We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Scotchie's

Scotchie's
Ocho Rios, Jamaica
794 9457
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 80 Restaurants in Ocho Rios
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night
Alexandria, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

We asked our guide for a non-tourist place to get great jerk chicken and when were not disappointed when we arrived at Scotchie's. They food was amazing, and the drinks were cheap. Watching the food being cooked over bamboo and steal was a wonderful learning experience. Totally need to go to Scotchies for jerk chicken, pork and more.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,150 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    790
    257
    79
    15
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

Came here while staying at Sandals RP. Loved the jerk chicken & sausage washed down with strong sugary cocktails!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Jamaica 2014”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

I dont see what all the fuss is about this restaurant. I figured since I was in Jamaica, that I would get some great jerk chicken. I was so disappointed. The chicken wasnt very tasty at all and the rice was dry.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisville, New Hampshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“best jerk for your money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

The jerk chicken and pork are smoked traditionally over a pemento log grill with hardwood below. Very good value. This stop is a must wherever you are on the north coast of Jamaica!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carteret, New Jersey
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“a taste of Jamaican cusine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

perfect spot to taste a little bit of Jamaica. Inexpensive. Eat under a gazebo outdoors. Jerk chicken was the best!!!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Scotchie's also viewed

Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
 
Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
 

Been to Scotchie's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scotchie's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.