 local boys were our river tubing guides. They did an excellent job keeping us together and pulling us out from shallow areas. During our 1 mile ride down the river, Raphael entertained us by singing Bob Marley songs while his dog Spot amused us by riding along with us on the inner tubes (we couldn’t image our Shih Tzu enjoying that)!

During the river tubing, there were two photographers taking pictures of us. One of them is river tubing staff and the second one is not. We purchased a CD of 76 photos taken by the river tubing photographer for $30 US (he originally asked for $40). The other photographer was asking $20 for all the photos he took but since we just purchased photos from the river tubing photographer, we didn't need another set. Although there is some pressure to come and view their photos, there is no obligation to buy them--but you sure do make their day if you do!

At the midway stop, we took the plunge and jumped 10 feet off a platform into the refreshing river. The boys also enjoyed swinging on a swing and Tarzan rope. It is at this midway stop where you can preview photos, buy a drink or a wooden souvenir.

Continuing a little further down the river, we were able to jump once again, but this time it was off a high embankment into the deep, cool water below before coming to the end of our river tubing adventure. At the exit is a small souvenir shop where we purchased home-made coconut candy for $1.00/bag—a nice treat, wished we bought more!

There are only a few spots along the river that actually offer a somewhat thrilling ride over small rapids, but for the most part this river tubing excursion offers more of a peaceful and relaxing float along the river.

Overall this an enjoyable excursion with entertaining guides!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, Alabama
1 review
“One of the Best Times Ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

I was part of a group of Travel Agents we were awarded a cruise and excursions for being top producers. I must say we Had A Blast!!! It was so beautiful and relaxing floating down the river... I personally had a great time and would refer anyone visiting Ocho Rios to go on this excursion!!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Calypso Rafting also viewed

Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
 
Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
 

Been to Calypso Rafting? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Calypso Rafting, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.