We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big up Cocotero!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Cocotero

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Villa Cocotero to your Saves list
Villa Cocotero
Tower Hill | St Mary, Ocho Rios, Jamaica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 17 Ocho Rios B&B and Inns
Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Big up Cocotero!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2011

After a scenic drive from MoBay airport, we almost drove past this place beacuse the sign was kind of small. Initially it seemed like your relatives house but on the property walk through it was absolutely beautiful. Litterally across the street from the sea, this place is nestled away from noise and traffic. Miss Cherry and her helper (sorry forgot her name) are absolute angels. The daily breakfasts were sooooo good. Leonard kept the pool and grounds in tip-top shape. We had amased quite a bit of laundry and they were so very accomodating and washed for us. Thank you, thank you, thank you.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    7
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
5
5
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2011

Me and my wife Giovanna stayed at this amazingly beautiful place mid March '11. Mamma Cherry and her team made us feel home. We also appreciate our room was always perfectly clean besides the room was beautiful itself. The distance from Ocho Rios is just perfect (we walked up and down every day :). But the great ever changing breakfast kept us going...

P.S. A fresh coconut as a welcome drink was just THAT little touch :)

One love & good luck to Villa Cocotero,
Pavel & Giovanna

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2010

We only stayed at this property for one hour before moving to a different hotel. Firstly it is not a hotel of any sort, it has no reception etc. Nobody was there to meet us we had to find somebody a couple of doors up in the Jerk Centre.
From the front of the property it looks like a derelict building, you have to enter via a side door and stairs the rooms are very small with all railings across the patio doors. We firstly were put a standard room which does not even have a separate bathroom or windows, we were then moved to a deluxe room (what we had booked) but it looked like a prison cell with all railings across the window. A bath just stuck in the middle of the room. The website for this property is very misleading, the rooms are very small, the property is just rooms in a building (like somebody's house) the sunbeds around the pool are all peeling and you have breakfast in a gazebo although the breakfast must be prepared in somebody's house because there are no facilities there. It is in a very dodgy location with all drug dealers hanging about and miles away from anything. You are literally stuck in the middle of nowhere. We felt really unsafe there and the rooms were not very secure, there was nowhere to put your valuables.
Taxis are really expensive in jamaica so it is really advisable to stay in a central location. Ocho Rios is too commercial and is really catering for the American cruise market, go to Negril for a much more laid back chilled resort.

Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ochoriosjamaica, Manager at Villa Cocotero, responded to this review, August 5, 2010
Please take no notice of this agenda-driven rhetoric. As you can see for yourself it is totally inconsistent with every other review Villa Cocotero has received from its guests. This person did not “stay” at Villa Cocotero. We devised and published our website ourselves truthfully and honestly.
We have never at any time and presently do not promote ourselves as a hotel. We are a B&B.
All our rooms have windows (of course!)
Breakfast at Villa Cocotero is prepared freshly, on-site.
We have a safe box on the premises for valuables.
Please visit our online guest book for further and more meaningful testimonies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2010

We've stayed at Cocotero twice now while visiting my in-laws who live nearby. The accomodation offered by villa Cocotero is amazing value. For us with 2 young kids it was spot on. The kids loved the pool and we all enjoyed Cherry's awesome Jamaican breakfasts and ever-cheery banter.
If you were to stay here for more than a couple of days though, I'd recommend you budget for a hire car because the nearest town is about 7 miles away, and the choice of restaurants nearby is limited to 2.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2010

Villa cocotero is a fantastic place to stay in Ocho Rios. We were only in Ocho Rios for one night in transit from Mo Bay airport and our 2 week trip travelling around Jamaica (spent in Portland and Treasure Beach).
Cherry looked after us from the word go. She's a lovely lady, very welcoming who you can call on for anything you need. It really does feel like a home away from home.
Our room (we had the deluxe which they offered us discounted which was a nice gesture) was beautiful with air con, a four poster bed and a stand alone bath. It had double doors leading onto a balcony that looks over the garden.
The garden and pool are lovely, you'd never guess you were in a busy area. As another reviewer said, the villa doesn't look particularly special from the outside but our room and the garden were great.
Cherry cooked us breakfast in the morning which we had in the gazebo area by the pool. She's a great cook.
We didn't explore the surrounding area much as we were in transit, but the bar 2 doors down served ice cold Red Stripe and had a friendly atmosphere.

Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2009

Upon arriving to this Villa Cocotero, the front did not look like much however, once inside the rooms, and beautiful backyard area where we spent most of our time, it was fabulous! The rooms and service was beyond what you would expect. The pool was cleaned each day and the landscape was pristine. The breakfast was made to order and very good each morning. They even accomodated us with Vegetarian food. The grounds were private, and like I mentioned so peaceful, beautiful, with an ocean view.. it was like a slice of Heaven especially at night under the stars.. We were not far from town, or from Reggae Beach, where we walked to one day. Taxi's were readily available and the bar, Jerk Center is two doors down, where we had two wonderful meals and many Red Stripes. We had two friends come hang out with us who are Jamaican and they even were so very impressed with Villa, and the service. I work on a major Cruise SHip and know how service is supposed to be, and here at Villa Cocotero you will find it.. Cherry, Leonard, Vivian, and Samantha ( from Jerk Center) are all genuine and wonderful people who will make your stay at Villa Cocotero just a place to never forget ! We made great memories in Jamaica and it will always be rememberd. I will go back here for sure!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2009

I was pleasantly surprised at the standard of accommodation at Villa Cocotero. The rooms were extremely comfortable and the garden and pool were lovely. The welcome I received from the staff was memorable and the service throughout my stay was first class. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend Cocotero as somewhere to stay. Great place. Great value.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Cocotero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Cocotero

Address: Tower Hill | St Mary, Ocho Rios, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Ocho Rios
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Ocho Rios
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our family has lived and holidayed in Jamaica for years, so we know what makes a memorable vacation.At Villa Cocotero you will have the opportunity to relax in the tropical garden with its tempting pool and sea views.Breathtaking beaches are only minutes away and Jamaica's vibrant culture is at your disposal. Villa Cocotero offers you the chance to experience the sights and sounds of the real Jamaica, the true Jamaica.Whether you're touring the island, taking a break by the coast, or looking for a fantastic holiday, stay with us for great value,great rooms and a great time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Villa Cocotero reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Cocotero Jamaica/Ocho Rios

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Cocotero, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.